Jarrow Formulas Glutathione Reduced Review

Updated Jun 6, 2026By Felix Hesse5 criteria scored3 peer-reviewed sourcesAffiliate links

Jarrow Formulas Glutathione Reduced 500 mg, 60 veggie capsules — front of bottle#4 of 10 · Best budget reduced✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Sep 7, 2026

Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.

Our Verdict

Buy it. The honest cheap entry — full 500 mg of clean reduced GSH at the lowest sticker price. A full 500 mg of vegan, single-ingredient reduced glutathione from a trusted brand at the lowest sticker price (~$14) on the list — the cheapest credible way to test whether plain-form glutathione does anything for you.

500 mg reduced glutathione for about $14Vegan, soy- and gelatin-freeNot a named Setria source
8.0SAC Product Score™
StrongestDose vs studied range9.51
WeakestTesting & label transparency6.5
Where It Stands Among The 10 Ranked Glutathione Supplements
#4 · 8.0

$14 / 60 veggie caps (~2-month supply at 1/day)≈ $0.23 / 500 mg capsule

Score × Label

Why It Scores 8.0 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number

Form & absorption strategy

30% of score
7.0

Plain reduced glutathione — the form with the most-debated oral absorption (Witschi 1992, Allen 2011 negative; Richie 2015 positive over 6 months) — and, unlike Healthy Origins, NOT a named branded source. Sits a notch below the named-Setria capsule on the form axis and well below the liposomals/S-acetyl that exist to solve absorption.

Active form
Reduced (non-oxidized) L-glutathione

Dose vs studied range

25% of score
9.51

A full 500 mg per capsule, squarely inside the 250-1000 mg/day range Richie 2015 used to raise body stores. No under-dosing — on dose alone it matches the best plain-form picks. This is where the budget capsule earns most of its score.

Per serving
500 mg (1 capsule)
Studied-dose alignment
Squarely in the 250-1000 mg/day Richie 2015 range

Testing & label transparency

20% of score
6.5

Jarrow is a long-trusted brand and the product is non-GMO, vegan, gluten-free and single-ingredient — but it carries NO named branded glutathione source (the brand page doesn't claim Setria) and no NSF/USP seal, so there's less to independently verify than with the Setria picks. Honest, clean, but lower on verifiable provenance.

Source
Generic reduced GSH — brand page does NOT state Setria

Value per day

15% of score
9.02

At ~$0.23 per 500 mg capsule it's the lowest STICKER price on the list and excellent per-day value, undercut on cost-per-serving only by the 240-count bulk Nutricost. The cheapest low-commitment way to run a real plain-form dose.

Count
60 veggie capsules (~2-month supply at 1/day)
Price
$14 / 60 caps ≈ $0.23 per 500 mg capsule (lowest sticker on the list)

Real-world fit

10% of score
9.01

One vegan capsule a day, single-ingredient, no timing demands — easy to take consistently over the months repletion requires, and vegan/soy-free where the softgel liposomals aren't. The only drag is carrying the plain-form absorption caveat into daily use.

More Specs
Absorption note
Plain reduced form — oral absorption genuinely debated
Free-from
Non-GMO, vegan, gluten-free, single-ingredient

Label verified. Every figure read from the Supplement Facts photo, Sep 7, 2026.

Truth Check

Marketing Claims Vs. Reality

Verified
500 mg of reduced (non-oxidized) L-glutathione per capsule.

The full 500 mg reduced-GSH dose is as stated and sits squarely in the 250-1000 mg/day range Richie 2015 used. Reduced (non-oxidized) is indeed the active form of glutathione — accurate on both dose and form.

Verified
Vegan, non-GMO, and gluten-free.

Jarrow states non-GMO, vegan, and gluten-free in a vegetarian capsule — a genuine, verifiable advantage over the gelatin/soy softgel liposomals for buyers with those requirements.

Not verified
Oral glutathione raises your glutathione levels.

Not reliably or quickly. Witschi 1992 saw no plasma rise after a single dose; Allen 2011 saw no biomarker change over 4 weeks; only Richie 2015 showed body stores rising, over six months. 'Raises your levels' is unverified as a fast or guaranteed effect — slow repletion appears possible but isn't a sure thing.

Partial
Supports antioxidant defenses, immune health, and detoxification.

Glutathione's antioxidant, immune, and phase-II detox roles are established biology, so the support rationale is sound IF the oral dose reaches your cells — which for plain reduced GSH is the debated step. Honest as biology, conditional as a supplement claim.

Partial
Premium-quality glutathione from a trusted brand.

Jarrow is a long-established, trusted brand and the product is clean and single-ingredient — fair grounds for 'quality.' But 'premium' is qualified by the absence of a named branded source (no Setria claim) and any third-party seal, so it's solid mainstream quality rather than a verifiably premium-source product.

