Cellucor COR-Performance Creatine Review

Updated May 14, 2026By Felix Hesse5 criteria scored5 peer-reviewed sourcesAffiliate links

Cellucor COR-Performance Creatine tub, 360 g — micronized creatine monohydrate in the SAC training-room scene#10 of 11 · Best mass-market✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Sep 7, 2026

Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.

Our Verdict

Consider it. Honest micronized monohydrate at a brand-placement premium — buy if shelf availability beats Amazon price. A real 5 g of micronized creatine monohydrate per scoop in a smaller 360 g tub at $0.35/serving — a higher price per serving than the Optimum Nutrition and NOW Sports tubs.

5 g micronized monohydrate per scoopSold at GNC and Vitamin Shoppe$0.35 a serving, 52% above ON
7.9SAC Product Score™
StrongestPer-serving creatine9.02
WeakestCost per active gram6.5
Where It Stands Among The 11 Ranked Creatine Supplements
#10 · 7.9

$25 / 360 g (72 servings)$0.35 / 5 g scoop

Score × Label

Why It Scores 7.9 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number

Form purity

25% of score
8.52

Micronized creatine monohydrate with no Creapure claim: neither the label, nor cellucor.com, nor the Amazon listing says Creapure (checked Oct 6, 2026), so the source is not stated. What you get is standard micronized monohydrate under GMP-level purity assurance — a fine, honest form, at the same form-purity step as Optimum Nutrition, Thorne, Bulk Supplements and Nutricost, and at a price that suggests otherwise.

Active form
Micronized creatine monohydrate (Creapure not stated on the label or listing)
Inactives
None (unflavored version) — flavored variants add sucralose + citric acid
Certifications
GMP-certified · Banned-substance free (brand attestation) · Creapure not stated
Manufacturer
Nutrabolt (Austin, TX — 20+ year mass-market sports nutrition portfolio)
Lab transparency
Nutrabolt brand-level QC only · No Informed Sport · No NSF · No per-batch COA

Third-party testing

25% of score
7.5

GMP-certified facility under the Nutrabolt parent company + brand-level QC. No Informed Sport seal, no NSF Certified for Sport (Thorne has this), no per-batch published COA. Nutrabolt's mass-market manufacturing discipline is the QC floor; the third-party programs that Thorne carries aren't here.

Per-serving creatine

20% of score
9.02

5 g of micronized monohydrate per scoop — the standard trial dose, no fillers, no dextrose padding. The 360 g tub delivers 72 servings (~2.4-month supply at 5 g/day). Loses to the 100-serving and 120-serving tubs from NOW and ON on per-tub volume, but the per-scoop dose math is identical and honest.

Cost per active gram

20% of score
6.5

$25/360 g = $0.07/g creatine = $0.35 per 5 g serving. Lands 52% above Optimum Nutrition ($0.23/serving) and about two-thirds above NOW Sports ($0.21 per 5 g). The premium funds Nutrabolt's retail-distribution overhead — GNC and Vitamin Shoppe shelf placement, in-store displays, mass-market gym poster placements. Real cost, real shelf access, but the worst $/serving among the mainstream monohydrate picks on the list.

Per serving
5 g micronized creatine monohydrate (1 scoop)
Trial-dose alignment
5 g/day matches the Kreider 2017 ISSN position dose
Price
$25 for 360 g (~$0.35 per 5 g serving)

Brand QC track record

10% of score
8.0

Cellucor and parent Nutrabolt have a 20+ year mass-market track record with sports nutrition. The corporate-side controversies (early C4 pre-workout reformulation under FDA action on a non-creatine ingredient) don't touch the COR-Performance Creatine SKU directly — that line is a single-ingredient micronized monohydrate SKU under GMP discipline. Solid mass-market discipline; doesn't match NOW's 30-year founder-owned in-house lab tier.

More Specs
Tub size
360 g — 72 servings, ~2.4-month supply at 5 g/day
Distribution
GNC, Vitamin Shoppe, most mass-market supplement chains, Amazon

Label verified. Every figure read from the Supplement Facts photo, Sep 7, 2026.

Truth Check

Marketing Claims Vs. Reality

Verified
5 g of creatine monohydrate in every serving.

Label-accurate: the 360 g tub ÷ 72 servings works out to exactly 5 g per scoop, and the unflavored SKU is single-ingredient. The dose matches the Kreider 2017 ISSN maintenance protocol. Note what the label does NOT claim: Creapure. The form claim is honest; the source is not stated.

