Om Mushroom Superfood Cordyceps Review
#4 of 10 · Best full-spectrum organic✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Aug 27, 2026Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.
Consider it. A trustworthy full-spectrum organic cordyceps — but not a concentrated extract. USDA-organic, U.S.-grown, batch-tested, and it includes the fruiting body alongside mycelial biomass — a step above pure mycelium-on-grain.
$25 / 90 capsules (30 servings)$0.83 / 2,000 mg serving (3 capsules)
Why It Scores 7.9 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number
Species & extract quality
30% of scoreGenuinely Cordyceps militaris, and full-spectrum — it includes the fruiting body alongside mycelial biomass, which is a real step above pure mycelium-on-grain. Held back because it's still cultured on oats with grain carryover and isn't a concentrated fruiting-body extract. Right species, better-than-mycelium form, but short of the extract picks.
- Species
- Cordyceps militaris
- Dose
- 2,000 mg (3 capsules)
- Certifications
- USDA Certified Organic, U.S.-grown, per-batch third-party tested
Beta-glucan & active content
25% of scoreNot disclosed on the listing, and the oat-grown culture means some substrate carryover. Including the fruiting body should help the active fraction relative to pure mycelium, but with no published number we record 'not stated' and score it honestly below the picks that disclose >8% (#1) or 32% (#2).
- Beta-glucans
- Not stated on the listing
Purity & third-party testing
20% of scoreA genuine strength. USDA Certified Organic, grown/dried/milled in the USA, and third-party tested for purity and potency each batch — exactly the right transparency for a cultured fungal product. Among the better sourcing-and-testing stories on the list, even though it doesn't translate into a disclosed beta-glucan figure.
Value per day
15% of scoreAbout $0.83 per 2,000 mg serving, but only 30 servings per 90-capsule bottle because the serving is three capsules — so the bottle lasts about a month and the cost per day is mid-pack. Fair for a USDA-organic, batch-tested product, but the 3-cap serving works against the value math.
- Count
- 90 capsules = 30 servings (~1 month)
- Price
- ~$25 / 90 caps = ~$0.83 per 2,000 mg serving
Real-world energy / endurance response
10% of scoreRight species in a full-spectrum form, so a reasonable support — capped by the limited, mixed human evidence (Hirsch 2017 positive on a militaris blend after 3 weeks; Chen 2010 sub-maximal-only on CS-4). A concentrated fruiting-body extract would deliver more verified active content toward the same goal.
- Form
- Organic mycelial biomass + fruit body, grown on oats (full-spectrum)
- More Specs
- Cordycepin
- Not stated on the listing
- Best for
- Buyers who prefer a full-spectrum whole-food organic product over a concentrated extract
Label verified. Every figure read from the Supplement Facts photo, Aug 27, 2026.
Marketing Claims Vs. Reality
USDA Certified Organic, grown and processed in the USA.
Supported and a genuine strength. Om is USDA Certified Organic and grown, dried, and milled in the USA, with per-batch third-party testing. The sourcing and testing transparency is among the better stories on the list.
Full-spectrum — uses both mycelial biomass and fruiting body.
Accurate, and a real point in its favour: including the fruiting body alongside the mycelial biomass puts it a step above pure mycelium-on-grain products. Honest as stated — though it remains a whole-food product cultured on oats, not a concentrated extract.
Each batch third-party tested for purity and potency.
Stated on the listing and consistent with Om's positioning. Per-batch third-party testing is exactly the right practice for a cultured fungal product. Note that 'tested for potency' here doesn't equate to a disclosed beta-glucan number on the listing.
Supports energy, stamina, and oxygen utilisation.
Right species in a full-spectrum form, so plausible, and the mechanism is coherent (cordycepin → cellular ATP; Tuli 2014, Hsu 2020) — but the human evidence is limited and mixed (Hirsch 2017 positive after 3 weeks in a blend; Chen 2010 sub-maximal-only on CS-4). Honest as 'supports', overstated as a guaranteed oxygen/endurance effect.
What Our Test Actually Found
Including the fruiting body is what lifts it above pure mycelium
Om's genuine differentiator is that it's full-spectrum — mycelial biomass plus the fruiting body — rather than mycelium alone. Because the fruiting body is where beta-glucans concentrate, that's a real step toward more active content than a pure mycelium-on-grain product. It's the main reason Om edges ahead of a brand-strong but pure-mycelium option on the form axis.
