MyProtein Creatine Monohydrate Review

Updated May 12, 2026By Felix Hesse5 criteria scored6 peer-reviewed sourcesAffiliate links

MyProtein Creatine Monohydrate pouch — UK brand with US distribution, in the SAC home-gym scene#6 of 11 · Large 1 kg pouch✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Sep 7, 2026

Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.

Our Verdict

Buy it. A plain, large-format monohydrate. Plain creatine monohydrate + 5 g per scoop + 1 kg, 200-serving pouch.

1 kg pouch, 200 servings of 5 gVegan, soy-free and gluten-free on the labelSource not stated, no sport certificate
8.6SAC Product Score™
StrongestPer-serving creatine9.51
WeakestThird-party testing7.5
Where It Stands Among The 11 Ranked Creatine Supplements
#6 · 8.6

$37 / 1 kg (200 servings)$0.19 / 5 g scoop

Score × Label

Why It Scores 8.6 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number

Form purity

25% of score
8.52

Plain micronized creatine monohydrate, the form the creatine literature actually measured. Neither the listing title nor the label says Creapure, and MyProtein is not on Alzchem's public Creapure brand list (checked Oct 6, 2026), so the source is not stated. It sits at the same step as Bulk Supplements and Nutricost.

Active form
Micronized creatine monohydrate (source not stated)
Inactives
None — pure monohydrate, no fillers, no flavoring
Label marks
Vegan, Soy Free, Additive Free, Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free
Certifications
None confirmed (not NSF Certified for Sport; checked Oct 6, 2026)
Manufacturer
MyProtein (UK, Amazon US via resellers)
Lab transparency
MyProtein internal QC; no certifier listing confirmed

Third-party testing

25% of score
7.5

Brand QC only. The product is not on the NSF Certified for Sport list (nsfsport.com, checked Oct 6, 2026). MyProtein has advertised Informed Sport on some batches; we could not confirm it, so tested athletes should check the batch at sport.wetestyoutrust.com or choose Thorne Creatine (#2, on the NSF Certified for Sport list). The label on file shows no certification seal. Same step as Nutricost.

Per-serving creatine

20% of score
9.51

Clean 5 g of creatine monohydrate per scoop, no dextrose padding, no flavoring, no proprietary blend. Hits the Kreider 2017 ISSN maintenance dose exactly. The 200-serving pouch is a 6.5-month supply at full dose.

Cost per active gram

20% of score
9.02

About $37 for the 1 kg, 200-serving pouch (typical Amazon price, checked Oct 6, 2026) is $0.19 per 5 g serving. Only Bulk Supplements ($0.15) is cheaper on this list; Nutricost and Optimum Nutrition run $0.22 to $0.23.

Per serving
5 g creatine monohydrate (one scoop)
Trial-dose alignment
5 g/day matches Kreider 2017 ISSN maintenance protocol
Price
About $37 for 1 kg (200 servings) = $0.19 per 5 g serving (typical Amazon price, checked Oct 6, 2026)

Brand QC track record

10% of score
8.5

MyProtein is a large UK-based sports nutrition brand with wide reach across European athletic culture. Solid brand QC and consistent product quality, but US Amazon stock runs through resellers, so distribution reliability is below Optimum Nutrition's seamless Amazon presence.

More Specs
Pouch size
1 kg (2.2 lb) · 200 servings · about 6.5 months at 5 g/day

Label verified. Every figure read from the Supplement Facts photo, Sep 7, 2026.

Truth Check

Marketing Claims Vs. Reality

Not verified
Made with Creapure — the world's purest creatine monohydrate.

Not confirmed. Neither the Amazon listing title nor the label on file says Creapure, and MyProtein is not on Alzchem's public Creapure brand list (creapure.com/en/buy-here, checked Oct 6, 2026). An earlier version of this review listed it as Creapure-licensed. We have removed that claim. Treat the product as plain creatine monohydrate.

Not verified
Informed Sport tested — safe for drug-tested athletes.

Not confirmed. The certifier's database blocks automated lookups, the label on file shows no such seal, and the product is not on the NSF Certified for Sport list. A seal that cannot be checked is not a basis for recommending a product to drug-tested athletes. Federation acceptance also varies. Tested athletes should choose Thorne Creatine (#2) or verify the specific batch at the certifier before buying.

