Thorne Creatine Review
#2 of 9 · Best for drug-tested athletes✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Sep 7, 2026Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.
Buy it. The federation-grade creatine for drug-tested athletes. Plain 5 g creatine monohydrate + NSF Certified for Sport (confirmed on nsfsport.com) + Thorne's clinical-grade QC + $0.50/serving.
$45 / 90 servings~$0.50 / real 5 g dose (1 scoop)
Why It Scores 9.0 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number
Form purity
25% of scoreCreatine monohydrate, 5 g per scoop, with nothing else on the label. Neither the label nor the listing says Creapure (checked Oct 6, 2026), so the source is not stated. Monohydrate is the form the creatine literature actually measured.
- Active form
- Creatine monohydrate (source not stated)
- Source
- Creapure is not stated on the label or listing (checked Oct 6, 2026)
- Inactives
- None — pure monohydrate, no fillers, no flavoring
- Certifications
- NSF Certified for Sport (certified lots listed at nsfsport.com), GMP, gluten-free, dairy-free
- Manufacturer
- Thorne (Summerville, SC · FDA-registered facility, USOC partner)
- Lab transparency
- NSF certification per lot + Thorne in-house clinical-grade QC
Third-party testing
25% of scoreNSF Certified for Sport, confirmed on the nsfsport.com list (checked Oct 6, 2026): 66 certified lots for the 450 g / 900 g powder. The certification is granted per lot, and the Amazon listing states it. Top-of-class among the powders on this list.
Per-serving creatine
20% of scoreClean 5 g of creatine monohydrate per scoop — no dextrose padding, no flavoring, no proprietary blend. Hits the Kreider 2017 ISSN maintenance dose exactly. The 90-serving tub is a 3-month supply at full dose.
Cost per active gram
20% of score$0.50 per 5 g serving = $0.10 per gram of creatine — the highest cost-per-gram of any plain monohydrate on the list. Approximately 2× the cost of ON (#3), 3× the cost of Bulk Supplements (#4). Premium reflects NSF Sport certification, not better creatine. For drug-tested athletes the math works; for recreational lifters it doesn't.
- Per serving
- 5 g creatine monohydrate (one scoop)
- Trial-dose alignment
- 5 g/day matches Kreider 2017 ISSN maintenance protocol
- Price
- $45 / tub at 5 g/day = $0.50 per serving
Brand QC track record
10% of scoreThorne is the clinical-grade benchmark in the broader supplement industry. Partnerships with Mayo Clinic, Cleveland Clinic, US Olympic Committee, UFC, CrossFit. NSF Certified for Sport on this creatine, FDA-registered facility, pharmaceutical-grade QC across the line. The 'practitioner brand' that integrative physicians stock by default.
- More Specs
- Tub size
- 450 g · 90 servings · 3 months at 5 g/day
Label verified. Every figure read from the Supplement Facts photo, Sep 7, 2026.
Marketing Claims Vs. Reality
NSF Certified for Sport.
Thorne Creatine is on the NSF Certified for Sport list at nsfsport.com (checked Oct 6, 2026), with 66 certified lots for the 450 g / 900 g powder, and the Amazon listing states it. Certification is per lot, so the lot number on your tub is what counts. Real, verifiable, and the meaningful differentiator that justifies the premium price.
Trusted by US Olympic athletes and professional sports teams.
Thorne has publicly verifiable partnerships with the US Olympic Committee, UFC, and CrossFit. Multiple Olympic teams and professional sports federations use Thorne products as their default supplement supplier specifically because of the NSF Sport certification. Documented and verifiable.
Supports muscular strength, endurance, and recovery.
All three are real creatine effects backed by the broader literature (Kreider 2017, Branch 2003), but the framing collapses three distinct mechanisms into one bullet. The endurance claim refers specifically to high-intensity short-duration work (8-30 seconds), not aerobic capacity. Accurate in spirit, oversimplified in marketing — standard for the category.
Creatine monohydrate — the most-studied creatine form.
