NOW Sports Micronized Creatine Monohydrate Review
#4 of 9 · Household-brand pick✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Sep 7, 2026Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.
Buy it. The household-brand pick you can also buy in-store. Plain micronized monohydrate + NOW's 30-year in-house lab QC + kosher, non-GMO and vegan marks on the label + $0.04/gram of creatine ($0.18 per the label's 4.2 g serving, $0.21 per 5 g).
$21 / 500 g (about 119 servings of 4.2 g)~$0.21 / real 5 g dose (label serving is about 4.2 g)
Why It Scores 8.4 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number
Form purity
25% of scoreThe label reads Micronized Creatine Monohydrate and lists no other ingredients. Neither the label nor the listing says Creapure (checked Oct 6, 2026), so the source is not stated. Scores the same as Optimum Nutrition and Thorne, which also do not state a source.
- Active form
- Micronized creatine monohydrate (source not stated; Creapure is not on the label or listing)
- Inactives
- None — pure micronized monohydrate, no fillers, no flavoring
- Certifications
- Label marks: Vegan · Kosher · Non-GMO · GMP Quality Assured. No Informed Sport seal on the label; not on the NSF Certified for Sport list
- Manufacturer
- NOW Foods (Bloomingdale, IL — family-owned, 30+ years)
- Lab transparency
- NOW in-house lab QC (brand statement)
Third-party testing
25% of scoreNOW's own in-house QC is the only quality control we can point to. The label carries Vegan, Kosher, Non-GMO and GMP Quality Assured marks but no Informed Sport seal, the listing does not mention Informed Sport, and the product is not on the NSF Certified for Sport list (checked Oct 6, 2026). Loses to Thorne's NSF Certified for Sport and to ON's Banned Substance Tested label. Kosher certification adds a free auditing layer — the rabbinical inspector signs off on supply chain and cleaning between runs.
Per-serving creatine
20% of score4.2 g of creatine monohydrate per label serving (1.5 level teaspoons) — inside the ISSN's 3-5 g/day maintenance range, just under the round 5 g many trial protocols and competitor scoops use, with no fillers, no dextrose padding, no proprietary blend nonsense. The 500 g tub delivers 119 servings (~4-month supply at the label dose), fully disclosed with no rounding games. Honest, if slightly smaller than the trial-standard 5 g, serving size in a market full of inflated 'per scoop' claims.
Cost per active gram
20% of scoreAbout $21 for 500 g (typical Amazon price, checked Oct 6, 2026) is $0.04 per gram of creatine. The label serving is 4.2 g (about 119 servings a tub), which works out to $0.18 a scoop, or $0.21 per 5 g. That is a little below Nutricost and Optimum Nutrition ($0.22 to $0.23 per 5 g) and above MyProtein ($0.19) and Bulk Supplements ($0.15).
- Per serving
- 4.2 g Creatine Monohydrate per serving (1.5 level teaspoons — per the Supplement Facts panel)
- Trial-dose alignment
- 4.2 g/day (label serving) sits inside the Kreider 2017 ISSN's 3-5 g/day maintenance range, just under the round 5 g many trial protocols use
- Price
- About $21 for 500 g (typical Amazon price, checked Oct 6, 2026) = $0.18 per 4.2 g label serving, $0.04 per gram, about $5.30 a month at one scoop a day
Brand QC track record
10% of scoreNOW Foods has 30+ years of in-house lab operations and a documented history of voluntary product recalls when their own QC flagged issues — a real signal that the testing has teeth. Founder-owned (Elwood Richard, 1968), family-run, US-manufactured at Bloomingdale IL. The brand-discipline ceiling beats every generic-monohydrate brand on the list and matches Thorne and Optimum Nutrition at the household-tier level.
- More Specs
- Tub size
- 500 g — 119 servings per the label, ~4-month supply at one scoop (4.2 g) a day
Label verified. Every figure read from the Supplement Facts photo, Sep 7, 2026.
Marketing Claims Vs. Reality
Pure micronized creatine monohydrate.
The label front reads Pure Powder and the Supplement Facts panel lists creatine monohydrate as the only ingredient (4.2 g per 1.5 level teaspoons). Neither the label nor the listing says Creapure (checked Oct 6, 2026), so we do not credit a specific source.
Supports increased muscle strength, athletic performance, and recovery.
All three are established creatine effects from the Kreider 2017 ISSN position statement covering 500+ trials. At 5 g/day chronic dosing, the effect on 1RM strength (+8% vs placebo), lean mass (+1.2 kg vs placebo over 4-12 weeks per Branch 2003), and recovery between high-intensity sets is well-documented across the literature.
