Optimum Nutrition Micronized Creatine Powder Review
#3 of 9 · Best household brand✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Sep 7, 2026Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.
Buy it. The default first-time-buyer creatine. Micronized monohydrate + 5 g per scoop + 120-serving tub + brand-level QC track record + $0.23/serving.
$28 / 120 servings~$0.23 / real 5 g dose (1 scoop)
Why It Scores 8.9 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number
Form purity
25% of scoreMicronized creatine monohydrate, 5 g per serving, no other ingredients on the label. Neither the label nor the listing says Creapure (checked Oct 6, 2026), so the source is not stated. Monohydrate is the form the creatine bioavailability trials actually measured.
- Active form
- Micronized creatine monohydrate (source not stated)
- Source
- Creapure is not stated on the label or listing (checked Oct 6, 2026)
- Inactives
- None — pure micronized monohydrate, no fillers, no flavoring
- Certifications
- Label: Banned Substance Tested. Listing: Informed Choice program (brand statement, not confirmed). Not NSF Certified for Sport
- Manufacturer
- Optimum Nutrition (Glanbia · 40+ years in sports nutrition)
- Lab transparency
- Brand-level QC; the label prints Banned Substance Tested
Third-party testing
25% of scoreThe label prints 'Banned Substance Tested', and the Amazon listing says the product is part of the Informed Choice program (a brand statement we could not confirm). It is not on the NSF Certified for Sport list (checked Oct 6, 2026) — for that you need Thorne (#2). For non-drug-tested lifters the brand-level QC is more than sufficient; ON's QC has held consistent across 30+ years with no recalls.
Per-serving creatine
20% of scoreClean 5 g of creatine monohydrate per scoop — no dextrose padding, no flavoring, no proprietary blend nonsense. Hits the trial-measured dose exactly. The 120-serving tub at full dose is a 4-month supply — honest sizing.
Cost per active gram
20% of score$0.23 per 5 g serving = $0.046 per gram of creatine. A fair price for a household brand. Bulk Supplements (#4) is cheaper at $0.15/serving; Sports Research (#1) is about $0.41/serving and Thorne (#2) is $0.50/serving with NSF certification layered on. MyProtein (#6) at $0.19 and NOW Sports (#7) at $0.21 are now slightly cheaper than ON.
- Per serving
- 5 g creatine monohydrate (one rounded teaspoon scoop)
- Trial-dose alignment
- 5 g/day matches Kreider 2017 ISSN maintenance protocol
- Price
- $28 / tub at 5 g/day = $0.23 per serving
Brand QC track record
10% of scoreOptimum Nutrition has shipped this exact creatine formula for 30+ years with no recalls, no formulation drift, and consistent batch QC across global distribution. The brand's parent company (Glanbia) runs one of the largest pharma-grade supplement manufacturing operations in the world. The safest 'I just want a tub' pick on the list.
- More Specs
- Tub size
- 600 g · 120 servings · 4 months at 5 g/day
Label verified. Every figure read from the Supplement Facts photo, Sep 7, 2026.
Marketing Claims Vs. Reality
Micronized creatine, 5 g per serving, 120 servings.
The label front reads Micronized Creatine, 5g Per Serving and 120 Servings, and the supplement panel lists creatine monohydrate 5 g with no other ingredients. Neither the label nor the listing says Creapure (checked Oct 6, 2026).
Supports increases in energy, endurance, and recovery.
All three are real creatine effects backed by hundreds of trials (Kreider 2017, Branch 2003), but the framing collapses three distinct mechanisms into one bullet. The endurance claim is specifically about high-intensity short-duration work (8-30 seconds) — not aerobic endurance. The recovery effect is modest at chronic doses. Accurate in spirit, oversimplified in marketing.
Mixes easily — superior solubility from micronization.
Micronization (mechanical milling to smaller particle size) genuinely improves mixing speed and reduces sediment vs. coarser monohydrate. The functional benefit is purely texture — micronization doesn't change absorption or efficacy. But the claim is honest: this tub mixes cleanly in cold water with 10-15 seconds of stirring.
Unflavored — fits any drink.
Pure creatine monohydrate is essentially tasteless. ON's unflavored version genuinely has no detectable flavor when dissolved — confirmed across multiple servings in water, juice, and protein shakes. Standard claim, accurate.
30+ years of trust in sports nutrition.
ON's creatine product has been on shelves since the early 1990s with no recalls and no major formulation changes. The 'trust' claim is a brand-history statement — fair, and the kind of track record that justifies the small premium over generic.
What Our Test Actually Found
Correction, Oct 6, 2026: Creapure claim removed, score 9.1 to 8.9
An earlier version of this review called Optimum Nutrition Micronized Creatine Creapure-licensed, 99.95% pure monohydrate. Neither the label, the Amazon listing nor the brand page says Creapure. The label prints 'Banned Substance Tested', and the listing says the product is part of the Informed Choice program, a brand statement we could not confirm. It is not on the NSF Certified for Sport list. Form purity moved from 9.5 to 8.5, testing stays 8.5, and the score moved from 9.1 to 8.9 (now #3, behind Sports Research and Thorne).