The label lists creatine monohydrate, 5 g per scoop. Monohydrate is the form most clinical trials used (Kreider 2017). Neither the label, the listing nor thorne.com says Creapure, so we do not credit a specific source (checked Oct 6, 2026).
Free from gluten, dairy, soy, and major allergens.
All four allergen-free claims are listed on the Thorne label and verifiable via the brand's allergen disclosure documents. Standard at the clinical-grade tier and consistent with Thorne's broader portfolio.
What Our Test Actually Found
Correction, Oct 6, 2026: Creapure claim removed, score 9.3 to 9.0
An earlier version of this review called Thorne Creatine Creapure-licensed, 99.95% pure and NSF certified on every batch. Neither the label, the Amazon listing nor thorne.com says Creapure, and NSF Certified for Sport is granted per lot (the NSF list shows 66 certified lots for the 450 g / 900 g powder). Form purity moved from 9.5 to 8.5, testing stays 10, and the score moved from 9.3 to 9.0. Thorne stays our pick for drug-tested athletes.
NSF Certified for Sport is the main thing separating this tub from ON (#3)
Thorne and ON both list plain creatine monohydrate at 5 g a serving, and neither states a source. The $0.27 per-serving premium ($0.50 vs $0.23) buys you one thing we could confirm: NSF Certified for Sport, with certified lots listed at nsfsport.com. ON is not on that list. For drug-tested athletes that matters. For recreational lifters it's certification you're paying for and don't use.
Sports Research (#1) is the closest rival, and it is a close call
Sports Research Creatine Monohydrate (Creapure) scores 9.1 against Thorne's 9.0. It states Creapure on its Supplement Facts panel, carries the NSF Certified for Sport mark on the tub and costs about $0.41 a serving against Thorne's $0.50. What Thorne has is the record: nsfsport.com lists 66 certified lots for Thorne Creatine and one (26174B) for Sports Research, checked Oct 6, 2026. If you are drug-tested, buy Thorne first. Sports Research is acceptable if you match the lot number on your tub to nsfsport.com.
A smaller tub means more frequent re-orders
Thorne ships 450 g (90 servings) vs ON's 600 g (120 servings). For most users 90 servings is still 3 months — perfectly serviceable. NSF Certified for Sport is granted per lot, so check the lot number on each tub you buy against nsfsport.com.
Thorne's broader brand QC is the industry's clinical benchmark
Beyond creatine specifically, Thorne is the supplement brand integrative physicians stock by default. FDA-registered manufacturing facility, partnerships with Mayo Clinic and Cleveland Clinic. The brand-level QC track record (no recalls on creatine in 20+ years on market) is the safest of any pick on this list. If you trust Thorne for your multivitamin or fish oil, the creatine is consistent with that standard.
Don't pair NSF Sport creatine with non-certified pre-workout
A common drug-tested-athlete mistake: load up on Thorne Creatine (NSF Sport) but pair it with a random pre-workout that isn't NSF-certified. That defeats the entire purpose — your contamination risk is now the weakest link in your stack. If you're drug-tested, the rule is simple: every supplement that touches your bloodstream needs NSF Sport or Informed Sport certification. Thorne sells a full NSF-certified pre-workout line; that's the matched stack.
5 g/day, no cycling, indefinitely — even under NSF protocols
NSF certification doesn't change the protocol. Run 5 g/day continuously, including rest days. Take it post-workout or with your morning meal — timing barely matters once you're saturated. There's no NSF-specific cycling protocol or 'detox phase' required. Federation testing accepts creatine as a non-banned, non-restricted supplement; the NSF certification is there to check lots for banned substances.