Easy mixing — micronized for faster dissolution.
Micronization (smaller particle size via mechanical milling) genuinely improves solubility — the powder dissolves in water within 30 seconds with stirring, vs 90+ seconds for non-micronized supply. Doesn't change absorption or efficacy; does improve user experience and reduce 'chalk at the bottom of the glass' complaints.
Kosher, non-GMO, vegan.
All three marks are printed on the label, along with GMP Quality Assured. We did not check the certifiers' databases. Standard at this tier.
Informed Sport on selected batches.
The label carries no Informed Sport seal and the Amazon listing does not mention Informed Sport (checked Oct 6, 2026), so we do not credit this product with it. NOW is not on the NSF Certified for Sport list either. Federation-tested athletes should go Thorne Creatine, which is on that list.
What Our Test Actually Found
Correction, Oct 6, 2026: price was $25, typical price is about $21, score 8.2 to 8.4
An earlier version of this review quoted $25 for the 500 g tub. The typical Amazon price on Oct 6, 2026 was about $21, which is $0.18 per 4.2 g label serving, $0.21 per 5 g and $0.04 per gram of creatine. Cost per active gram moved from 7.5 to 8.5 and the score from 8.2 to 8.4. NOW is now slightly cheaper than Optimum Nutrition per 5 g, not dearer.
Correction, Oct 6, 2026: Creapure and Informed Sport claims removed, score 8.6 to 8.2
An earlier version of this review called NOW Sports creatine Creapure-licensed, 99.95% pure, and said it carries Informed Sport testing on selected batches. Neither the label nor the Amazon listing says Creapure, the label carries no Informed Sport seal, and the listing does not mention it. The label marks are Vegan, Kosher, Non-GMO and GMP Quality Assured. Form purity moved from 9.5 to 8.5, testing from 8.0 to 7.5 (the brand's in-house QC only), and the score from 8.6 to 8.2 (now #6).
Correction: the label lists a 4.2 g serving, not 5 g
An earlier version of this review said NOW Sports' scoop was a flat 5 g creatine monohydrate serving (1 rounded teaspoon) with 100 servings per 500 g tub. The Supplement Facts panel actually shows a 1.5-level-teaspoon serving of 4.2 g Creatine Monohydrate, with 119 servings per container. We re-read the label on Sep 7, 2026 and corrected the serving size, servings-per-tub count, cost-per-serving, and supply-duration figures throughout this review. The price was corrected again on Oct 6, 2026 (see the first note above).
NOW Sports is the pick optimized for offline backup, not Amazon price
Neither the label nor the listing for NOW, ON or Thorne says Creapure (checked Oct 6, 2026), so the source of each is not stated; only Sports Research (#1) states it. The differentiator isn't a proven difference in the molecule; it's the brand-level QC and distribution footprint on top of it. NOW Sports is the pick that maximizes 'I can also grab one off the shelf at Sprouts when Amazon is out' — every US health store carries it. For lifters who need supply continuity above all else (a meet prep, a strict program, a brand-loyalty preference), NOW costs a little less than Optimum Nutrition per gram, so the offline-availability insurance comes at no premium.
The kosher certification is a free QC signal — not a religious feature
Most users skim past 'kosher' on the label assuming it's a niche dietary check. It's actually a useful QC proxy: kosher certification requires a rabbinical inspector to audit the facility, the supply chain, and the cleaning protocols between production runs. It's not a substitute for NSF Certified for Sport (banned-substance testing), but it does mean the facility has external third-party auditing baked into operations beyond the GMP-level federal requirement. For drug-tested athletes, this still doesn't replace NSF. For everyone else, it's free QC layering you don't pay extra for.
Skip the load — same protocol applies to every creatine tub
NOW Sports' label suggests an optional 5-day loading protocol at 20 g/day. The Kreider 2017 ISSN position statement covers this: loading reaches saturation in 5-7 days, no-loading reaches the same saturation in 3-4 weeks at 5 g/day. Same endpoint, slower onset, less GI upset, less acute water-retention scare. For 95% of users running this tub: the label's 4.2 g/day serving, every day, including rest days, indefinitely. The loading phase exists for athletes with a 2-week ramp window before a meet — not for the average lifter.
Why the ~4-month tub is the right cadence for the household-tier buyer
NOW's 500 g tub delivers 119 servings at the label's 4.2 g/day serving — just under a 4-month supply, comfortably covering the standard creatine experiment window from the literature with weeks to spare. The Chilibeck 2017 meta-analysis found significant lean-mass and strength effects at 12-week supplementation; the Branch 2003 meta covered 4-12 week trials and saw the +1.2 kg lean-mass effect-size land in that range. One NOW tub outlasts a full trial-window cycle. By the time you re-order, you have empirical PR data, scale data, and a clear yes/no on whether creatine is worth the next few months for you specifically.