The Deep Dive

What Our Test Actually Found

01

The honest pitch: cheapest credible way to test plain-form glutathione

The strongest case for Jarrow is experimental economics. Plain oral glutathione's absorption is debated, so before anyone spends $40-55 on a named-source or liposomal product, it's reasonable to test whether plain-form GSH does anything noticeable for them — and at ~$14 for a full 500 mg, this is the cheapest credible way to run that test. If you respond, you can decide whether to upgrade to a named source or a liposomal; if you don't, you've spent very little finding out.

02

We make no Setria claim — and that's the trade-off you're paying for

Jarrow's own product page doesn't state Setria, so neither do we. That single fact is the difference between this and the #9 pick: Healthy Origins' listing names the Setria material (we could not verify it against a panel); Jarrow carries clean generic reduced glutathione. You save real money here, and you give up branded provenance. Neither is dishonest — it's a transparent price-versus-source decision, and we'd rather flag it plainly than imply a named source that the brand itself doesn't claim.

03

Same absorption caveat as every plain capsule — judge it over months

Being the budget pick doesn't exempt it from the form debate: this is plain reduced glutathione, the version Witschi 1992 and Allen 2011 found little-to-nothing from short-term, and that Richie 2015 found raised body stores only over six months. So set expectations accordingly — a slow, cumulative repletion play, judged at the multi-month mark. If that uncertainty is unacceptable to you, the liposomal (#1, #2) and S-acetyl (#3) forms are the hedge, at higher cost.

04

Vegan and soy-free where the liposomals aren't

A quiet advantage worth naming: Jarrow is vegan, non-GMO, gluten-free, and single-ingredient, with no soy lecithin or gelatin — unlike the softgel liposomals, which are neither vegan nor soy-free. So for a buyer with those dietary requirements, the plain reduced capsules (this and Healthy Origins #9) are effectively the only tier available, and Jarrow is the cheapest way into it. You accept the plain-form absorption caveat as the price of the cleaner, animal-free formulation.

Full analysis: all pros & cons (7), buy if / skip if
Pros
  • Full 500 mg of clean reduced glutathione at the lowest sticker price on the list (~$14)
  • Vegan, non-GMO, gluten-free, single-ingredient — soy- and gelatin-free unlike the liposomals
  • Long-trusted brand; the cheapest credible way to test whether plain-form GSH works for you
  • One capsule a day, easy to sustain over a months-long protocol
Cons
  • NOT labelled Setria or any named branded source (the brand's own page doesn't claim it)
  • Plain reduced form — the most-debated oral absorption of any form here (Witschi 1992, Allen 2011)
  • No third-party (NSF/USP) seal; beaten on cost-per-serving by the bulk Nutricost (#7)
Buy If
  • You want to try a full 500 mg of plain reduced glutathione at the lowest possible up-front cost
  • You want a vegan, non-GMO, gluten-free capsule from a long-trusted brand
  • You're comfortable judging a slow-repletion supplement over months
  • You don't need a named branded source and just want clean reduced GSH
Skip If
  • You want a named source — that's the Setria pick, Healthy Origins (#9), though its Supplement Facts panel could not be verified
  • The plain-form absorption debate bothers you — go liposomal (#1, #2) or S-acetyl (#3)
  • You want the lowest cost-per-serving for the long haul — the 240-count Nutricost (#7) wins on that; or weigh NAC

A full 500 mg of vegan, single-ingredient reduced glutathione from a trusted brand at the lowest sticker price (~$14) on the list — the cheapest credible way to test whether plain-form glutathione does anything for you. The honest trade-offs: it's NOT labelled Setria (no named source), and plain reduced GSH has the most-debated oral absorption (Witschi 1992, Allen 2011 negative; Richie 2015 positive only over 6 months). Buy it as a low-cost experiment or budget staple; see Healthy Origins (#9) for a named source, go liposomal (#1, #2) to hedge absorption, or weigh NAC for the cheapest route to raising glutathione status.

Jarrow Formulas Glutathione Reduced is the honest budget pick: a full 500 mg of clean reduced glutathione, vegan and single-ingredient, from a brand people already trust, at the lowest sticker price on the list. For the buyer who wants to run a real plain-form glutathione experiment without spending much, it's the rational starting point. Two things we will not dress up. First, source: Jarrow's own product page does not claim Setria, so we don't either — you're buying clean generic reduced GSH, not the named branded material Healthy Origins (#9) carries. Second, form: this is plain reduced glutathione, the version with the most-debated oral absorption (Witschi 1992 and Allen 2011 negative short-term; Richie 2015 positive only over six months). Both are real trade-offs, and both are exactly why this is a budget pick rather than the overall winner. Here's the full breakdown.

The Bottom Line

The honest budget glutathione — buy it to test the plain form cheaply, with eyes open.

