Top 11 Best Creatine for Men (2026)
01 · Best overall✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Oct 6, 2026Best overall: Sports Research Creatine Monohydrate (Creapure)
For men who want the source and the sport certificate in print: Creapure on the Supplement Facts panel, the NSF Certified for Sport mark on the tub, 5 g per scoop, about $0.41 a serving.
$37 / 450 g (90 servings)$0.41 / 5 g scoop
Why it wins: all five scores, pros & cons, full label
- Creapure named on the Supplement Facts panel, the only powder on this list that states its source
- NSF Certified for Sport mark on the tub, confirmed on the nsfsport.com list
- Single ingredient, 5 g per scoop, unflavored
- About $0.41 a serving at the $36.95 list price, less than Thorne
- One certified lot on the NSF list so far; Thorne has 66
- Costs more per serving than Optimum Nutrition
- Sports Research sells a plain creatine in the same tub; look for the Creapure logo
- Per serving
- 5 g creatine monohydrate (Creapure)
- Tub size
- 450 g (90 servings, 3-month supply)
- Testing
- NSF Certified for Sport mark on the tub; nsfsport.com lists one certified lot (26174B, checked Oct 6, 2026); match the lot number on your tub
- Form
- Creatine monohydrate, Creapure named on the Supplement Facts panel
Our take — The dose is the same 5 g a day in every plain monohydrate on this list, so the pick comes down to proof. This tub names Creapure on its facts panel and carries the NSF Certified for Sport mark, confirmed on NSF's list on Oct 6, 2026, at about $0.41 a serving. NSF lists one certified lot so far; if you compete in a tested federation, match the lot number or take Thorne (#2), which has 66 lots listed.
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11Who Wins Which Aspect
Sorted by overall SAC Product Score™ — the official ranking.
| # | Pick | Score | Form purity25% | Third-party testing25% | Per-serving creatine20% | Cost per active gram20% | Brand QC track record10% | Cost Per Dose | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 01 | ![]() | 9.1 | 9.51 | 9.52 | 9.51 | 8.0 | 8.5 | $0.41 / 5 g scoop | Check price |
| Creapure named on the Supplement Facts panel, the only powder on this list that states its sourceOne certified lot on the NSF list so far; Thorne has 66 | |||||||||
| 02 | ![]() | 9.0 | 8.52 | 10.01 | 9.51 | 7.5 | 10.01 | $0.50 / 5 g scoop | Check price |
| NSF Certified for Sport — the federation-grade testing standard for male drug-tested athletes$0.50/serving is the highest cost per serving of any plain monohydrate on the list | |||||||||
| 03 | ![]() | 8.9 | 8.52 | 8.53 | 9.51 | 9.02 | 9.52 | $0.23 / 5 g scoop | Check price |
| Single ingredient: creatine monohydrate, nothing else in the tubNot NSF Certified for Sport — if you're drug-tested, jump to Thorne (#2) | |||||||||
| 04 | ![]() | 8.9 | 8.52 | 8.53 | 9.51 | 10.01 | 7.5 | $0.15 / 5 g scoop | Check price |
| Cheapest pick with a legit COA — $0.15/servingCreapure not stated on the label or listing; plain micronized monohydrate | |||||||||
| 05 | ![]() | 8.6 | 8.52 | 7.5 | 9.51 | 9.02 | 8.5 | $0.19 / 5 g scoop | Check price |
| 1 kg tub of unflavored monohydrate — about 200 servings at 5 g, so one purchase covers roughly six and a half monthsNo Creapure mark and no federation-grade seal (no NSF Certified for Sport or Informed Sport on the panel) — not for drug-tested athletes | |||||||||
| 06 | ![]() | 8.4 | 8.52 | 7.5 | 9.02 | 8.53 | 9.03 | ~$0.21 / real 5 g dose | Check price |
| NOW's in-house QC is among the most consistent in the industry (30+ years)Label serving is about 4.2 g, not 5 g, so compare it at about $0.21 per 5 g | |||||||||
| 07 | ![]() | 8.3 | 8.52 | 7.5 | 9.51 | 8.53 | 7.5 | $0.22 / 5 g scoop | Check price |
| Cheapest tub-format pick with a GMP-tested supply chainNo per-batch public COA — only internal GMP QC | |||||||||
| 08 | ![]() | 7.9 | 8.52 | 9.52 | 9.02 | 3.5 | 8.5 | $1.67 / scoop | Check price |
| Combines creatine monohydrate with HMB in one scoop — convenient for cutting-phase male liftersPer-serving cost is 5-10× the standalone monohydrate picks | |||||||||
| 09 | ![]() | 7.9 | 8.52 | 7.5 | 9.02 | 6.5 | 8.0 | $0.35 / 5 g scoop | Check price |
| Real 5 g micronized monohydrate at supplement-store-shelf availabilityHigher $/serving than ON #3 ($0.35 vs $0.23) | |||||||||
| 10 | ![]() | 6.9 | 8.52 | 5.5 | 9.51 | 5.0 | 5.0 | $0.98 | Check price |
| One ingredient on the panel: creatine monohydrate$0.98 per 5 g serving, more than every plain monohydrate powder we rank | |||||||||
| 11 | ![]() | 6.4 | 7.03 | 8.0 | 5.03 | 4.0 | 8.0 | $0.33 / serving | Check price |
| Highly soluble — mixes faster than monohydrate (a feature, not an efficacy advantage)HCl has no clinical advantage over monohydrate at equivalent total creatine doses | |||||||||
The Other 10, Ranked
02Best for tested athletes: Thorne Creatine
9.0SAC Score™NSF Certified for Sport (certified lots are listed at nsfsport.com; match the lot number on your tub) — the federation-safe pick. The default for male drug-tested athletes (NCAA, IOC, USAPL, MLB, NFL, military).
