Nutricost Irish Sea Moss Extract (with Bladderwrack & Burdock Root) Review
#2 of 9 · Easiest first try✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Sep 7, 2026Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.
Buy it. The cheap, easy trio capsule — good value, incomplete disclosure. Nutricost puts sea moss + bladderwrack + burdock into one capsule from an NSF-certified facility at roughly $0.28 a serving — the cheapest trio here and an easy first try.
$17$0.28 / serving
Why It Scores 9.1 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number
Form & honest dosing
30% of scoreAn easy 2-capsule serving in a convenient, shelf-stable format, and the whole trio is genuinely disclosed by milligram: 400mg of 10:1 sea moss extract (≈4,000mg raw-equivalent), 200mg of 20:1 bladderwrack extract, and 200mg of 10:1 burdock root extract. You can total up what a serving actually contains, the way you can with Double Wood or American Standard. Held just short of a perfect score because the label states the extract milligrams, not a converted iodine figure, so the botanical dose is known but the resulting iodine load is not.
- Form
- Capsule (120 count, 60 servings / 2 caps)
Sourcing & purity
25% of scoreIts strongest of the three disclosure axes: a GMP-compliant, NSF-certified manufacturing facility, vegan and GMO-free — the only named third-party facility certification in this lineup, and an above-average quality signal for the category. Held short of the top because the listing doesn't state whether the sea moss is wildcrafted or pool-grown, and there's no published heavy-metal or iodine certificate of analysis.
- Sourcing
- Irish sea moss extract; wildcrafted vs pool-grown not specified on listing
- Testing
- Brand states GMP-compliant, NSF-certified, FDA-registered manufacturing facility; vegan, GMO-free
Formula transparency
20% of scoreNames all three botanicals with both their extract ratios and their milligram amounts — 400mg sea moss, 200mg bladderwrack, 200mg burdock root — rather than hiding behind a vague "complex." Held short of a perfect score because the one number still missing is the consequential one: no iodine content is declared anywhere on the label, and bladderwrack carries roughly seven times the iodine of Irish moss by weight.
Value per serving
15% of scoreStrong value: roughly $0.28 per serving across 60 servings from a well-known value brand, and the cheapest cost-per-serving trio capsule in the lineup. Not the outright cheapest serving here, though — Double Wood's single-herb capsule works out to about $0.22, which is why this sits just below the top of the axis rather than at it.
- Price
- ~$17 ≈ $0.28 per serving — best trio value in this lineup
Taste & format
10% of scoreA tasteless, no-fuss capsule sidesteps sea moss's strong oceanic flavor entirely — the easiest format for daily compliance, far simpler than a raw gel. Two capsules a day, no refrigeration, no mixing.
- More Specs
- Sea moss mg
- 400mg of a 10:1 Irish sea moss extract per serving (≈4,000mg raw-equivalent) — stated on the listing
- Blend
- Trio — 400mg sea moss (10:1) + 200mg bladderwrack (20:1) + 200mg burdock root (10:1) per 2-capsule serving; all three botanicals are quantified
- Iodine
- Not declared on the label — the bladderwrack dose itself is stated (200mg, 20:1 extract), but its iodine content is not calculated or printed
Label verified. Every figure read from the Supplement Facts photo, Sep 7, 2026.
Marketing Claims Vs. Reality
Delivers 400mg of 10:1 Irish Sea Moss extract per serving, with added Bladderwrack and Burdock Root extracts.
Quoted verbatim from the listing's feature bullets and repeated in the product description, re-read on 28 July 2026. The ingredient panel corroborates it: "Irish Moss Extract (Chondrus crispus)(algae)(10:1). Bladderwrack Extract (Fucus vesiculosus)(leaf)(20:1). Burdock Root Extract (Arctium lappa)(root)(10:1)." At a 10:1 ratio, 400mg of extract corresponds to roughly 4,000mg of raw sea moss. Note for the record: an earlier version of this box graded a much larger milligram claim as "partial". That figure was ours, not Nutricost's — it appears nowhere on the listing, so there was never a claim there to check.
The bladderwrack and burdock content is disclosed.
The Supplement Facts panel lists 200mg of Bladderwrack Extract (Fucus vesiculosus, leaf, 20:1) and 200mg of Burdock Root Extract (Arctium lappa, root, 10:1) alongside the 400mg of sea moss extract — all three botanicals are quantified by milligram. What the panel does not give is an iodine figure: measured in the same analysis, bladderwrack averaged about 120 µg of iodine per gram against Irish moss's 16 µg/g (Aakre 2021, PMID 33889064), so even with the bladderwrack dose known, the resulting iodine content is not calculated on the label. This is common rather than exceptional — in our own review of 124 on-market sea-moss labels in the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database (July 2026), 90% declared no iodine at all — but common is not the same as adequate.
