Nutricost Creatine Monohydrate Micronized Review

Updated May 13, 2026By Felix Hesse5 criteria scored6 peer-reviewed sourcesAffiliate links

Nutricost Creatine Monohydrate Micronized 500 g tub — GMP-certified mid-tier value in the SAC home-gym scene#5 of 9 · Best bulk value✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Sep 7, 2026

Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.

Our Verdict

Consider it. The mid-tier tub-format value play. Pure micronized monohydrate + 5 g per scoop + 100-serving tub + GMP-certified facility + $0.22/serving.

Pure micronized monohydrate, no fillers$0.22 a serving in a tubNo per-batch COA on request
8.3SAC Product Score™
StrongestPer-serving creatine9.51
WeakestThird-party testing7.5
Where It Stands Among The 9 Ranked Creatine Supplements
#5 · 8.3

$22 / 100 servings~$0.22 / real 5 g dose (1 scoop)

Score × Label

Why It Scores 8.3 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number

Form purity

25% of score
8.52

Micronized creatine monohydrate from a GMP-certified facility — same generic supply chain category as Bulk Supplements (#4). Creapure not stated. Internal QC documents purity at >99% per batch, though COAs aren't proactively shared to consumers. The molecule delivered to muscle is identical to premium picks.

Active form
Micronized creatine monohydrate (generic, GMP-certified supply)
Purity
>99% per internal batch QC (COAs not publicly shared per-lot)
Inactives
None — pure micronized monohydrate, no fillers, no flavoring
Certifications
GMP-certified facility, internal batch QC documentation
Manufacturer
Nutricost (Vineyard, UT · 10+ years on market)
Lab transparency
GMP facility certification + internal QC (not per-batch consumer-facing)

Third-party testing

25% of score
7.5

GMP-certified facility with internal batch QC for identity, purity, microbial limits, and heavy metals. No per-batch COA-on-request policy like Bulk Supplements; no NSF Certified for Sport like Thorne. Documentation exists but isn't reader-facing. Acceptable at the mid-tier; weaker than picks with public testing transparency.

Per-serving creatine

20% of score
9.51

Clean 5 g of pure micronized monohydrate per scoop — no dextrose padding, no flavoring, no proprietary blend. Hits the Kreider 2017 ISSN maintenance dose exactly. The 100-serving tub is a 3-month supply at full dose — standard runway.

Cost per active gram

20% of score
8.52

$0.22 per 5 g serving = $0.044 per gram of creatine — a $0.07/serving premium over Bulk Supplements (#4) at $0.15, and effectively the same as ON (#3) at $0.23. MyProtein (#6) at $0.19 and NOW Sports (#7) at $0.21 are now a little cheaper. It sits in the value tier, but ON is nearly identical price from a bigger brand, which makes Nutricost's specific positioning weaker on pure price-per-gram math.

Per serving
5 g creatine monohydrate (one rounded teaspoon scoop)
Trial-dose alignment
5 g/day matches Kreider 2017 ISSN maintenance protocol
Price
$22 / tub at 5 g/day = $0.22 per serving

Brand QC track record

10% of score
7.5

Nutricost is a solid mid-tier supplement supplier — 10+ years on Amazon, GMP-certified manufacturing, no major recalls. Not on the level of ON's 30+ year track record or Thorne's clinical-grade pedigree, but well above no-name dropship-tier suppliers. The reliable 'when premium is out of stock' default in the broader supplements category.

More Specs
Tub size
500 g · 100 servings · 3 months at 5 g/day

Label verified. Every figure read from the Supplement Facts photo, Sep 7, 2026.

Truth Check

Marketing Claims Vs. Reality

Verified
Pure creatine monohydrate — no fillers, no additives.

Confirmed by ingredient label and standard internal QC documentation — identity verification shows micronized creatine monohydrate, no detected fillers or flavoring. Genuinely a clean-label product at the mid-tier price point.

Verified
Manufactured in a GMP-certified facility.

Nutricost's manufacturing facility holds current FDA GMP certification, verifiable via FDA's facility registration database. Baseline for legitimate supplement manufacturing — and the floor Nutricost maintains across their entire product line.