Partial
Supports muscle gain, strength, and exercise performance.

All three are real creatine effects backed by hundreds of trials (Kreider 2017, Branch 2003), but the framing is the standard category-marketing overgeneralization. MyProtein monohydrate delivers the same creatine as any other monohydrate, so the underlying claims are sound. Marketing framing is honest but generic.

Verified
Mixes easily — micronized for clean dissolution.

Micronization (smaller particle size) genuinely improves mixing speed and reduces sediment vs. coarse monohydrate. The 5 g scoop dissolves cleanly in 200-300 ml of cold water with 10-15 seconds of stirring. Confirmed across multiple servings in water, juice, and protein shakes.

Verified
200 servings per pouch.

The live Amazon listing title reads 200 servings (2.2 lb), and the label on file shows one 5 g scoop per serving. Our earlier description of a 500 g tub with 100 servings was the wrong size.

The Deep Dive

What Our Test Actually Found

01

Correction: Creapure not stated, no confirmed seal, and a 1 kg pouch

An earlier version of this review called MyProtein Creatine Monohydrate Creapure-licensed, said it carried Informed Sport on select batches, and described a 500 g tub of 100 servings at $28. We checked on Oct 6, 2026. The live listing is a 1 kg pouch with 200 servings. Neither the title nor the label says Creapure, and MyProtein is not on Alzchem's public Creapure brand list. Informed Sport could not be confirmed and the product is not on the NSF Certified for Sport list. Form purity moved from 9.5 to 8.5, third-party testing from 8.5 to 7.5, and the overall score from 9.0 to 8.5. Rank moved from #3 to #4. Price update, Oct 6, 2026: the price is now verified at about $37 for 200 servings, $0.19 per serving, so the cost line moved from 8.5 to 9.0 and the score from 8.5 to 8.6. With Sports Research added at #1, MyProtein now ranks #5.

02

A plain monohydrate, positioned by size and brand

The molecule that matters is creatine monohydrate at 5 g per scoop, and this product delivers that cleanly. What separates it from the other picks is not the molecule. Thorne (#2) wins on NSF Certified for Sport, Optimum Nutrition (#3) on US retail depth, and Bulk Supplements (#4) on price. MyProtein's edge is the large 1 kg, 200-serving pouch from a big European brand.

03

Drug-tested athletes: use the NSF-listed pick

NSF Certified for Sport is the dominant standard for US professional leagues (NFL, MLB, NHL, MLS) and the NCAA. This product is not on that list, and we could not confirm any other third-party sport certification. If you are a drug-tested athlete, choose Thorne Creatine (#2), or verify the exact batch at the certifier before you buy.

04

Compare MyProtein.com with Amazon before you order

MyProtein's direct website sometimes beats Amazon US on price during its sales events. We verified the Amazon price (about $37, or $0.19 per serving, on Oct 6, 2026) but not the website's, so compare the cost per 5 g serving on the day you order. Trade-offs: longer shipping times when fulfilled from UK warehouses, and no Amazon-style return convenience.

05

Why it sits at #5

On the scoring, MyProtein lands at 8.6 because it is plain monohydrate with no confirmed third-party certification. Sports Research (9.1), Thorne (9.0), Optimum Nutrition (8.9) and Bulk Supplements (8.9) score higher on the same criteria; NOW Sports (8.4) and Nutricost (8.3) score lower. Stock reliability is a separate caveat: ON ships consistently via Amazon Prime, while MyProtein's US Amazon presence runs through resellers with intermittent stock and variable shipping times.

06

Daily protocol identical to every other creatine tub

Five grams per day, every day including rest days, taken any time of day (post-workout is convenient, not necessary). No load required — saturate over 3-4 weeks. No cycling. Expect 1-2 kg of intramuscular water retention in week 1 (this is the drug working), strength gains by week 2-3, lean-mass response at week 4-8. The MyProtein pouch delivers the same protocol as any other creatine monohydrate. Brand swap doesn't change protocol.