StrongestThird-party testing10.01WeakestCost per active gram7.5- Per serving
- 5 g creatine monohydrate
- Tub size
- 450 g (90 servings, 3-month supply at 5 g/day)
- Testing
- NSF Certified for Sport — on the NSF list with 66 lots listed (checked Oct 6, 2026); certified lots are listed at nsfsport.com
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- NSF Certified for Sport — the federation-grade testing standard for male drug-tested athletes
- Thorne's clinical-grade QC is the industry benchmark across supplements
- Single-ingredient creatine monohydrate, with banned-substance certification layered on
- Trusted by every major drug-tested federation in the US
What You Live With- $0.50/serving is the highest cost per serving of any plain monohydrate on the list
- Smaller tub (450 g vs ON's 600 g) — re-orders sooner
- Overkill for recreational lifters who'll never see a urinalysis cup
- Trusted by
- US Olympic teams, NCAA, USAPL, MLB, NFL, active-duty military
Our take — If you're a drug-tested male athlete — NCAA, IOC, USAPL, MLB, NFL, MMA, or active-duty military — Thorne is the pick on this list. NSF Certified for Sport is granted per lot, and the certified lots are listed at nsfsport.com, so match the lot number on your tub. Transparent Labs Creatine HMB and Bulk Supplements unflavored creatine also appear on the NSF list, for specific lots only. The 2× premium over generic micronized monohydrate buys you a clean test, not better creatine. For recreational male lifters who aren't tested, jump to Optimum Nutrition (#3) — plain micronized monohydrate at about half the price, with certification you don't need.
03Best household brand: Optimum Nutrition Micronized Creatine Powder
8.9SAC Score™Plain micronized monohydrate from the most-trusted brand for male lifters. $0.23/serving, 120 servings per tub, mixes cleanly in a post-workout shake.
StrongestPer-serving creatine9.51WeakestForm purity8.5- Per serving
- 5 g micronized creatine monohydrate
- Tub size
- 600 g (120 servings, 4-month supply at 5 g/day)
- Testing
- Label prints 'Banned Substance Tested'; the listing names the Informed Choice program (brand statement, not confirmed by us). Not on the NSF Certified for Sport list (checked Oct 6, 2026)
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- Single ingredient: creatine monohydrate, nothing else in the tub
- Most-trusted household brand for male lifters (40+ years on shelf)
- 120-serving tub at $0.23/scoop is a long supply for under $30
- Mixes cleanly in a post-workout shake without the bag-format friction of Bulk Supplements
What You Live With- Not NSF Certified for Sport — if you're drug-tested, jump to Thorne (#2)
- Modest premium over pure generic micronized monohydrate (Bulk Supplements #4)
- 600 g tub stretches only ~3 months at 7 g/day for high-volume bulkers
- Form
- Micronized — mixes without grit in a 40-80 g carb shake
Our take — The budget default for male lifters who aren't drug-tested. Plain micronized monohydrate, ON's 40-year QC track record, and a 4-month supply for under $30 — without paying the NSF Sport premium most men don't need. Skip the load, run 5 g/day, and the tub lasts a third of a year. If you want Creapure named on the label, take Sports Research (#1) at about $0.41 a serving. If you compete (Thorne #2) or bulk on 7-10 g/day (Bulk Supplements #4), pick those; for everyone else on a budget this is the answer.