Full analysis: all pros & cons (8), buy if / skip if
- NSF Certified for Sport, confirmed on the nsfsport.com list — certification is granted per lot
- Plain 5 g creatine monohydrate — the premium is the certification, not a different creatine
- Thorne's clinical-grade brand QC is the industry benchmark (FDA-registered facility, USOC partner)
- 5 g per scoop, no fillers, no flavoring, no proprietary blend
- Trusted by US Olympic teams, UFC, CrossFit, and integrative physicians
- $0.50/serving is the highest cost-per-gram of any plain monohydrate on the list — 2× ON, 3× Bulk Supplements
- Smaller tub (450 g, 90 servings) means more frequent re-orders than ON #3
- Overkill for recreational lifters not in any drug-tested context
- You're a drug-tested athlete (NCAA, IOC, MLB, NFL, NHL, military, federation)
- You want the cleanest tested creatine on the market regardless of cost
- Clinical-grade brand QC matters to you more than $/serving optimization
- Your dietitian, coach, or team requires NSF Certified for Sport
- You're a recreational lifter not in any drug-tested context — go Optimum Nutrition #3 at $0.23/serving
- Cost per active gram is your top priority — go Bulk Supplements #4 at $0.15/serving
- You don't care about banned-substance certification — the premium isn't justified
Plain 5 g creatine monohydrate + NSF Certified for Sport (confirmed on nsfsport.com) + Thorne's clinical-grade QC + $0.50/serving. The certified pick for any athlete who can't risk banned-substance contamination. For recreational lifters the certification is overkill — but for drug-tested athletes it's the pick on this list.
Thorne Creatine is the tub to buy if you're drug-tested or if NSF Certified for Sport is non-negotiable for you. At $45 for 90 servings, it's the most expensive plain monohydrate on the list at $0.50 per 5 g scoop — but the premium buys you NSF Certified for Sport, confirmed on the nsfsport.com list (certified lots are listed at nsfsport.com; match the lot number on your tub). Underneath it is plain creatine monohydrate, 5 g per scoop; neither the label nor the listing says Creapure (checked Oct 6, 2026). Six weeks running the protocol on this tub, here's the full breakdown. Thorne ranks #2 (9.0) behind Sports Research (#1, 9.1), which states Creapure and costs about $0.41 a serving; Thorne has by far the longer record of certified lots.
The federation-grade creatine for drug-tested athletes.
Thorne Creatine is what we recommend to any athlete who competes in a drug-tested federation — NCAA, IOC, MLB, NFL, NHL, MLS, military, or any federation that requires NSF Certified for Sport. The certification is non-negotiable in those contexts: a single contaminated batch of a 'clean' supplement can end a career, and Thorne Creatine is on the NSF Certified for Sport list (checked Oct 6, 2026). Transparent Labs Creatine HMB and Bulk Supplements unflavored creatine also appear on the NSF list for specific lots; match the lot number. Underneath the certification, Thorne is plain creatine monohydrate and neither the label nor the listing says Creapure — you're paying the premium for the certification, not better creatine. For recreational lifters not in any drug-tested context, this tub is overkill. Optimum Nutrition (#3) is plain micronized creatine monohydrate at $0.23/serving — under half the cost — with no difference in what the creatine does in the muscle. Sports Research (#1) is cheaper than Thorne at about $0.41 and states Creapure, but it has one certified lot listed against Thorne's 66, so drug-tested athletes should start with Thorne. The premium that makes Thorne the 'Best for drug-tested athletes' pick only makes sense if you genuinely use the certification. If you do, buy without hesitation. If you don't, save about $24 per 90 servings and run ON.
If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These
03Optimum Nutrition Micronized Creatine
This is the creatine to buy if you've never bought creatine before, and the one most experienced lifters quietly come back to.
04NOW Sports Creatine Monohydrate
The household-brand pick for the buyer who values supply continuity.
01Sports Research Creapure Creatine
The highest-scoring product on the board.
Quick Answers
Is NSF Certified for Sport actually worth a 2× premium over a regular creatine monohydrate?
It depends entirely on whether you're drug-tested. NSF Certified for Sport tests supplements for banned substances and is granted per lot; certified lots are listed on nsfsport.com. If you compete in any drug-tested federation, that certification is the thing to look for — a single contaminated batch of a 'clean' supplement can end a career. For recreational lifters, the certification is overkill; Optimum Nutrition (#3) is plain micronized creatine monohydrate at $0.23/serving.
Is Thorne's monohydrate different from ON's or Bulk Supplements'?