'Banned Substance Tested' on the label is not NSF Certified for Sport
The label statement and the listing's Informed Choice mention are brand claims we could not confirm at the certifier. ON is not on the NSF Certified for Sport list (checked Oct 6, 2026). If you are drug-tested, pick Thorne (#2), which has by far the longest list of certified lots.
5 g per scoop is the honest trial-measured dose
Some creatine tubs overshoot to 6-7 g per scoop to look generous in copy, then quietly cut the tub size to compensate. ON ships an exact 5 g scoop — the dose that anchors the Kreider 2017 ISSN maintenance protocol and the dose used across 90% of the published creatine literature. Five grams in, full saturation in 3-4 weeks, predictable strength + lean-mass response at week 4-8.
Why we skip ON's flavored variants and you should too
ON sells fruit-punch and orange-flavored creatine variants at the same price point. Skip them. Flavored creatine adds sucralose, citric acid, and artificial flavoring to mask the (very mild) chalkiness of monohydrate in plain water — but the additives often hide slightly lower-grade monohydrate at the batch level (the flavor covers the off-taste of less-pure powder). Unflavored is the safe default. If plain water bothers you, stir it into juice or your protein shake.
The 4-month tub is the right discovery cadence
Most premium creatine tubs ship 60-90 servings — enough for 2-3 months. That's not enough runway to see the full effect curve, which compounds across weeks 4-12 as training volume rises. ON ships 120 servings — enough to saturate, run a complete 8-week training block at full creatine support, and re-test your top working sets at the end. By the time you re-order, you have your own data on whether creatine is moving the lifts.
Best stacked with protein + carbs at dosing time
The cleanest performance stack at the trusted-brand tier: ON Creatine (5 g post-workout) + ON Gold Standard Whey (25-40 g protein) + a banana or rice cake (30-50 g carbs). Carbs at dosing time modestly improve creatine uptake via insulin; protein supports muscle protein synthesis. Three components, ~$80/month total, covers the foundation of any strength program.
Full analysis: all pros & cons (7), buy if / skip if
- Plain micronized creatine monohydrate, no other ingredients on the label
- 5 g per scoop + 120-serving tub = honest dose + 4-month supply
- $0.23/serving — a fair price from a household brand
- 30+ years of brand QC track record with no recalls or formulation drift
- Mixes cleanly in cold water, no grit, no flavoring
- Not NSF Certified for Sport — if you're drug-tested, jump to Thorne #2
- Modest premium over pure generic micronized monohydrate (Bulk Supplements #4 at $0.15/serving)
- First-time creatine buyer
- You want plain, trial-dose monohydrate without the NSF-Sport premium
- $28/tub fits the budget — Thorne at $45 doesn't
- Powder format is acceptable — you can scoop into your post-workout shake
- You're drug-tested (NCAA/IOC/military/federation) — go Thorne #2 for NSF Certified for Sport
- Maximum price optimization is the priority — go Bulk Supplements #4 at $0.15/serving
- You specifically want HCl or capsule format — different niche entirely
Micronized monohydrate + 5 g per scoop + 120-serving tub + brand-level QC track record + $0.23/serving. Every box ticked at the trusted-brand tier without paying the NSF-Certified-for-Sport premium. If you're shopping for your first creatine and don't want to think hard about it, this is the tub.
Optimum Nutrition Creatine is the tub to buy if you've never bought creatine before. At $28 for 120 servings (4 months at 5 g/day), it delivers plain micronized creatine monohydrate at a fair $0.23 per 5 g scoop, from the brand that's run the same formula for 30+ years without a recall. Neither the label nor the listing says Creapure (checked Oct 6, 2026), so the source is not stated. The label prints 'Banned Substance Tested'; it is not NSF Certified for Sport. Six weeks on the protocol, here's the full breakdown.
The default creatine at the trusted-brand tier.
Optimum Nutrition Creatine is what we recommend to anyone shopping for their first creatine tub without specific opinions yet. It clears every meaningful bar: plain monohydrate is the trial-grade form, 5 g per scoop lands the trial-measured dose exactly, the 120-serving tub is honest sizing that covers a full 4-month training block, and $0.23/serving doesn't make the math hard. The lack of NSF Certified for Sport is a non-issue for 95% of buyers — Thorne charges 2× more for that certification, which is only worth it if your federation requires it. The real reason this tub earns the 'Best household brand' badge is the absence of any disqualifying flaw. Other creatine tubs have specific edges — Sports Research (#1) states Creapure, Thorne (#2) has NSF Sport, Bulk Supplements has the cheapest $/g, Transparent Labs adds HMB — but each of those wins comes with a specific trade-off. ON has no asterisk for lifters who aren't drug-tested. The monohydrate form is established, the tub is generous, the price is competitive, the brand history is 30+ years deep. Buy it.