04Best for bulkers: Bulk Supplements Creatine Monohydrate Micronized
8.9SAC Score™1 kg bag stretches 7 weeks at 7 g/day for high-volume bulkers. $0.15 per 5 g serving, 200 servings, COA on request — same creatine monohydrate as the premium tubs at a lower price.
StrongestCost per active gram10.01WeakestBrand QC track record7.5- Per serving
- 5 g micronized creatine monohydrate
- Bag size
- 1 kg (200 servings, 7 weeks at 7 g/day, ~7 months at 5 g/day)
- Testing
- Per-batch COA on request, third-party lab. nsfsport.com lists certified lots of the unflavored powder; the Amazon listing and label do not carry the mark
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- Cheapest pick with a legit COA — $0.15/serving
- 1 kg bag wins on bulking-volume logistics — 7 weeks at 7 g/day, no re-orders mid-cycle
- Pure monohydrate, no fillers, no flavoring
- Third-party lab tested — COA available per batch on request
What You Live With- Creapure not stated on the label or listing; plain micronized monohydrate
- Bag (not tub) packaging — transfer to a tub for daily scooping
- Only pouches whose lot number is on the nsfsport.com list are NSF Certified for Sport (the Amazon listing and label carry no mark) — federation lifters jump to Thorne (#2)
- Form
- Micronized monohydrate (source not stated)
Our take — Same creatine monohydrate as the premium tubs at a lower price, 200 servings per bag. For male high-volume bulkers running 5-10 g/day, the cost-per-gram math doesn't favor anything else on this list. The bag format is mildly inconvenient (transfer to a tub for daily scooping), but at $0.15/serving you can afford the friction. Vegan male lifters on a budget should default here — biggest absolute response to creatine, lowest cost barrier.
05Large 1 kg pouch: MyProtein Creatine Monohydrate
8.6SAC Score™Plain creatine monohydrate powder in a 1 kg (2.2 lb) tub — 5 g per scoop, about 200 servings per the listing title, with a clean vegan, additive-free label. No Creapure mark and no banned-substance-testing seal appear on the panel, so it is a bulk-volume pick, not the federation pick.
StrongestPer-serving creatine9.51WeakestThird-party testing7.5- Per serving
- 5 g creatine monohydrate (1 scoop)
- Tub size
- 1 kg / 2.2 lb (about 200 servings per the listing title, ~6.5 months at 5 g/day)
- Testing
- No third-party or banned-substance seal on the panel; label seals: Vegan, Soy Free, Additive Free, Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- 1 kg tub of unflavored monohydrate — about 200 servings at 5 g, so one purchase covers roughly six and a half months
- Clean allergen profile: vegan, soy-free, additive-free, gluten-free and dairy-free seals on the label
- Established European supplement brand with wide Amazon US availability
What You Live With- No Creapure mark and no federation-grade seal (no NSF Certified for Sport or Informed Sport on the panel) — not for drug-tested athletes
- Amazon US stock can be intermittent — check availability before defaulting here
- Shipping from UK warehouses can add transit time on direct orders
- Brand
- MyProtein (UK), Amazon US distribution
Our take — A plain, additive-free creatine monohydrate in a 1 kg tub — unflavored 5 g scoops, about 200 servings at about $0.19 each, cheaper per serving than every pick here except Bulk Supplements — for lifters who want volume. The label confirms creatine monohydrate and a clean allergen profile, but not Creapure (neither the label nor the listing says it, checked Oct 6, 2026) and not a banned-substance seal. If you're federation-tested and need certified batches, Thorne (#2) is still the pick; for untested lifters, Optimum Nutrition (#3) is the default and Bulk Supplements (#4) the volume alternative. The only catch is intermittent stock on Amazon US — check the listing before defaulting here.
06Household-brand pick: NOW Sports Micronized Creatine Monohydrate
8.4SAC Score™NOW's three-decade QC track record applied to plain micronized monohydrate. Best 'grab-it-off-a-shelf' option when shipping isn't fast enough.
StrongestPer-serving creatine9.02WeakestThird-party testing7.5- Per serving
- About 4.2 g creatine monohydrate (1.5 level teaspoons, per label)
- Tub size
- 500 g (about 119 servings of 4.2 g)
- Testing
- NOW in-house QC. The label carries no Informed Sport seal and the listing does not mention it (checked Oct 6, 2026)
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- NOW's in-house QC is among the most consistent in the industry (30+ years)
- Fair price for a household brand
- Easy to source offline at Sprouts, Vitamin Shoppe, Whole Foods — useful when you need a tub today
What You Live With- Label serving is about 4.2 g, not 5 g, so compare it at about $0.21 per 5 g
- Not NSF Certified for Sport (use Thorne #2 if you need that)
- Label marks
- Vegan, Kosher, Non-GMO, GMP Quality Assured
Our take — If you want to grab a tub off a shelf without ordering online, NOW Sports is the answer. At about $0.21 per 5 g it costs a little less than Optimum Nutrition (#3) and about the same as Nutricost (#7), with a 30+ year QC pedigree. Slot it in as a backup when your primary brand is out of stock — it's the cleanest 'walk into Sprouts and grab one' pick on the list for male lifters.