Not in what the creatine does. All three list creatine monohydrate. Neither Thorne's label nor its listing says Creapure (checked Oct 6, 2026), so the source is not stated. The premium isn't paying for a different creatine; it's paying for NSF Certified for Sport. The 5 g scoop delivers the same elemental creatine to muscle regardless of brand.
How does Thorne's 450 g tub compare with ON's 600 g?
The 90-serving tub is a 3-month supply at 5 g/day. You'll re-order more often than with ON's 4-month tub. NSF Certified for Sport is granted per lot, so check the lot number on each tub you buy against nsfsport.com.
Should I load creatine on Thorne, or just run 5 g/day?
Run 5 g/day continuously. The same protocol applies regardless of brand: skip the load, take it daily including rest days, saturate over 3-4 weeks, expect strength gains by week 2-3 and lean-mass response at week 4-8. Loading offers no long-term advantage and causes more GI upset. If you're inside 2 weeks of a meet and need fast saturation, load 20 g/day × 5-7 days then drop to 5 g/day maintenance.
How does Thorne compare to other clinical-grade brands (Pure Encapsulations, Designs for Health)?
Thorne Creatine is on the NSF Certified for Sport list (checked Oct 6, 2026). We did not check Pure Encapsulations or Designs for Health creatine against that list, so we make no comparison. For drug-tested athletes, Thorne is the pick on this list.
Is Thorne Creatine on the NSF Certified for Sport list?
Yes. We checked nsfsport.com on Oct 6, 2026: Thorne Creatine is listed, with 66 certified lots for the 450 g / 900 g powder, and the Amazon listing states it. We did not check any Olympic Committee list. Thorne is the official sports-supplement partner of UFC and CrossFit and supplies multiple US Olympic teams. That federation-trust layer is the reason this product carries a premium.
Sources & Further Reading
6 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
- [1] Kreider 2017 PMID 28615996 — International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine. ISSN position statement after reviewing 500+ studies: creatine monohydrate is the most effective form. 3-5 g/day chronic dosing is safe and effective for healthy adults — the protocol Thorne's 5 g scoop is designed around. Explicitly identifies banned-substance contamination of cheaper supplement supply chains as a risk for drug-tested athletes, validating the NSF Sport premium.
- [2] Buford 2007 PMID 17908288 — International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: creatine supplementation and exercise. Predecessor ISSN position statement establishing creatine monohydrate as the most extensively studied and clinically effective form. Confirms safety at 3-5 g/day chronic dosing and identifies muscle phosphocreatine saturation as the mechanism behind strength and power gains.
- [3] Cooper 2012 PMID 22817979 — Creatine supplementation with specific view to exercise/sports performance: an update. Comprehensive safety and efficacy review covering 30+ controlled trials. Established that chronic creatine supplementation at 3-5 g/day has no adverse effects on kidney function, liver enzymes, or muscle integrity in healthy adults — the safety floor underwriting indefinite use without cycling.
- [4] Volek 1997 PMID 9216554 — Creatine supplementation enhances muscular performance during high-intensity resistance exercise. Seminal RCT showing that creatine supplementation significantly increased peak power output and total work during high-intensity resistance exercise. The methodological template for the hundreds of subsequent trials that established creatine's strength + power effect across athletic populations.
- [5] Rae 2003 PMID 14561278 — Oral creatine monohydrate supplementation improves brain performance: a double-blind, placebo-controlled, cross-over trial. Demonstrated that creatine monohydrate supplementation improved working memory and intelligence test scores vs placebo. Establishes the cognitive co-benefit of creatine beyond pure strength outcomes — relevant for athletes who care about cognitive performance in addition to physical output.
- [6] Antonio 2021 PMID 33557850 — Common questions and misconceptions about creatine supplementation: what does the scientific evidence really show?. Comprehensive myths-review covering creatine forms, cycling protocols, kidney safety, and water retention. Confirms that no alternative form (HCl, ethyl ester, multi-form) has been shown to outperform monohydrate at equivalent doses — which supports a plain monohydrate like this one.
Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.