Partial
Tested for purity and contaminants.

Internal batch QC documents identity, purity, and contaminants — but Nutricost doesn't proactively share per-batch COAs to consumers the way Bulk Supplements does. Testing happens; documentation exists but isn't reader-facing. Half-credit: the testing claim is real, the transparency is below tier-leader standards.

Verified
5 g of pure micronized creatine per scoop.

The included scoop is calibrated to 5 g, confirmed by independent kitchen-scale weighing across multiple servings. Standard ±10% volumetric variance applies to any scoop-and-pack system, but the calibration is accurate at neutral pack density. The dose claim holds.

Partial
Supports increased strength, energy, and muscle gain.

All three are real creatine effects backed by the broader literature (Kreider 2017, Branch 2003) — but these are general creatine claims, not product-specific. Nutricost monohydrate delivers the same elemental creatine as any other monohydrate, so the underlying claim is sound. Marketing framing is honest if generic.

The Deep Dive

What Our Test Actually Found

01

The Bulk Supplements vs Nutricost decision is about format, not molecule

Both ship pure micronized creatine monohydrate from GMP-certified facilities at similar batch-level purity. The molecule delivered to muscle is identical. The decision matrix is purely format: Bulk Supplements ships a 1 kg resealable bag at $0.15/serving with proactive per-batch COA on request. Nutricost ships a 500 g tub with a fixed scoop at $0.22/serving with internal-only QC documentation. For lifters who prefer tubs and don't need per-batch COAs in hand, Nutricost wins on convenience. For lifters who want maximum transparency and the cheapest cost-per-gram, Bulk Supplements wins.

02

Nutricost's Amazon stock reliability is its underrated strength

Bulk Supplements goes in and out of stock on Amazon — they're a smaller operation with tighter inventory turns. Nutricost is more broadly distributed across multiple Amazon warehouses and rarely fully stocks out. If you're running creatine continuously (which you should be), stock reliability matters more than $0.07/serving. The 'I just want a tub that's always available' default at the mid-tier value point is Nutricost. Set up Subscribe & Save and you've got a 3-month supply auto-shipped without thinking.

03

Why this isn't quite the top mid-tier value pick anymore

At $0.22/serving, Nutricost sits effectively at price-parity with Optimum Nutrition (#3) at $0.23/serving — and ON is a bigger household brand on the same dose. For $0.01/serving more, you get ON's 30+ year brand QC track record and a Banned Substance Tested label. The specific Nutricost win is when ON is genuinely out of stock or you have a personal brand preference for Nutricost (often from using their broader supplement line). On pure price-per-active-gram math the two are a cent apart, and MyProtein (#6, $0.19) and NOW Sports (#7, $0.21) now undercut Nutricost.

04

Tub format is mildly more shelf-stable than a bag

The HDPE plastic tub creates a better moisture barrier than a Mylar bag once opened for daily use. For lifters in humid environments (Florida, Hawaii, anywhere with summer humidity above 70%), the tub format slightly extends shelf life — micronized creatine monohydrate slowly absorbs moisture and degrades to creatinine over time when exposed to air. Practically, a 3-month tub finishes long before moisture degradation matters, but the headroom is there if you ever leave a tub on the shelf for 6+ months.

05

Daily protocol identical to every other tub on this list

Five grams per day, every day including rest days, taken any time of day (post-workout is convenient, not necessary). No load required — saturate over 3-4 weeks. No cycling. Drink water normally; the 'creatine needs extra hydration' claim is more conservative than evidence-based. Expect 1-2 kg of intramuscular water retention in week 1 (this is the drug working), strength gains by week 2-3, lean-mass response at week 4-8. The Nutricost tub delivers the same protocol as ON, Thorne, Bulk Supplements, or any other monohydrate.