07Best alt-budget: Nutricost Creatine Monohydrate Micronized
8.3SAC Score™Cheapest tub-format monohydrate when Bulk Supplements is sold out. GMP-tested, $0.22/serving, easier scooping than a 1 kg bag.
StrongestPer-serving creatine9.51WeakestThird-party testing7.5- Per serving
- 5 g micronized creatine monohydrate
- Tub size
- 500 g (100 servings, ~3-month supply at 5 g/day)
- Testing
- GMP-certified facility, batch QC
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- Cheapest tub-format pick with a GMP-tested supply chain
- Same micronized monohydrate purity as Bulk Supplements at a small premium
- Easier daily-use packaging (tub + scoop) than a 1 kg bag
What You Live With- No per-batch public COA — only internal GMP QC
- Creapure not stated
- Smaller tub than ON #3 at similar cost per serving
- Form
- Micronized monohydrate (generic)
Our take — The pick when Bulk Supplements is sold out and you don't want a 1 kg bag. Nutricost has built a reputation as the reliable mid-tier supplements brand for male lifters — nothing flashy, GMP-tested, consistent batch QC. At $0.22/serving you're paying a small premium over Bulk Supplements (#4) for the convenience of a tub. Fair trade.
08Best combo (advanced lifters): Transparent Labs Creatine HMB
7.9SAC Score™Combines creatine monohydrate with 1.5 g HMB (branded myHMB) for advanced male lifters in cutting phases. HMB has modest evidence for reducing muscle protein breakdown during caloric deficit.
StrongestThird-party testing9.52WeakestCost per active gram3.5- Per serving
- 5 g creatine monohydrate + 1.5 g HMB (myHMB calcium HMB) + 5 mg BioPerine
- Tub size
- 30 servings (1-month supply)
- Testing
- On the NSF Certified for Sport list (certified lots are listed at nsfsport.com; match the lot number on your tub). Informed Choice seal on the label. Per-batch COAs published
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- Combines creatine monohydrate with HMB in one scoop — convenient for cutting-phase male lifters
- Creatine HMB is on the NSF Certified for Sport list for specific lots, and the label carries an Informed Choice seal
- Reasonable combo for advanced lifters in caloric deficit who'd run HMB separately anyway
What You Live With- Per-serving cost is 5-10× the standalone monohydrate picks
- HMB's evidence is more modest than creatine's — running each separately is cheaper
- Smaller tub (30 servings vs 100-200 for monohydrate-only picks) — bulkers burn through it in 3 weeks
- Format
- Combo product — not pure creatine
Our take — Convenience over price optimization. If you've decided to run HMB anyway (cutting phase, masters athlete, high-volume program), this is a reasonable single-scoop way to do it. For everyone else, the math doesn't work — plain monohydrate (#3, #4) costs a fifth as much or less and contains the same creatine.
09Best mass-market: Cellucor COR-Performance Creatine
7.9SAC Score™Micronized monohydrate at GNC/Vitamin Shoppe shelf availability. Pay a small brand premium for offline convenience and a familiar logo.
StrongestPer-serving creatine9.02WeakestCost per active gram6.5- Per serving
- 5 g micronized creatine monohydrate
- Tub size
- 360 g (72 servings, ~2.4-month supply at 5 g/day)
- Testing
- GMP-certified, batch QC
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- Real 5 g micronized monohydrate at supplement-store-shelf availability
- Familiar brand for crossover male lifters and recreational gym-goers
- Easy to source offline at GNC and Vitamin Shoppe
What You Live With- Higher $/serving than ON #3 ($0.35 vs $0.23)
- Smaller tub (72 servings) means more frequent re-orders for high-volume bulkers
- Brand placement premium — you're paying for shelf space, not better creatine
- Availability
- GNC, Vitamin Shoppe, most mass-market gym stores
Our take — The 'I just want to grab one off the GNC shelf' pick. Plain micronized monohydrate at a brand-placement premium. Fine, honest product, but if you're already on Amazon, ON or Bulk Supplements gets you the same molecule (with better purity documentation) for less.
10Our own brand: Super Achiever Creatine Monohydrate
6.9SAC Score™Our own creatine: one ingredient and an exact 5 g scoop. It ranks here because it costs $0.98 a serving and has no certificate or lab report to show.