But it's still cultured on oats — and discloses no beta-glucan number
The honest limits: the mycelium portion is grown on oats and dried with the substrate, so there's grain carryover in the finished powder, and the listing publishes no beta-glucan figure. So while it's better-positioned than pure mycelium, it's not a concentrated fruiting-body extract, and you can't point to a disclosed active-content number the way you can with Real Mushrooms (>8%) or FreshCap (32%). 'Not stated' is the honest record.
Strong organic and testing credentials — that's the real selling point
Where Om clearly delivers is provenance: USDA Certified Organic, grown and processed in the USA, third-party tested each batch. For buyers who weight clean, certified, domestically-produced sourcing heavily, that's a legitimate reason to choose it. It's a trustworthy, well-made product within the full-spectrum whole-food philosophy.
The 3-capsule serving and limited evidence cap the upside
Two things keep expectations grounded. Practically, the 2,000 mg three-capsule serving empties the 90-capsule bottle in about a month, which works against the value math and the convenience. And scientifically, cordyceps' human endurance evidence is limited and mixed (Hirsch 2017; Chen 2010), so even a well-made full-spectrum product is a plausible support rather than a strong bet. Run it daily for several weeks with training, and treat any gain as a bonus.
Full analysis: all pros & cons (7), buy if / skip if
- USDA Certified Organic and grown, dried, and milled in the USA
- Full-spectrum — includes the fruiting body alongside mycelial biomass (a step above pure mycelium)
- Each batch third-party tested for purity and potency
- Genuinely Cordyceps militaris (the correct, cordycepin-bearing species)
- Mycelium cultured on oats means some grain carryover; beta-glucan % not published
- 3-capsule serving means the bottle lasts only ~30 days
- Not a concentrated fruiting-body extract; human endurance evidence for cordyceps is limited
- You prefer a full-spectrum whole-food product (mycelial biomass + fruit body) over a concentrated extract
- You value USDA-organic certification, U.S. sourcing, and per-batch third-party testing
- You want a genuinely militaris product from an established organic-mushroom brand
- You'll run it consistently for weeks and keep endurance expectations measured
- You want the most verified active content per capsule — a fruiting-body extract with a disclosed beta-glucan number (#1, #2) beats it
- You want a long-lasting bottle or fewer capsules per day — the 3-cap serving lasts only ~30 days
- You want the lowest cost-per-day — a CS-4 mycelium value pick (Double Wood #8) is cheaper
USDA-organic, U.S.-grown, batch-tested, and it includes the fruiting body alongside mycelial biomass — a step above pure mycelium-on-grain. Genuinely Cordyceps militaris. The honest catches: still cultured on oats (grain carryover), no disclosed beta-glucan number, and a 3-capsule serving that empties the bottle in ~30 days. Consider it if you prefer a full-spectrum whole-food organic product; for verified potency, a fruiting-body extract (#1, #2) is the stronger buy.
Om Mushroom Superfood Cordyceps is the solid middle-of-the-list full-spectrum option. It's USDA Certified Organic, grown, dried, and milled in the USA, third-party tested each batch, and — importantly — it includes the fruiting body alongside the mycelial biomass, which puts it a step above a pure mycelium-on-grain product. It's genuinely Cordyceps militaris, the right species. The limits are what keep it at #5 rather than higher. The mycelium is still cultured on oats and dried with the substrate, so there's grain carryover in the powder; the listing publishes no beta-glucan number, so we record 'not stated' rather than estimating one; and the 2,000 mg, three-capsule serving means the 90-capsule bottle lasts only about a month. It's a trustworthy, well-made whole-food choice for buyers who prefer 'full-spectrum' to a concentrated extract — but it can't match the disclosed potency of the top three. Here's the breakdown.
A trustworthy full-spectrum organic pick — consider it if you prefer whole-food to extract.
Om Mushroom Superfood Cordyceps is the well-made middle option for buyers who specifically prefer a full-spectrum, whole-food organic product. It's USDA Certified Organic, grown and processed in the USA, third-party tested each batch, and it includes the fruiting body alongside the mycelial biomass — a genuine step above pure mycelium-on-grain. It's genuinely militaris, the right species, and the sourcing-and-testing transparency is among the better stories on the list. The reasons it lands at #4 are honest and specific: it's still cultured on oats so there's grain carryover, it publishes no beta-glucan number (so 'not stated' is the record), and the three-capsule serving empties the bottle in about a month. The top three picks are concentrated fruiting-body extracts with disclosed beta-glucans, and they deliver more verified active content per capsule. As with every cordyceps, the human endurance evidence is promising but limited — run it for several weeks with real training and treat any gain as a bonus. Consider Om if 'full-spectrum, certified-organic, U.S.-made' is what you want; choose Real Mushrooms (#2) or FreshCap (#1) if you want the most verified potency.