Jarrow Formulas Glutathione Reduced is the pick for the cost-conscious buyer who wants to run a real plain-form glutathione protocol — or simply test whether it does anything for them — without spending much. A full 500 mg of clean, vegan, single-ingredient reduced GSH from a trusted brand at the lowest sticker price on the list is a genuinely sensible, honest budget choice. We rank it at #4 for two transparent reasons, not because it's poorly made. It carries no named branded source — Jarrow's own page doesn't claim Setria, so neither do we — which means no named source, unlike the Setria claim on the #9 capsule's listing. And it's the plain reduced form, the one with the most-debated oral absorption: judge it over months (Richie 2015), not days (Allen 2011 found nothing in four weeks). If a named source matters, see Healthy Origins (#9); if the absorption debate worries you, the liposomals (#1, #2) are the hedge; if you mainly want to raise glutathione status as cheaply as possible, weigh NAC. But for the lowest-commitment way to try direct glutathione, buy this, take one capsule daily, and reassess at the multi-month mark.

Check price on Amazon
Alternatives

If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These

Frequently Asked

Quick Answers

Is this Setria glutathione?

No — and we won't pretend it is. Jarrow's own product page does not state a Setria designation, so we make no Setria claim for it. What you're buying is clean, single-ingredient reduced (non-oxidized) L-glutathione from a long-trusted brand — just not the specific named, clinically-referenced Setria raw material that Healthy Origins (#9) carries. That's the core trade-off of choosing this on price: you save real money versus the named-source pick, but you give up the named branded provenance. If a named Setria source matters to you, see Healthy Origins (#9); if a full 500 mg of clean reduced GSH at the lowest sticker price is what you want, this is it.

Does plain reduced glutathione like this actually absorb?

It's the genuinely-debated question, and the honest answer is 'slowly, if at all in the short term.' Witschi 1992 (PMID 1362956) found a single 3 g oral dose didn't raise plasma glutathione, and Allen 2011 (PMID 21875351) found 500 mg/day moved no oxidative-stress biomarkers over 4 weeks. But Richie 2015 (PMID 24791752) found that 250-1000 mg/day over six months DID raise body stores. So this 500 mg capsule is a slow-repletion play — judge it over months, not days. Because it's the cheapest plain capsule, it's arguably the most rational way to TEST whether plain-form glutathione does anything for you before spending more on a liposomal.

Why is it the budget pick if Nutricost is cheaper per serving?

Different kind of cheap. Jarrow has the lowest STICKER price on the list (~$14) for a 60-count bottle, making it the lowest-commitment entry point — ideal if you want to try plain glutathione without spending much up front. Nutricost (#7) has the lowest cost-per-SERVING because it's a 240-count bulk bottle, which is better if you've already decided to run plain GSH long-term. Jarrow is the 'dip a toe in cheaply' pick; Nutricost is the 'commit in bulk cheaply' pick. Both are honest plain reduced glutathione with the same absorption caveat.

Is it vegan?

Yes. Jarrow Glutathione Reduced is non-GMO, vegan, and gluten-free in a vegetarian capsule — a genuine advantage over the softgel liposomals (#1, #2), which use gelatin shells and soy lecithin and aren't vegan. So if you want a vegan, soy-free glutathione, the plain reduced capsules (this and Healthy Origins #9) are your tier, and you accept the plain-form absorption caveat in exchange for the cleaner, animal-free formulation.

Should I just buy NAC instead at this price?

At the budget end, it's an especially fair question. NAC supplies cysteine for your body to make its own glutathione, absorbs well, and is cheap — so if your goal is simply to support glutathione status on a budget, NAC may be the more efficient dollar than plain oral GSH, whose absorption is debated. This Jarrow capsule's appeal is that it supplies glutathione directly and lets you test the plain form for very little money. If you're choosing purely on cost-effectiveness for raising glutathione, weigh NAC; if you specifically want to try direct glutathione cheaply, this is the pick.

Research

Sources & Further Reading

3 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
  1. [1] Richie 2015 PMID 24791752 — Randomized controlled trial of oral glutathione supplementation on body stores of glutathione. 250-1000 mg/day oral glutathione raised body stores over 6 months — the repletion evidence behind this 500 mg plain-form capsule, with the key caveat that it works slowly.
  2. [2] Witschi 1992 PMID 1362956 — The systemic availability of oral glutathione. A single 3 g oral dose didn't raise plasma glutathione — 'negligible' availability. The absorption caveat that applies to this and every plain reduced capsule.
  3. [3] Allen 2011 PMID 21875351 — Effects of oral glutathione supplementation on systemic oxidative stress biomarkers in human volunteers. 500 mg twice daily for 4 weeks moved no oxidative-stress biomarkers — the short-term null result that means this plain capsule should be judged over months.

Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.

#4 of 10 · Best budget reducedJarrow Formulas Glutathione Reduced8.0Check price