StrongestPer-serving creatine9.51WeakestCost per active gram5.0- Per serving
- 5 g creatine monohydrate (1 scoop)
- Cost per serving
- $0.98
- Tub size
- 250 g · 50 servings
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- One ingredient on the panel: creatine monohydrate
- Exact 5 g per scoop, the dose the research standardises on
- Unflavored powder that mixes into anything
What You Live With- $0.98 per 5 g serving, more than every plain monohydrate powder we rank
- No certificate, sport certification or published lab report
- Source
- Not named on the label
- Certifications
- None on the label
Our take — Right molecule and right dose, with nothing on the label you can verify from outside. If price or a sport certificate matters, buy the #1 pick.
11Overrated (alternative form): Kaged Creatine HCl
6.4SAC Score™Marketed as 'no loading needed' and 'better absorption' — neither claim survives the literature for male lifters. HCl is more soluble; that's it.
StrongestThird-party testing8.0WeakestCost per active gram4.0- Per serving
- 750 mg creatine HCl
- Bottle
- 75 servings (~2.5-month supply)
- Marketing claim
- 'No loading, better absorption' (not supported at equivalent doses)
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- Highly soluble — mixes faster than monohydrate (a feature, not an efficacy advantage)
- Slightly easier on the stomach for users sensitive to monohydrate loading doses
- Smaller per-serving volume — easier to capsule
What You Live With- HCl has no clinical advantage over monohydrate at equivalent total creatine doses
- Lower creatine per serving (750 mg HCl vs 5 g monohydrate)
- Costs more per gram of actual creatine than any monohydrate pick on this list
- Marketing claim 'no loading needed' applies equally to monohydrate at 5 g/day
- Form
- Creatine hydrochloride (HCl) — not monohydrate
Our take — An honest product based on a dishonest marketing premise. HCl is a perfectly fine form of creatine — just no better than monohydrate. The 'no loading' claim is true of any creatine at 5 g/day. The 'better absorption' claim hasn't survived equivalent-dose comparison studies. You're paying 2-3× more for solubility, not for performance. Skip it unless you genuinely cannot tolerate monohydrate loading.
Creatine In Four Short Lessons
Why creatine is the highest-leverage supplement for male lifters
- 500+
- Peer-reviewed studies on creatine monohydrate
- +8%
- Average 1RM strength gain vs placebo (squat / bench / deadlift)
- +1.2 kg
- Lean body mass increase vs placebo at 4-12 weeks (Branch meta)
- 0
- Testosterone benefit: in Volek 2004 it declined equally with creatine and placebo
Sources: Kreider 2017 ISSN position statement (PMID 28615996); Volek 2004 overreaching trial (PMID 14685870); Branch 2003 body-comp meta (PMID 12945830); Chilibeck 2017 RT meta (PMID 29138605); Cooper 2012 safety review (PMID 22817979).
If you are drug-tested, buy NSF Certified for Sport.
That certification is the bar for tested athletes, competitive lifters and active-duty military. Recreational lifters do not need to pay for it.
Otherwise buy a plain monohydrate tub.
The budget default on this list is Optimum Nutrition (#3) micronized monohydrate at about $0.23 a serving. Sports Research (#1) costs about $0.41 and is the only powder that names Creapure on its label. Form purity and per-scoop creatine matter more than the brand story.
Do not buy it for testosterone.
There is no free-testosterone benefit: Volek 2004 found testosterone measures declining in both arms. What creatine held was strength, power and lean mass.
Kreider 2017 ISSN position statement (PMID 28615996), Volek 2004 overreaching trial (PMID 14685870), Branch 2003 body-composition meta (PMID 12945830), Chilibeck 2017 RT meta (PMID 29138605), Cooper 2012 safety review (PMID 22817979), and Antonio 2021 (PMID 33557850) — all literally cited in the file.
Each pick was scored 0-10 across six criteria, then weighted to a final composite. Versus our general creatine list, the weighting here tilts toward NSF Certified for Sport (a disproportionate share of male readers are drug-tested for sport, federation, or military) and tub size (high-volume bulkers running 5-10 g/day burn through 100-serving tubs in 3-6 weeks). Form purity and per-serving creatine remain core because they directly predict whether 5 g of scoop equals 5 g of actual creatine monohydrate.
Third-party testing + banned-substance certification · 25%
NSF Certified for Sport, Informed Sport, or public per-batch COA. NSF Sport wins for the male cohort because drug-tested athletes (NCAA, IOC, USAPL, MLB, NFL, military) make up a meaningful share of male buyers.