Verified
Supports lean muscle growth, strength, and faster recovery.

All three claims are established creatine effects from the Kreider 2017 ISSN position statement and the Branch 2003 meta-analysis. At 5 g/day chronic dosing, the effect on lean mass (+1.2 kg vs placebo), 1RM strength (+8% vs placebo), and recovery between high-intensity sets is well-documented.

Partial
Banned-substance free.

Brand attestation only — Cellucor states the product is free of banned substances based on their internal supply chain. No NSF Certified for Sport listing (Thorne has this) and no Informed Sport seal. For recreational lifters this is fine; for drug-tested athletes the claim isn't certified.

Partial
Micronized for faster absorption and mixing.

True for mixing — micronization (smaller particle size) genuinely improves solubility, the powder dissolves faster than non-micronized supply. False for absorption — micronization doesn't change creatine bioavailability or efficacy. Once saturated, the molecule reaches the muscle the same way regardless of particle size.

Verified
No fillers, no sugar, no artificial colors (unflavored version).

True for the unflavored SKU — pure micronized monohydrate, no inactives. False for the Watermelon and Fruit Punch flavored versions, which add sucralose, citric acid, and FD&C colors. Buy the unflavored tub to honor this claim.

The Deep Dive

What Our Test Actually Found

01

Cellucor is the shelf-access pick — the premium buys shelf access, not a better creatine

Creatine monohydrate is molecularly identical once dissolved. Cellucor does not state Creapure on its label, on cellucor.com or on its listing, and neither do ON, NOW or Thorne (checked Oct 6, 2026), so none of those has a documented-source advantage over it; only Sports Research (#1) states Creapure. The differentiator here isn't the molecule or the documentation, it's purely the distribution wrapper. Cellucor exists for the gym shopper who walks into GNC, sees the recognizable brand, and walks out with a quality creatine without comparison-shopping. For that buyer it delivers exactly what it should — real micronized monohydrate, no surprises. For the Amazon shopper, a 50% premium over a tub that's cheaper per serving is a friction tax with nothing on the other side of the ledger.

02

The brand-placement premium funds retail visibility, not better creatine

Nutrabolt (Cellucor's parent) operates one of the most aggressive mass-market sports nutrition distribution programs in the US — GNC endcaps, Vitamin Shoppe shelf priority, gym-bag sponsorships, college athletics partnerships. That distribution costs money, and the cost rolls into the $0.35/serving you pay at the tub level. None of that distribution overhead improves the creatine — Cellucor's tub is plain micronized monohydrate, and so are the cheaper Amazon-optimized picks. You're paying for shelf access and brand recognition. Worth it for the in-store impulse buyer; not worth it for the online comparison shopper.

03

Skip the flavored versions — they don't earn the upcharge

Cellucor sells Watermelon and Fruit Punch flavored versions at a $4-6 premium over the unflavored tub. The flavoring brings sucralose, citric acid, and FD&C artificial colors — none of which improve the creatine and all of which most users would rather avoid in a daily supplement. The unflavored tub mixes cleanly in water (micronization handles solubility) and disappears into any post-workout shake or drink. Flavored creatine exists because some buyers can't drink unflavored powder in plain water — for everyone else, it's a worse product at a higher price.

04

Why the smaller tub is the one honest reason to pick Cellucor

Cellucor's 360 g tub = 72 servings = ~2.4-month supply at 5 g/day. ON's 600 g = 120 servings = ~4-month supply. If you're running a first-time creatine cycle and want a shorter commitment before deciding whether to continue, Cellucor's smaller tub means less inventory risk on the experiment. For everyone past the first cycle, the bigger ON tub at lower $/serving is strictly better — but the trial-window argument is one of the few places where Cellucor's smaller volume actually wins.

05

Stack with whey + caffeine for the same household-tier performance baseline

Same playbook regardless of which monohydrate tub you pick: 5 g/day creatine + 25-40 g whey protein post-workout + 200-400 mg caffeine 30-45 min pre-training. Those three supplements have the most reproducible effect-sizes in sports nutrition. Cellucor's parent Nutrabolt sells whey (Cellucor COR-Performance Whey) and caffeine (C4 pre-workout) as companion products at the same retail-distribution tier — convenient for the in-store buyer who wants one-stop shopping, but each of those companion products is also available cheaper from Amazon-optimized brands (Optimum Gold Standard, Bulk Supplements) for the online comparison shopper.