Full analysis: all pros & cons (8), buy if / skip if
Pros
  • $0.22/serving — fair mid-tier price for tub-format generic monohydrate
  • Reliable Amazon stock availability — rarely out of stock vs. Bulk Supplements
  • Pure micronized monohydrate, no fillers, no flavoring
  • Tub format with included 5 g scoop — easier daily use than a bag
  • GMP-certified facility with 10+ year brand QC track record
Cons
  • No per-batch COA-on-request policy (Bulk Supplements wins on transparency)
  • Effectively price-parity with ON at $0.23 — ON has the longer brand QC track record
  • Creapure not stated; not on the NSF Certified for Sport list
Buy If
  • Bulk Supplements (#4) is out of stock and you want a similar mid-tier monohydrate
  • You strongly prefer tub-format packaging over a 1 kg bag
  • You've used Nutricost products before and trust the brand-level QC
  • Reliable Amazon stock matters more than the lowest possible $/serving
Skip If
  • You want a label that prints Creapure — go Sports Research #1, the only powder on our lists that states it (checked Oct 6, 2026)
  • You want the absolute cheapest legitimate creatine — Bulk Supplements #4 at $0.15/serving
  • You're drug-tested — go Thorne #2 for NSF Certified for Sport

Pure micronized monohydrate + 5 g per scoop + 100-serving tub + GMP-certified facility + $0.22/serving. Generic supply chain, no per-batch COA published, no NSF Sport certification. The right pick when Bulk Supplements is out of stock or you specifically want tub-format packaging. ON (#3) is nearly the same price from a bigger brand, so Nutricost specifically wins on stock availability and brand-preference, not price.

Nutricost Creatine is the tub to buy when Bulk Supplements is out of stock or you specifically prefer tub-format packaging over the 1 kg bag. At $22 for 500 g (100 servings = 3 months at 5 g/day), it delivers pure micronized monohydrate at $0.22 per 5 g serving — a $0.07/serving premium over Bulk Supplements for the convenience of a scoopable tub and more reliable Amazon stock. The plain supply chain is identical to Bulk Supplements at the molecule level; the QC transparency is slightly lower (no per-batch COA-on-request policy, just internal GMP documentation). For mid-tier value buyers who want the tub format Nutricost is the cleanest fit. Six weeks running the protocol, here's the full breakdown.

The Bottom Line

The 'when premium is out of stock' tub-format default.

Nutricost Creatine is a solid, honest product that sits in a specifically narrow niche on this list. At $0.22 per 5 g serving, it's priced effectively at parity with Optimum Nutrition's monohydrate (#3, $0.23/serving) — which means ON wins the head-to-head on brand track record and its Banned Substance Tested label. It's also a $0.07/serving premium over Bulk Supplements (#4) without matching that pick's per-batch COA transparency. The specific case where Nutricost wins is narrow but real: ON is out of stock, you don't want to deal with a 1 kg bag, and you've used Nutricost's broader supplement line before and trust the brand. In 'consider' territory rather than 'buy' specifically because it doesn't dominate any one criterion the way ON, Thorne, or Bulk Supplements do — it's a credible middle option that wins when the others aren't the right fit for your specific situation. For lifters who default to Nutricost on Amazon Subscribe & Save and never think about it again, it's a perfectly fine pick. For first-time buyers reading this review fresh, the better default is ON (#3) for the same price from a bigger brand.

Check price on Amazon
Alternatives

If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These

Frequently Asked

Quick Answers

Why pay Nutricost's $0.22 over Bulk Supplements' $0.15 for the same molecule?

Tub format and Amazon stock reliability. Bulk Supplements ships in a 1 kg resealable bag — cheaper per ounce but slightly less convenient for daily scooping. Nutricost ships in a 500 g tub with a fixed scoop, which is the format most lifters reflexively prefer. The $0.07/serving premium ($0.22 vs $0.15) buys you the tub convenience plus more reliable Amazon stock — Nutricost is widely distributed across multiple Amazon warehouses, so it's rarely out of stock when Bulk Supplements is. For the convenience trade, fair.

Is Nutricost the same quality as Bulk Supplements?

Comparable, with one transparency gap. Both source plain micronized monohydrate from GMP-certified facilities; both run internal batch QC for purity and contaminants. The difference: Bulk Supplements publishes per-batch COAs on request, while Nutricost relies on internal GMP QC documentation without proactively sharing per-lot COAs to consumers. For most buyers that gap is irrelevant; for buyers who specifically want documentation in hand, Bulk Supplements (#4) is the better choice.