Form purity · 20%
Monohydrate (the only form with 500+ RCTs) vs alternatives (HCl, ethyl ester, magnesium chelate, multi-form). Plain, single-ingredient creatine monohydrate with a clean label scores highest here.
Loading-phase tolerance + per-scoop creatine · 20%
Male lifters loading 20 g/day for 5-7 days need a tub that delivers 5 g per scoop cleanly. Multi-form blends with 3 g of mixed forms consistently lose here. Larger bulkers running 7-10 g/day maintenance also feel this — fewer scoops, less GI upset.
Free-T / lean-mass evidence in male cohorts · 15%
Volek 2004 (PMID 14685870), Branch 2003 (PMID 12945830), and Chilibeck 2017 (PMID 29138605) all report on resistance-trained male populations. Monohydrate is the only form with this evidence base; alternative forms ride monohydrate's coattails.
Cost per active gram · 10%
Monthly cost divided by total creatine delivered. The honest target is $0.05-0.20 per 5 g serving — above $0.30, you're paying for branding, not creatine.
Tub size for bulking macros · 10%
100-serving tubs last 3-6 weeks at 5-10 g/day. The 1 kg Bulk Supplements bag (200 servings) wins on bulking-volume logistics; the 30-serving Transparent Labs combo loses badly.

How creatine actually works for a male lifter
- 1
Intramuscular phosphocreatine storage
Supplementation increases muscle creatine and phosphocreatine stores by 15-40% — the size of the increase depends on baseline (vegetarian men respond most because dietary creatine from meat / fish is lower at baseline).
- 2
ATP regeneration for max-effort sets
Phosphocreatine donates a phosphate to ADP to rapidly regenerate ATP during the first 8-10 seconds of high-intensity effort — exactly the window covering 1-3 rep max squat, bench, and deadlift attempts. Extra phosphocreatine = more reps before failure.
- 3
Cell volumization — strength held through the overreach
Creatine pulls water into muscle cells (cell volumization), which acts as an anabolic signal. Across a six-week overreaching block, Volek 2004 (PMID 14685870) saw creatine hold maximal squat and bench press where placebo lost ground, and add lean leg mass. The hormonal story we used to attach to this is not there: testosterone and the free androgen index fell the same on both arms.
What to expect on a male-lifter creatine protocol
Intramuscular water + fuller look
1-2 kg scale weight gain from cell volumization. Muscles look fuller in the mirror. This is the drug working — not fat gain.
Compound-lift PRs
Extra 1-2 reps on top working sets at the same weight. Top-end power output noticeable on max-effort squat, bench, deadlift attempts. Bench presses tend to move first.
Lean mass + body composition
Cumulative training volume compounds. Real muscle accrual at +0.5-1.5 kg lean mass relative to placebo across the cycle. Strength holds up better through heavy training blocks (Volek 2004).
The bottom line for male lifters
Thorne Creatine (#2) is the pick for any drug-tested male athlete.
For lifters tested under NCAA, IOC, USAPL, MLB, NFL, or active-duty military, NSF Certified for Sport is the bar to clear, and Thorne is the pick that clears it, confirmed on the NSF list (certified lots are listed at nsfsport.com; match the lot number on your tub). Thorne has 66 lots listed. Sports Research (#1) carries the mark too, with one lot listed. Transparent Labs Creatine HMB and Bulk Supplements unflavored creatine also appear on that list, for specific lots only. The 2× premium over generic monohydrate buys a clean test, not better creatine.
Untested? The pick splits by budget and training volume.
Sports Research (#1) is the pick if you want Creapure named on the label, at about $0.41/scoop. Optimum Nutrition (#3) is the budget default at $0.23/scoop; Bulk Supplements (Pick #4) for high-volume bulkers running 5-10 g/day on a tight budget wins on cost-per-gram at $0.15/scoop. MyProtein (#5) is a plain-monohydrate 1 kg alternative at about $0.19/scoop, Nutricost (#7) and NOW Sports (#6) are situational backups, and #8-10 are mostly marketing — only Transparent Labs (#8) makes sense, and only for HMB stackers in a cut.
Buy pure monohydrate and run it simply — the form claims are the trap.
The single biggest mistake male buyers make is paying for marketing form claims (HCl, multi-form, ethyl ester) instead of pure monohydrate, which Kreider 2017 confirms no alternative form outperforms at equivalent doses. Skip loading unless a meet is 2-3 weeks out, run 5 g/day every day including rest days (7-10 g/day above 95 kg), and don't cycle.
Quick Answers
Does creatine raise testosterone in men?