If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These
01FreshCap Cordyceps
FreshCap is the potency pick.
02Real Mushrooms Cordyceps-M
If you understand the category, this is the bottle you buy.
04Om Cordyceps
Om is a solid middle-of-the-list full-spectrum option.
Quick Answers
How is Om different from a pure mycelium product like Host Defense?
Om includes the fruiting body alongside the mycelial biomass, where a pure mycelium product is just the fungal root network grown on grain. That's a genuine step toward more active content, because the fruiting body is where the beta-glucans concentrate. The catch is that Om's mycelium is still cultured on oats and dried with the substrate, so there's grain carryover in the powder, and the listing doesn't publish a beta-glucan number. So it's better-positioned than pure mycelium-on-grain, but it's still a whole-food product rather than a concentrated fruiting-body extract like the top three picks.
Why the 3-capsule serving — and does the bottle really only last a month?
Yes. The label serving is 2,000 mg, which is three capsules, and the bottle is 90 capsules — so that's 30 servings, about a month at one serving a day. It's a larger gram dose per serving than most picks, but it means you go through the bottle quickly, which hurts the value math. If you'd prefer fewer capsules per day and a longer-lasting bottle, a 2-capsule fruiting-body extract (Real Mushrooms #2, FreshCap #1) stretches further.
Is it organic and tested?
Yes, and it's a real strength: USDA Certified Organic, grown, dried, and milled in the USA, and third-party tested for purity and potency on each batch. That sourcing-and-testing transparency is exactly what you want from a cultured fungal product. The one gap is that 'tested for potency' doesn't translate into a disclosed beta-glucan figure on the listing — so we record 'not stated' for the beta-glucan number rather than inventing one.
Will it boost my energy or endurance?
It's the right species (militaris) in a full-spectrum form, so it's a reasonable support — but keep expectations measured. Cordyceps' human endurance evidence is limited and mixed: a militaris blend improved VO2max and time-to-exhaustion after 3 weeks in one small trial (Hirsch 2017, PMID 27408987); CS-4 improved sub-maximal thresholds but not VO2max in another (Chen 2010). The cordycepin-to-cellular-ATP mechanism is coherent (Tuli 2014; Hsu 2020) but unproven in large human trials. Take it daily for several weeks, pair it with training, and treat any gain as a bonus.
Who should buy Om over the top picks?
Buyers who specifically prefer a 'full-spectrum, whole-food' organic product — mycelial biomass plus fruit body, USDA-organic, U.S.-made, batch-tested — over a concentrated extract. It's a trustworthy, well-made choice in that philosophy. But if your priority is the most verified active content per capsule, a fruiting-body extract with a disclosed beta-glucan number (Real Mushrooms #2, FreshCap #1) beats it, and for the lowest cost-per-day a CS-4 value pick (Double Wood #8) is cheaper.
Sources & Further Reading
3 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
- [1] Hirsch 2017 PMID 27408987 — Cordyceps militaris Improves Tolerance to High-Intensity Exercise After Acute and Chronic Supplementation. 28 healthy adults, randomized double-blind placebo-controlled: a Cordyceps militaris–containing blend (4 g/day) improved VO2max and time-to-exhaustion after 3 weeks. The strongest human signal for militaris and endurance — small and in a blend, supporting chronic dosing and measured expectations.
- [2] Tuli 2014 PMID 28324458 — Pharmacological and therapeutic potential of Cordyceps with special reference to Cordycepin. Review of cordycepin, the principal bioactive of Cordyceps militaris. The basis for valuing the fruiting body (where beta-glucans concentrate) and why a concentrated extract beats a whole-food oat-grown product on active content.
- [3] Choi 2020 PMID 33312018 — Beneficial Effect of Cordyceps militaris on Exercise Performance via Promoting Cellular Energy Production. Animal model: Cordyceps militaris extract improved exercise performance via increased cellular ATP production (AMPK pathway). Supports the coherent energy mechanism — preclinical, so endurance benefit is framed as promising, not proven.
Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.