Full analysis: all pros & cons (10), buy if / skip if
Pros
  • Real 5 g of micronized creatine monohydrate per scoop — clean, single-ingredient unflavored label
  • Available offline at GNC, Vitamin Shoppe, and most mass-market supplement chains
  • Recognizable brand for the crossover gym audience — low cognitive overhead
  • Smaller 360 g tub is honest for short trial cycles before bigger commitment
  • Nutrabolt parent has 20+ year mass-market manufacturing discipline
Cons
  • $0.35/serving lands 52% above Optimum Nutrition
  • Creapure not stated — plain micronized monohydrate at a premium-tier price
  • No Informed Sport seal and no NSF Certified for Sport
  • Smaller tub means more frequent re-orders vs ON's 600 g or Bulk's 1 kg
  • Brand-placement premium funds shelf access, not better creatine
Buy If
  • You're shopping in-person at GNC, Vitamin Shoppe, or a similar supplement chain
  • You recognize the Cellucor brand from the gym and want a familiar tub
  • You want a shorter 2-3 month trial cycle before committing to a bigger tub
  • You don't care that the Amazon picks cost less per serving
Skip If
  • You're shopping on Amazon — Optimum Nutrition (#3) costs 33% less per serving
  • You want a household-brand tub at a lower price per serving — go NOW Sports (#6)
  • You're drug-tested — go Thorne (NSF Certified for Sport, #2)
  • You want the cheapest tub-format pure monohydrate — go Nutricost (#7)

A real 5 g of micronized creatine monohydrate per scoop in a smaller 360 g tub at $0.35/serving — a higher price per serving than the Optimum Nutrition and NOW Sports tubs. Real creatine, honest label, but the $/serving math doesn't survive any Amazon comparison. Buy it when in-store convenience matters; skip it when you're shopping online.

Cellucor COR-Performance Creatine is the creatine tub for the mass-market gym shopper — the buyer who walks into a GNC or Vitamin Shoppe, sees the recognizable Cellucor brand on the shelf, and wants to walk out with a quality creatine without comparison-shopping. What's in the tub is plain micronized creatine monohydrate — real, honest, single-ingredient, but Creapure is not stated: neither the label nor cellucor.com claims it, and neither do the ON, Thorne or NOW Sports labels or listings (checked Oct 6, 2026). At $25 for 360 g ($0.35/serving), it lands roughly 50% above Optimum Nutrition's Amazon price. You're paying the brand-placement premium that Nutrabolt's retail distribution requires — not better creatine, just better shelf access. Six weeks running the tub, here's where it earns the 'consider' verdict and where it loses to the Amazon-optimized picks.

The Bottom Line

Plain micronized monohydrate at a premium price — buy it for the shelf, not the savings.

Cellucor COR-Performance Creatine is what its label says: real micronized creatine monohydrate at 5 g per scoop, from a 20+ year mass-market brand with retail distribution across every major US supplement chain. Despite a price that suggests otherwise, it does not state Creapure on its label or listing, and neither do Optimum Nutrition, NOW or Thorne (checked Oct 6, 2026). The product is honest; what you're paying for at $0.35/serving is the wrapper — Nutrabolt's retail distribution overhead, GNC shelf placement, brand recognition from gym posters and college athletics sponsorships. The 'consider' verdict (rather than 'buy') reflects this trade. If you're in a GNC right now and want a quality creatine without ordering online, Cellucor is a reasonable pick — you get real micronized monohydrate and you walk out with a tub today. If you're shopping on Amazon, Optimum Nutrition (#3) is 33% less per serving, and the math gets worse against Bulk Supplements ($0.15/serving for the same generic micronized tier as Cellucor). Cellucor is the right tub for the impulse in-store buyer and the wrong tub for the online comparison shopper — pick on context, not on default loyalty.

Check price on Amazon
Alternatives

If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These

Frequently Asked

Quick Answers

Is Cellucor's creatine the same as Optimum Nutrition's?

Same molecule, same documentation level. Creatine monohydrate is creatine monohydrate once it's in solution. Neither the label, nor cellucor.com, nor the Amazon listing claims Creapure for Cellucor, and neither do the ON, Thorne or NOW Sports labels or listings (checked Oct 6, 2026), so the source of each is not stated. In practice both deliver 5 g of monohydrate per scoop. Cellucor sells at a higher per-serving price, so ON gives you the same dose for less money.