Made in a GMP-compliant, NSF-certified facility; vegan and GMO-free.
The listing states "Manufactured in an NSF Certified, GMP Compliant, FDA Registered Facility," and the vegan and GMO-free attributes appear in the title and bullets — a genuine, above-average manufacturing-quality signal for this category. Note it's a facility certification, not a per-batch NSF Certified for Sport seal on this SKU, and it says nothing about the iodine or heavy-metal content of what's inside.
The sea moss + bladderwrack + burdock trio supports thyroid, immunity and gut health.
These are traditional and anecdotal uses, not conclusions from human clinical trials on this product. The trio also raises the iodine load via bladderwrack, which is a thyroid risk as much as a marketed benefit — so the wellness framing is unproven, not demonstrated.
What Our Test Actually Found
Correction: the label discloses bladderwrack and burdock by milligram
An earlier version of this review said the bladderwrack and burdock amounts were undisclosed, and scored the product as if only the sea moss were quantified. The Supplement Facts panel reads: Irish Moss Extract 400mg (10:1), Bladderwrack Extract 200mg (20:1), Burdock Root Extract 200mg (10:1) — every botanical in the trio carries a printed milligram figure. We re-read the label on Sep 7, 2026 and corrected the claims, criteria scores, specs, FAQ answers, and pros/cons that stated or implied bladderwrack and burdock were undisclosed. The one figure genuinely missing from the label is a direct iodine content in micrograms — that gap is real and stands uncorrected.
The best trio value, and a low-risk first try
At roughly $0.28 per serving across 60 servings, Nutricost is the cheapest way into the full sea moss + bladderwrack + burdock trio in this lineup, from a recognizable value brand. Combined with the NSF-certified facility claim, that makes it an easy pick for someone who simply wants to try the popular trio without overthinking the purchase. It lands at #2 rather than #1 because value and manufacturing are only 25% of the scoring between them, and it doesn't lead on the axis that carries the most weight.
We invented a number here, and we're correcting it in public
An earlier version of this review told you the listing cited a milligram figure many times larger than the real one, printed it in quotation marks, and graded that quote "partial" in the truth-check box above. We re-read the listing on 28 July 2026: the figure is not on it, anywhere. It was ours. What Nutricost actually says is "Delivers 400mg of 10:1 Irish Sea Moss extract per serving" — roughly 4,000mg raw-equivalent. We've deleted every instance rather than softening the wording, and we're deliberately not reprinting the invented number, since a fabricated quote travels just as far inside an apology as outside one. If you make buying decisions on our numbers, you're entitled to know when one of them was wrong and why.
The iodine risk is in the one number the label still doesn't give
The label quantifies all three botanicals — 400mg sea moss, 200mg bladderwrack, 200mg burdock root — but bladderwrack is the iodine-heavy one, and its 200mg dose doesn't come with a converted iodine figure. Measured in the same analysis, bladderwrack averaged about 120 µg of iodine per gram against Irish moss's 16 µg/g, roughly seven times more (Aakre 2021, PMID 33889064) — so even with the bladderwrack amount known, its iodine contribution can't be read off this label. Against an adult RDA of 150 µg/day (NIH Office of Dietary Supplements) and a US upper limit of 1,100 µg/day (Institute of Medicine / NASEM, adults 19+), that's the number that would settle whether a daily capsule is trivial or not. Anyone with a thyroid condition, on thyroid medication, or pregnant or breastfeeding should run this past a clinician first.
Strong on manufacturing, quiet on sourcing
Nutricost's trust case rests on the facility — GMP-compliant, NSF-certified, vegan, GMO-free — rather than on the raw material. The listing doesn't say whether the sea moss is wildcrafted or pool-grown, and there's no published heavy-metal or iodine certificate of analysis. That's fine for a low-risk value pick, but buyers who want explicit wildcrafted sourcing should look at Double Wood (#1) or Peak Performance (#7).