Best stacked with whey protein + a clean pre-workout
Creatine is one of three supplements with reproducible strength/lean-mass effect-sizes — the other two are whey protein at 25-40 g post-workout and caffeine (the working pre-workout ingredient under the marketing). Stack NOW Sports Creatine (the label's 4.2 g/day, anytime) + a clean whey concentrate (Optimum Gold Standard or Bulk Supplements) + 200-400 mg caffeine 30-45 min pre-training. Roughly $50-60/month total at the household tier, covers the three highest-leverage performance supplements with the most published evidence behind them.
Full analysis: all pros & cons (8), buy if / skip if
- Plain micronized creatine monohydrate — one ingredient on the label
- NOW's 30+ year in-house QC track record + voluntary recall discipline
- Kosher + non-GMO + vegan marks on the label, layered as free QC signals
- Available offline at most US health stores — supply-continuity backup
- Honest serving size: 4.2 g per scoop (1.5 level teaspoons), no fillers, no flavoring, no proprietary blend
- About $0.21 per 5 g: dearer per serving than MyProtein ($0.19) and Bulk Supplements ($0.15) for plain monohydrate
- No sport-certification seal on the label and not on the NSF Certified for Sport list — federation athletes need Thorne
- 500 g tub is smaller than Optimum Nutrition's 600 g at a comparable price
- You want plain monohydrate from a brand with 30+ years of QC discipline
- Offline availability matters — you shop at Sprouts, Whole Foods, Vitamin Shoppe
- Kosher certification or non-GMO matters for your dietary alignment
- You're a recreational lifter and don't need a sport-certification seal
- You're drug-tested in federation sport — go Thorne (NSF Certified for Sport, pick #2)
- You want a label that prints Creapure — go Sports Research (pick #1), the only powder on our lists that states it
- Budget is genuinely tight — go Bulk Supplements (pick #4) at $0.15/serving
Plain micronized monohydrate + NOW's 30-year in-house lab QC + kosher, non-GMO and vegan marks on the label + $0.04/gram of creatine ($0.18 per the label's 4.2 g serving, $0.21 per 5 g). Slightly cheaper than Optimum Nutrition per gram, with extra QC layering and offline-shelf availability layered on top. The pick for buyers who want a trusted household brand they can also grab in-store without thinking hard.
NOW Sports Creatine Monohydrate is the household-brand pick — plain micronized monohydrate wrapped in NOW's 30-year QC track record, kosher certification, and a distribution footprint that reaches every Whole Foods, Sprouts, and Vitamin Shoppe in the US. At about $21 for 119 servings ($0.18 per 4.2 g scoop, $0.04/gram of creatine), it lands a little below Optimum Nutrition per 5 g ($0.21 vs $0.23) and well below the NSF-tier brands. Neither the label nor the listing says Creapure, and the label carries no Informed Sport seal (checked Oct 6, 2026). The honest pitch: you get in-house lab QC layering, kosher cert as a free auditing signal, and the offline-availability backup that matters when your primary brand is out of stock, at a slightly lower price than ON. Six weeks running the tub, here's the full breakdown.
The household-brand pick when offline availability matters.
NOW Sports Creatine is the pick for the buyer who wants plain monohydrate from a household brand with three decades of in-house QC discipline, kosher certification as a free auditing signal, and the offline-distribution footprint that means your supply doesn't depend on a single Amazon listing. At $0.04/gram of creatine (the label's real serving is 4.2 g, working out to about $0.18 a scoop, or $0.21 per 5 g) it lands a little below Optimum Nutrition's rate of $0.23 per 5 g, so the QC layering and supply continuity come at no premium. The honest pitch: if you're optimizing purely on $/gram from a household brand, NOW now edges out ON by a few cents per 5 g. If you want a brand you can also walk into Sprouts or Vitamin Shoppe and grab without thinking, NOW is the answer. If you're drug-tested in federation sport, Thorne with NSF Certified for Sport is the cleaner pick at the $0.50/serving premium. NOW Sports sits exactly where it should in the listicle: a solid household-brand pick that is a hair cheaper than ON, loses to Thorne on certification by a bigger margin, but wins on the specific 'recognizable brand with offline shelf presence' axis that matters to a meaningful slice of buyers.
If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These
03Optimum Nutrition Micronized Creatine
This is the creatine to buy if you've never bought creatine before, and the one most experienced lifters quietly come back to.