No — and we had this wrong. We previously cited a Volek 2013 trial for free-testosterone preservation; that study does not exist. The trial that actually ran this design, Volek 2004 (PMID 14685870), reported total testosterone and the free androgen index falling in BOTH the creatine and placebo arms across a six-week overreaching block. Buy creatine for strength, power and lean mass, which it delivers; do not buy it as a testosterone play. Creatine reduces training catabolism (less muscle protein breakdown per session), which keeps cortisol-to-T ratios in a better place across a hard mesocycle. The trials that exist on direct T effects in untrained men are mixed; the consistent finding is that male lifters in heavy training blocks on creatine maintain free-T better than those on placebo. If T is your specific goal, stack creatine with ashwagandha KSM-66 (cortisol-lowering, +14-22% T in stressed men) — see our [ashwagandha-for-testosterone listicle](/best/ashwagandha-for-testosterone) for the protocol.
I'm drug-tested. Which creatine is federation-safe?
Thorne Creatine (Pick #2) is the first pick for drug-tested athletes: NSF Certified for Sport, confirmed on the NSF list, with 66 lots listed. NSF certifies per lot: certified lots are listed at nsfsport.com, so match the lot number on your tub. Sports Research (Pick #1) also carries the NSF mark on its tub, but nsfsport.com lists one lot for it, so match the lot number on nsfsport.com before you rely on it. Transparent Labs Creatine HMB and Bulk Supplements unflavored creatine also appear on that list for specific lots, but the Bulk Supplements Amazon listing and label do not carry the mark, so only a pouch whose lot number is on the list is covered. Optimum Nutrition's label prints 'Banned Substance Tested' but it is not on the NSF Certified for Sport list. NCAA, IOC, USAPL, MLB, NFL, and most military testing programs penalize the athlete, not the brand, for a positive test. If you're competing, the premium over generic monohydrate buys you certification, not better creatine.
Should I load creatine before a powerlifting meet?
Yes — this is the one case where loading is unambiguously the right call. 20 g/day (4 × 5 g with meals) for 5-7 days before meet day gets you to full intramuscular phosphocreatine saturation by the warm-up room. Expect 1-2 kg of water weight (relevant for weight-class athletes — load AFTER weigh-in, not before). For recreational training without a meet on the horizon, skip the load and run 5 g/day continuously — same saturation ceiling reached in 3-4 weeks, less GI upset, less acute bloat.
Will creatine make me look bloated or watery?
The water it adds is intramuscular, not subcutaneous. That means it shows up as fuller, more defined arms / shoulders / legs — not a softer or smoother look. The 1-2 kg scale weight gain in week 1 is cell volumization (intramuscular hydration), which is anabolic-adjacent and visible as a 'pumped' look at rest. Some men do notice mild facial puffiness in the loading week if sodium balance is off — usually resolves once you stabilize on the 5 g/day maintenance dose. If you're prepping for a photoshoot or beach week, plan loading 3-4 weeks out, then maintain — by then the bloat is gone and only the cell-volumization look remains.
Is creatine safe for my kidneys if I'm running high-protein bulking macros?
Yes, in healthy men with no pre-existing kidney disease. The Cooper 2012 safety review (PMID 22817979) covered 30+ controlled trials and found no adverse effects on kidney function, liver enzymes, or muscle integrity at chronic doses up to 5 g/day. Higher protein intakes (1.6-2.2 g/kg) layer on top with no documented compounding risk. Serum creatinine (a kidney marker on bloodwork) does rise on creatine — but it's a downstream metabolite of the supplemented creatine, not a sign of damage. Tell your doctor before getting bloodwork so they read the creatinine correctly. If you have a family history of kidney disease, get a baseline eGFR before starting and re-check at 3 months.
What's the right dose if I weigh 90+ kg?
5 g/day is enough for most male lifters regardless of bodyweight — saturation ceiling is set by lean muscle mass, not total bodyweight. Once full, additional creatine is excreted. The exception: large lifters with high lean mass running high-volume blocks (5+ training days/week, multiple compound lifts per session) sometimes need 7-10 g/day to maintain ceiling. Anecdotal but well-tolerated in the literature. Practical rule: 5 g/day continuously; bump to 7-10 g/day during peak high-volume blocks if you weigh 95+ kg and feel performance dropping by week 3 of the block.
Can I take creatine and pre-workout together?
Yes, and you probably already are — most pre-workouts include 3-5 g of creatine monohydrate already. Check your pre-workout label. If it includes creatine, count it toward your daily 5 g target and dose the rest post-workout. If it doesn't include creatine, just add 5 g of monohydrate to your post-workout shake. Caffeine and creatine were once thought to interfere with each other (older Vandenberghe 1996 work); subsequent research has not replicated that finding at typical doses, and the ISSN position statement (Kreider 2017) considers the interaction non-significant in practice. Take both.