If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These
02Thorne Creatine
The right buy for exactly one kind of person: the drug-tested athlete.
04NOW Sports Creatine Monohydrate
The household-brand pick for the buyer who values supply continuity.
01Sports Research Creapure Creatine
The highest-scoring product on the board.
Quick Answers
Does it matter that the label doesn't say Creapure?
Creapure is Alzchem's German-made creatine monohydrate and a fair quality mark when a label prints it. ON's label and listing do not (checked Oct 6, 2026), so the source is not stated. Once dissolved in the gut, any creatine monohydrate delivers the same molecule to muscle. Buy plain monohydrate at 5 g a day.
Why ON over a cheaper tub?
Optimum Nutrition has run their creatine product for 30+ years with no recalls, no formulation changes, and consistent batch QC. That's the brand-track-record floor that makes ON the safe default for first-time buyers who don't want to think hard. NOW Sports (#7) is another household-brand monohydrate and a fine alternative if ON is out of stock — but ON is the household name that ships consistently.
5 g per scoop — should I load to saturate faster?
Skip the load. Loading (20 g/day × 5-7 days) reaches saturation in a week; no-load (5 g/day continuously) reaches the same saturation in 3-4 weeks. The endpoint is identical. Loading causes more GI upset and acute water retention, and is the single biggest reason new users quit creatine — they assume the bloating is permanent. For 95% of buyers: 5 g/day every day, full stop. The 120-serving tub then lasts 4 months.
Will it mix cleanly in water, or do I need a shaker bottle?
Mixes cleanly in cold water with 10-15 seconds of stirring — the micronized particle size makes that the case. A shaker bottle dissolves it faster (3-5 seconds) but isn't required. The cleanest protocol: scoop into 200-300 ml cold water, stir or shake, drink immediately. A small amount of fine sediment may settle if it sits too long — that's normal monohydrate behavior, not a quality issue.
Take it with food, post-workout, or doesn't matter?
Once you're saturated (week 3-4), timing barely matters — total daily intake is what counts. During the saturation phase, carbs at dosing time modestly improve uptake via insulin. Practical protocol: scoop into your post-workout protein shake on training days, or stir into water with breakfast on rest days. The point is consistency — daily dosing including rest days keeps saturation steady.
Is it safe to take indefinitely?
Yes, in healthy adults. The Cooper 2012 safety review covered 30+ controlled trials and found no adverse effects on kidney function, liver enzymes, or muscle integrity at 3-5 g/day chronically. One-year continuous-use studies show the same. Serum creatinine rises modestly (a downstream metabolite of supplemented creatine, not a sign of kidney damage). There is no published evidence that cycling creatine improves outcomes — just keep taking it.
Sources & Further Reading
6 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
- [1] Kreider 2017 PMID 28615996 — International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine. ISSN position statement after reviewing 500+ studies: creatine monohydrate is the most effective form, with no evidence that alternative forms (HCl, ethyl ester, magnesium chelate) outperform it at equivalent doses. 3-5 g/day chronic dosing is safe and effective for healthy adults — the protocol Optimum Nutrition's 5 g scoop is designed around.
- [2] Buford 2007 PMID 17908288 — International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: creatine supplementation and exercise. Predecessor ISSN position statement establishing creatine monohydrate as the most extensively studied and clinically effective form. Confirms safety at 3-5 g/day chronic dosing and identifies muscle phosphocreatine saturation as the mechanism behind strength and power gains.
- [3] Cooper 2012 PMID 22817979 — Creatine supplementation with specific view to exercise/sports performance: an update. Comprehensive safety and efficacy review covering 30+ controlled trials. Established that chronic creatine supplementation at 3-5 g/day has no adverse effects on kidney function, liver enzymes, or muscle integrity in healthy adults — the safety floor underwriting the no-cycle protocol on this tub.
- [4] Volek 1997 PMID 9216554 — Creatine supplementation enhances muscular performance during high-intensity resistance exercise. Seminal RCT showing that creatine supplementation significantly increased peak power output and total work during high-intensity resistance exercise. The methodological template for the hundreds of subsequent trials that established creatine's strength + power effect.
- [5] Rae 2003 PMID 14561278 — Oral creatine monohydrate supplementation improves brain performance: a double-blind, placebo-controlled, cross-over trial. Demonstrated that creatine monohydrate supplementation improved working memory and intelligence test scores vs placebo in vegetarian subjects. Establishes the cognitive co-benefit of creatine beyond pure strength outcomes — relevant for ON buyers who eat plant-forward.
- [6] Antonio 2021 PMID 33557850 — Common questions and misconceptions about creatine supplementation: what does the scientific evidence really show?. Comprehensive myths-review covering creatine forms (HCl, ethyl ester, multi-form blends), cycling protocols, kidney safety, and water retention. Confirms that no alternative form has been shown to outperform monohydrate at equivalent doses — the evidence base for a plain monohydrate like this one.
Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.