Why is Cellucor 50% more per serving than Optimum Nutrition?

Two reasons, both honest. First, smaller tubs cost more per serving — Cellucor ships 360 g vs ON's 600 g at roughly the same dollar price, which mechanically lifts the $/serving math. Second, retail shelf placement isn't free — Cellucor (owned by Nutrabolt) funds GNC and Vitamin Shoppe placement, in-store displays, and crossover marketing to the mass-market gym audience. That cost rolls into the $0.35/serving you pay. Optimum Nutrition has a similar distribution footprint but at higher volume, which dilutes the per-unit overhead.

When is Cellucor the right pick over ON or NOW?

When you're standing in a GNC or Vitamin Shoppe and want to walk out with a creatine tub today, not wait for Amazon. The brand exists for the impulse-purchase, off-the-shelf, mass-market gym audience — the lifter who saw a Cellucor poster at the gym, walked into the supplement store, and wanted to buy without comparison-shopping online. For that buyer, Cellucor delivers exactly what it should: real micronized monohydrate, no surprises, a recognizable brand. For the Amazon shopper, ON (#3) or Bulk Supplements (#4) is a strictly better trade.

Is the C4-pre-workout-brand connection a quality concern?

Not for COR-Performance specifically. Cellucor is owned by Nutrabolt, the same parent company behind C4 pre-workouts and Xtend BCAAs — a mass-market sports nutrition portfolio. The C4 pre-workouts have had labeling controversies in the past (the original C4 formula was reformulated after FDA action on a non-creatine ingredient). The COR-Performance Creatine line is a separate, single-ingredient SKU — 5 g of micronized creatine monohydrate and nothing else on the unflavored label. You're not exposed to the pre-workout-side controversies by buying the standalone creatine tub.

Does the smaller tub justify any of the price premium?

Marginally, for one specific user: the buyer who wants to test creatine for 2-3 months before committing to a larger tub. Cellucor's 360 g = 72 servings = ~2.4-month supply at 5 g/day. ON's 600 g = 120 servings = ~4-month supply. If you want a short trial cycle before deciding whether to stay on creatine long-term, the smaller tub means less commitment-cost on the experiment. But the math still favors ON for everyone past the first cycle.

Is flavored COR-Performance Creatine worth the upcharge?

No. Flavored creatine tubs (Cellucor sells Watermelon and Fruit Punch versions) add $4-6 to the tub price and bring sucralose, citric acid, and artificial colors — none of which improve the creatine. Unflavored micronized monohydrate is the default for a reason: it dissolves cleanly in water, mixes into any drink without flavor interference, and avoids the artificial-sweetener stack that the flavored versions carry. If you genuinely can't drink unflavored creatine in water, mix it into juice or your post-workout shake — solves the texture issue without the cost premium.

Research

Sources & Further Reading

5 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
  1. [1] Kreider 2017 PMID 28615996 — International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine. ISSN position statement covering 500+ studies — monohydrate is the most effective form, with no evidence that alternative forms outperform it at equivalent doses. 3-5 g/day chronic dosing is safe and effective for healthy adults.
  2. [2] Buford 2007 PMID 17908288 — International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: creatine supplementation and exercise. Earlier ISSN position statement establishing the 3-5 g/day maintenance protocol as effective and safe.
  3. [3] Cooper 2012 PMID 22817979 — Creatine supplementation with specific view to exercise/sports performance: an update. Safety + efficacy review covering 30+ controlled trials. Chronic creatine at 3-5 g/day has no adverse effects on kidney function, liver enzymes, or muscle integrity in healthy adults.
  4. [4] Volek 1997 PMID 9216554 — Creatine supplementation enhances muscular performance during high-intensity resistance exercise. Foundational RCT showing creatine monohydrate at 5 g/day improves bench press 1RM and total work during high-intensity resistance exercise.
  5. [5] Rae 2003 PMID 14561278 — Oral creatine monohydrate supplementation improves brain performance. Creatine monohydrate at 5 g/day improved working memory and intelligence test performance — establishing the secondary cognition effect beyond strength.

Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.

#10 of 11 · Best mass-marketCellucor COR-Performance Creatine7.9Check price