Every Claim Ranked Above Traces Back To One Of These
6 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
- [1] Kreider 2017 PMID 28615996 — International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine. ISSN position statement after reviewing 500+ studies: creatine monohydrate is the most effective form, with no evidence that alternative forms (HCl, ethyl ester, magnesium chelate) outperform it at equivalent doses. 3-5 g/day chronic dosing is safe and effective for healthy adults including resistance-trained men.
- [2] Volek 2004 PMID 14685870 — The effects of creatine supplementation on muscular performance and body composition responses to short-term resistance training overreaching. Six weeks of high-volume resistance-training overreaching plus a two-week taper. Creatine held maximal squat and bench press where placebo declined, and produced greater gains in explosive power and lean leg mass. On hormones it cuts against the marketing: total testosterone and the free androgen index (TT/SHBG) DECREASED in both the creatine and placebo arms, reaching a nadir at week 3. This entry replaces a 'Volek 2013' citation we carried for months that does not exist, and whose claimed free-testosterone preservation is contradicted by the trial above.
- [3] Chilibeck 2017 PMID 29138605 — Effect of creatine supplementation during resistance training on lean tissue mass and muscular strength in older adults: a meta-analysis. Meta-analysis of creatine + resistance training in older adults: significant gains in lean tissue mass (+1.4 kg) and chest press strength vs placebo. Effect size holds across decades — creatine works in untrained, trained, young, and older male populations.
- [4] Branch 2003 PMID 12945830 — Effect of creatine supplementation on body composition and performance: a meta-analysis. Foundational meta-analysis: creatine supplementation increased lean body mass by an average of +1.2 kg vs placebo across resistance-trained subjects (predominantly male cohorts). Effect size on high-intensity exercise performance was consistent across study designs.
- [5] Cooper 2012 PMID 22817979 — Creatine supplementation with specific view to exercise/sports performance: an update. Comprehensive safety and efficacy review covering 30+ controlled trials. Established that chronic creatine supplementation at 3-5 g/day has no adverse effects on kidney function, liver enzymes, or muscle integrity in healthy adults — the safety profile underwriting the no-cycle protocol for male lifters running high-protein bulking macros.
- [6] Antonio 2021 PMID 33557850 — Common questions and misconceptions about creatine supplementation: what does the scientific evidence really show?. ISSN Q&A paper directly addressing the most common myths around creatine for resistance-trained men: loading is optional, cycling is unnecessary, water retention is intramuscular (not subcutaneous), creatine does not damage kidneys in healthy adults, and alternative forms have no efficacy advantage over monohydrate. Practical reference for the male-lifter cohort.
More Creatine Guides
- Best Creatine SupplementsThe definitive creatine buying guide — the single best pick for each kind of buyer across powder, gummies, and HCl. Monohydrate powder wins on raw value; every other form is a situational upgrade for adherence, testing, or tolerance.
- Best Form of Creatine: Why Monohydrate WinsEvery creatine form compared — monohydrate, micronized, Creapure, HCl, buffered, ethyl ester, multi-form. The ISSN-anchored verdict: monohydrate wins, the rest are markups on the same molecule.
- Best Creatine for BrainCreatine raises brain phosphocreatine — biggest cognitive lift for vegetarians + the sleep-deprived (Rae 2003). Monohydrate at 5 g/day; ranked by label purity, dose, and cognitive-trial alignment.
- Best Creatine for Muscle GrowthTen creatine picks ranked for hypertrophy — cell volumization, satellite-cell proliferation, saturation over loading. Monohydrate is the only form with RCT weight.
- Best Creatine for WomenTen creatine picks re-scored for women: lean-mass preservation, postmenopausal bone-density support (Chilibeck 2015), cognition/mood uplift, no-loading-default, kitchen-friendly tub sizes.
- Best Creatine GummiesCreatine gummies ranked by grams-per-gummy and cost per real 5 g dose — $0.67 to $2.78 across our six picks, read off the Amazon US offer. Most gummies under-deliver and a '3-gummy serving' usually isn't 5 g. Honest picks, including when powder still wins.
- Best Creatine MonohydrateThe most-studied supplement in sports nutrition — and 95% of buyers get it wrong by paying for fancier forms or flavored blends. Ranked by label purity, price per gram, and lab transparency.
- Best Supplements for Muscle GrowthThe supplement categories for muscle growth, ranked by how much each one adds — creatine first, protein powder second, the rest honest margins — with the #1 product of each category. Training, calories and protein beat all of them.
Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.