02Thorne Creatine
The right buy for exactly one kind of person: the drug-tested athlete.
01Sports Research Creapure Creatine
The highest-scoring product on the board.
Quick Answers
Is NOW Sports' creatine the same as Optimum Nutrition's?
Both list plain creatine monohydrate, and neither the label nor the listing for either says Creapure (checked Oct 6, 2026), so the source of each is not stated. Where the two brands differ is on serving and packaging size (NOW's label serving is 4.2 g in a 500 g tub, ON's is 5 g in a 600 g tub) and brand-level QC: NOW runs in-house QC, while ON's label prints Banned Substance Tested. For 95% of buyers there's no functional difference between the two; for the remaining 5%, the brand-loyalty preference (kosher cert, US health-store availability, founder-owned brand) is the tiebreaker.
How does NOW Sports' QC compare to a budget micronized monohydrate?
One real difference: NOW's 30+ year operating history with in-house testing labs — they've recalled and reformulated their own products when QC flagged issues, which signals real testing discipline. The label carries Vegan, Kosher, Non-GMO and GMP Quality Assured marks, but we could not confirm a sport certification for this product (checked Oct 6, 2026). A generic micronized monohydrate like Bulk Supplements is the same molecule by molecular formula.
Is NOW Sports cheaper than Optimum Nutrition per gram?
Slightly, yes. NOW's label serving is 4.2 g per scoop — 119 servings per tub, about $0.18 each, or $0.04 per gram of creatine (about $21 for 500 g, typical Amazon price, checked Oct 6, 2026). That is $0.21 per 5 g against ON's $0.23. The gap is small, and ON's tub is larger (600 g vs 500 g). Both are household-brand mid-tier picks, so pick on availability and trust signal, not price within this tier.
Is the kosher certification meaningful for performance?
Not for performance — but it's a useful proxy signal for QC discipline. Kosher certification requires a rabbinical inspector to audit the facility, the supply chain, and the cleaning protocols between production runs. It's not a substitute for NSF Certified for Sport (banned-substance testing), but it does indicate the facility has external auditing baked into operations. For drug-tested athletes, Thorne with NSF Certified for Sport remains the cleaner pick; for everyone else, kosher certification is a 'free' QC signal layered on top of GMP.
Should I get the powder or the capsules?
Powder, every time. The capsule form forces you to swallow 6-8 capsules per 5 g serving — a worse user experience and a 15-25% price premium for the encapsulation overhead. NOW's micronized powder mixes cleanly in water (the 'micronized' particle size is the whole point), has no off-flavor, and the 119-serving tub at the label's 4.2 g/scoop is a solid 4 months of compliance-friendly dosing. The only honest reason to pick capsules is travel convenience — for daily home use, the powder wins on every axis.
Where does NOW Sports lose to the top picks?
Two places. First, the tub is 500 g vs ON's 600 g, so it lasts a month less at the same daily dose. Second, NOW is not on the NSF Certified for Sport list and its label carries no Informed Sport seal (checked Oct 6, 2026), so federation-tested athletes should pick Thorne (#2) for banned-substance certification. For recreational lifters, neither gap is disqualifying. On price, NOW is now a little cheaper than ON ($0.21 vs $0.23 per 5 g).
Sources & Further Reading
5 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
- [1] Kreider 2017 PMID 28615996 — International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine. ISSN position statement covering 500+ studies — monohydrate is the most effective form, with no evidence that alternative forms outperform it at equivalent doses. 3-5 g/day chronic dosing is safe and effective for healthy adults.
- [2] Buford 2007 PMID 17908288 — International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: creatine supplementation and exercise. Earlier ISSN position statement establishing the 3-5 g/day maintenance protocol as effective and safe. The foundation document underlying the modern creatine protocol.
- [3] Cooper 2012 PMID 22817979 — Creatine supplementation with specific view to exercise/sports performance: an update. Safety + efficacy review covering 30+ controlled trials. Established that chronic creatine at 3-5 g/day has no adverse effects on kidney function, liver enzymes, or muscle integrity in healthy adults.
- [4] Volek 1997 PMID 9216554 — Creatine supplementation enhances muscular performance during high-intensity resistance exercise. Foundational RCT showing creatine monohydrate at 5 g/day improves bench press 1RM and total work during high-intensity resistance exercise — the source trial for the strength-effect claim.
- [5] Rae 2003 PMID 14561278 — Oral creatine monohydrate supplementation improves brain performance: a double-blind, placebo-controlled, cross-controlled trial. Creatine monohydrate at 5 g/day improved working memory and intelligence test performance in vegetarians — establishing the secondary cognition effect beyond the strength application.
Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.