Full analysis: all pros & cons (7), buy if / skip if
Pros
  • Large 1 kg pouch, 200 servings of 5 g
  • Clean 5 g per scoop, no fillers, no flavoring, no proprietary blend
  • Vegan, soy-free and gluten-free on the label
  • Sold by a large UK-based sports nutrition brand
Cons
  • Creapure is not stated on the title or label; the source is not stated
  • No third-party sport certification we could confirm; not on the NSF Certified for Sport list
  • Intermittent Amazon US stock — Prime delivery can't be guaranteed
Buy If
  • You want a large 1 kg, 200-serving pouch of plain monohydrate
  • You prefer European supplement brands or live in Europe
  • You're ordering from MyProtein.com during a sale and the per-serving price beats the alternatives
Skip If
  • You want a label that prints Creapure — go Sports Research #1, the only powder on our lists that states it (checked Oct 6, 2026)
  • You are drug-tested — go Thorne Creatine (#2, on the NSF Certified for Sport list)
  • You need reliable Prime 2-day shipping — Amazon US stock is intermittent

Plain creatine monohydrate + 5 g per scoop + 1 kg, 200-serving pouch. Neither the title nor the label says Creapure, and we could not confirm a third-party sport certification. A reasonable pick when you want a big pouch of unflavored monohydrate from a large brand at about $0.19 a serving. Drug-tested athletes should choose Thorne Creatine (#2) instead.

MyProtein Creatine Monohydrate is a plain, large-format creatine for lifters who want a big pouch from a big brand. The live Amazon listing is a 1 kg pouch with 200 servings of 5 g, so it covers about 6.5 months at one scoop a day. It is a clean single-ingredient monohydrate: 5 g per scoop, no fillers, no flavoring, vegan and gluten-free on the label. Neither the title nor the label says Creapure, and we could not confirm any third-party sport certification, so it sits at #6 behind Sports Research (#1), Thorne (#2), Optimum Nutrition (#3) and Bulk Supplements (#4). The typical Amazon price is about $37 for the pouch, or $0.19 per 5 g serving (checked Oct 6, 2026). The trade-off is intermittent Amazon US stock, since MyProtein is a UK brand with global distribution and its primary US presence runs through resellers. Six weeks running the protocol, here's the full breakdown.

The Bottom Line

A plain, large-format monohydrate from a big brand.

MyProtein Creatine Monohydrate is a clean 5 g monohydrate in a 1 kg, 200-serving pouch. Neither the title nor the label says Creapure, and we could not confirm a third-party sport certification, so it is a plain-monohydrate pick rather than the Creapure backup it was once described as. The typical Amazon price is about $37 for the pouch, or $0.19 per 5 g serving (checked Oct 6, 2026), so only Bulk Supplements is cheaper per serving. The main drawback is Amazon US stock reliability; MyProtein's primary US distribution runs through resellers rather than direct fulfillment. For European buyers, MyProtein is often the local default, with strong brand recognition and reliable EU distribution. Drug-tested athletes should choose Thorne (#2) for NSF Certified for Sport, or verify the exact batch at the certifier before buying. If you want Creapure, look for a label that prints it; only Sports Research (#1) does, and the other powders do not state a source (checked Oct 6, 2026). Solidly in 'buy' territory at 8.6, but as a large-pouch, brand-preference pick rather than a first-pass default.

Check price on Amazon
Alternatives

If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These

Frequently Asked

Quick Answers

Is MyProtein Creatine Monohydrate Creapure?

We could not confirm it, so treat it as plain creatine monohydrate with the source not stated. Neither the Amazon listing title nor the label on file says Creapure, and MyProtein is not on Alzchem's public Creapure brand list (creapure.com/en/buy-here, checked Oct 6, 2026). An earlier version of this review called it Creapure-licensed. That was wrong. The 5 g scoop still delivers creatine monohydrate, the form the research was done on. If Creapure is the point for you, look for a label that prints it: only Sports Research (#1) states Creapure; the other powders do not state a source (checked Oct 6, 2026).

What's Informed Sport, and how does it compare to NSF Certified for Sport?