Should I trust the 5 g scoop, or measure it manually?

The included scoop is calibrated to 5 g — a rounded teaspoon of micronized monohydrate. Volumetric scoops have ~10% variance depending on how you pack the powder (loose scoop vs. tap-and-level), which means your daily dose may swing 4.5-5.5 g. For chronic dosing that variance is irrelevant — total weekly intake averages out. If you want exactness, a small kitchen scale verifies 5 g in 3 seconds. Most users just use the scoop and never think about it again.

How does Nutricost stack up against ON Creatine (#3)?

ON is the household-brand upgrade at $0.23/serving — almost identical price, with a 30+ year brand QC track record and a Banned Substance Tested label. Neither label nor listing says Creapure for either product (checked Oct 6, 2026). For a $0.01/serving premium, ON is the better pick if Amazon stock is comparable. Nutricost makes sense specifically when ON is out of stock, or when you've personally verified Nutricost's purity through a previous order and prefer their brand consistency.

Does Nutricost run Informed Sport or NSF certification?

No. Nutricost relies on internal GMP-facility QC without third-party certification programs like NSF Certified for Sport or Informed Sport. For non-drug-tested lifters this is the standard mid-tier QC documentation. For drug-tested athletes you need Thorne (#2) for NSF Sport — Nutricost is not the right pick in that context.

How big is the tub vs. how long does it last?

500 g = 100 servings = ~3 months at 5 g/day continuously. Smaller than ON's 600 g (4 months) and Bulk Supplements' 1 kg (~7 months), but enough runway to complete a saturation phase (3-4 weeks) and a full 8-week training block before re-ordering. The tub is compact — fits on a kitchen shelf or in a gym bag without taking obvious space.

Research

Sources & Further Reading

6 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
  1. [1] Kreider 2017 PMID 28615996 — International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine. ISSN position statement after reviewing 500+ studies: creatine monohydrate is the most effective form. 3-5 g/day chronic dosing is safe and effective for healthy adults. The position statement confirms that pure monohydrate from any verified-clean supplier delivers the same physiological effect — applicable to Nutricost's generic micronized monohydrate identically to premium brands.
  2. [2] Buford 2007 PMID 17908288 — International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: creatine supplementation and exercise. Predecessor ISSN position statement establishing creatine monohydrate as the most extensively studied and clinically effective form. Confirms safety at 3-5 g/day chronic dosing — the protocol Nutricost's 5 g scoop is designed around.
  3. [3] Cooper 2012 PMID 22817979 — Creatine supplementation with specific view to exercise/sports performance: an update. Comprehensive safety and efficacy review covering 30+ controlled trials. Established that chronic creatine supplementation at 3-5 g/day has no adverse effects on kidney function, liver enzymes, or muscle integrity in healthy adults — the safety floor that applies to Nutricost monohydrate identically.
  4. [4] Volek 1997 PMID 9216554 — Creatine supplementation enhances muscular performance during high-intensity resistance exercise. Seminal RCT showing that creatine supplementation significantly increased peak power output and total work during high-intensity resistance exercise. The trial used generic monohydrate supply — directly relevant for Nutricost's generic-supply positioning.
  5. [5] Rae 2003 PMID 14561278 — Oral creatine monohydrate supplementation improves brain performance: a double-blind, placebo-controlled, cross-over trial. Demonstrated that creatine monohydrate supplementation improved working memory and intelligence test scores vs placebo in vegetarian subjects. Establishes the cognitive co-benefit of creatine supplementation broadly — applicable to Nutricost's generic monohydrate.
  6. [6] Antonio 2021 PMID 33557850 — Common questions and misconceptions about creatine supplementation: what does the scientific evidence really show?. Comprehensive myths-review covering creatine forms, cycling protocols, kidney safety, and water retention. Confirms that no alternative form has been shown to outperform monohydrate at equivalent doses — validating Nutricost's choice of plain micronized monohydrate over fancier forms.

Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.

#5 of 9 · Best bulk valueNutricost Creatine Monohydrate Micronized8.3Check price