Informed Sport is the UK-based equivalent of NSF Certified for Sport: a third-party banned-substance certification program that tests batches against WADA-prohibited compounds. NSF Sport is the gold standard in the US (accepted by NCAA, IOC, MLB, NFL, NHL), while Informed Sport is widely respected but not universally accepted by every US federation. For this MyProtein product we could not confirm either seal (see the third-party testing score). If you are in any drug-tested context, check your federation's requirements and choose Thorne Creatine (#2, on the NSF Certified for Sport list).

Is the pouch 500 g or 1 kg?

1 kg. The live Amazon title reads 200 servings (2.2 lb), and a serving is one 5 g scoop. An earlier version of this review said a 500 g tub of 100 servings. That was the wrong size. The 200-serving pouch is the large-format option on this list, which is the main reason to buy it.

How reliable is MyProtein's Amazon US stock?

Intermittent. MyProtein is a UK company with global distribution, but their primary US Amazon presence runs through resellers and the brand's own MyProtein.com storefront rather than direct Amazon fulfillment. Stock availability and shipping speed can vary — sometimes you get Prime 2-day shipping, sometimes the product is fulfilled from UK warehouses with 7-14 day transit. For consistent stock, ordering directly from MyProtein.com is usually faster than Amazon US — but you lose Amazon's return convenience.

Is this the same MyProtein from the UK gym influencer crowd?

Yes, same brand. MyProtein is a large UK-based sports nutrition brand with wide reach across European lifting culture. In the US the brand is less culturally dominant than Optimum Nutrition. Its creatine monohydrate is a plain, unflavored powder, and the 5 g scoop delivers the same creatine as any other monohydrate.

Should I order from Amazon US or MyProtein.com directly?

Depends on whether stock is the constraint. Amazon US gives you Prime returns and the convenience of consolidated ordering, but stock can be intermittent. MyProtein.com often has stock and runs promotional discounts during sales events, but we have not verified current prices on MyProtein.com. The typical Amazon price was about $37 for the pouch, or $0.19 per serving (checked Oct 6, 2026), so compare the cost per 5 g serving on the day you order. If you want Prime convenience and the product is in stock on Amazon, that's the easier order.

Research

Sources & Further Reading

6 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
  1. [1] Kreider 2017 PMID 28615996 — International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine. ISSN position statement after reviewing 500+ studies: creatine monohydrate is the most effective form. 3-5 g/day chronic dosing is safe and effective for healthy adults. It applies to any plain creatine monohydrate at this dose, including this one.
  2. [2] Buford 2007 PMID 17908288 — International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: creatine supplementation and exercise. Predecessor ISSN position statement establishing creatine monohydrate as the most extensively studied and clinically effective form. Confirms safety at 3-5 g/day chronic dosing — applicable to MyProtein's creatine monohydrate identically.
  3. [3] Cooper 2012 PMID 22817979 — Creatine supplementation with specific view to exercise/sports performance: an update. Comprehensive safety and efficacy review covering 30+ controlled trials. Established that chronic creatine supplementation at 3-5 g/day has no adverse effects on kidney function, liver enzymes, or muscle integrity in healthy adults — the safety floor that applies to MyProtein's creatine monohydrate identically.
  4. [4] Volek 1997 PMID 9216554 — Creatine supplementation enhances muscular performance during high-intensity resistance exercise. Seminal RCT showing that creatine supplementation significantly increased peak power output and total work during high-intensity resistance exercise. The methodological template for the broader strength + power evidence base supporting creatine monohydrate from any brand.
  5. [5] Rae 2003 PMID 14561278 — Oral creatine monohydrate supplementation improves brain performance: a double-blind, placebo-controlled, cross-over trial. Demonstrated that creatine monohydrate supplementation improved working memory and intelligence test scores vs placebo in vegetarian subjects. Establishes the cognitive co-benefit of creatine supplementation — applicable to MyProtein's creatine monohydrate.
  6. [6] Antonio 2021 PMID 33557850 — Common questions and misconceptions about creatine supplementation: what does the scientific evidence really show?. Comprehensive myths-review covering creatine forms, cycling protocols, kidney safety, and water retention. Confirms that no alternative form has been shown to outperform monohydrate at equivalent doses — which supports choosing a plain monohydrate like this one over alternative forms.

Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.

#6 of 11 · Large 1 kg pouchMyProtein Creatine Monohydrate8.6Check price