Full analysis: all pros & cons (7), buy if / skip if
- Includes the popular sea moss + bladderwrack + burdock trio in a single capsule
- Made in a GMP-compliant, NSF-certified facility; vegan and GMO-free
- Strong cost-per-serving (~$0.28) from a well-known value supplement brand
- Tasteless, shelf-stable capsule — the easiest format for daily compliance
- All three botanicals — sea moss (400mg, 10:1), bladderwrack (200mg, 20:1), and burdock root (200mg, 10:1) — are quantified by milligram on the Supplement Facts panel
- No iodine content declared on the label, even though bladderwrack — the higher-iodine ingredient at roughly 7× Irish moss by weight — is dosed at 200mg
- Listing does not specify whether the sea moss is wildcrafted or pool-grown
- You want the popular sea moss + bladderwrack + burdock trio in one convenient capsule
- You value a GMP-compliant, NSF-certified manufacturing facility and a recognizable value brand
- You want the lowest reasonable cost per serving for a trio capsule (~$0.28)
- You're a first-time buyer who wants a low-risk way to try sea moss
- You have a thyroid condition, take thyroid medication, or are pregnant or breastfeeding — bladderwrack is in the mix (200mg, 20:1 extract) and no iodine content is declared
- You want an exact iodine dose calculated — the label gives botanical milligrams but not a µg iodine figure for the blend
- You specifically want stated wildcrafted sourcing — this listing doesn't say
Nutricost puts sea moss + bladderwrack + burdock into one capsule from an NSF-certified facility at roughly $0.28 a serving — the cheapest trio here and an easy first try. The Supplement Facts panel discloses all three botanicals by milligram — 400mg of 10:1 sea moss extract, 200mg of 20:1 bladderwrack extract, and 200mg of 10:1 burdock root extract per serving — but declares no iodine content, and bladderwrack is the higher-iodine ingredient. Buy it as a low-commitment entry point; choose a pick with a stated iodine figure if your thyroid is a concern.
Nutricost is the cheap, easy way into the sea moss + bladderwrack + burdock trio: one concentrated capsule, made in a GMP-compliant, NSF-certified facility, at one of the lowest costs per serving in our nine-product lineup (~$0.28). For a category this hype-driven, a recognizable value brand with a real manufacturing-quality claim is a reasonable low-risk entry point. We owe you a correction before the praise. An earlier version of this review attributed a far larger milligram figure to this listing, printed it in quotation marks, and ran a truth-check against it. We re-read the listing on 28 July 2026: that figure appears nowhere on it. We had invented it and then debunked our own invention, so we've removed it rather than reworded it — and we won't reprint it here, because a fabricated quote is no less fabricated for being quoted in its own correction. What the listing actually says is: "Delivers 400mg of 10:1 Irish Sea Moss extract per serving." That's 400mg of a concentrated extract, about 4,000mg raw-equivalent. The correction has been made everywhere it appeared, and the score has been rebuilt from the axes rather than reverse-engineered to a number we liked. What's left is a decent capsule with one real gap. The whole trio is disclosed by milligram — 400mg sea moss, 200mg bladderwrack, 200mg burdock root — but no iodine content is declared, which matters because bladderwrack carries roughly seven times the iodine of Irish moss by weight, so the exact iodine load driving the thyroid caveat still can't be read off the label. It also doesn't say whether the sea moss is wildcrafted or pool-grown. None of that sinks it, but it does place it just behind the pick that adds stated testing on top of full dosing: it lands at #2, not #1.
A good cheap trio capsule — just not the most honest label here.
Nutricost does the practical things well: it bundles the full sea moss + bladderwrack + burdock trio into one capsule from a GMP-compliant, NSF-certified facility at the best cost per serving of any trio in this lineup, and it does disclose all three botanicals by milligram — 400mg sea moss (10:1), 200mg bladderwrack (20:1), 200mg burdock root (10:1). For a first-time buyer who wants the popular trio from a recognizable value brand without overthinking it, it's an easy, low-commitment entry point. It sits at #3 rather than #1 because disclosure is what this page rewards most, and while Nutricost's Supplement Facts panel does quantify all three botanicals, it stops short of an iodine figure. Bladderwrack is the ingredient with roughly seven times the iodine of Irish moss by weight, so the number you'd most want — the actual iodine content — is still the one that isn't there. Double Wood (#1) discloses a flat 1,200mg of single-herb wildcrafted sea moss and states heavy-metal and microbial testing; on the axes we weight heaviest, that wins. One thing we owe you plainly: an earlier version of this review quoted a far larger milligram claim from this listing and graded it. That number was never on the listing — we wrote it, then fact-checked our own invention. It's been removed everywhere, and the score has been rebuilt from the axes instead of adjusted to fit. Treat sea moss as a traditional food rather than a proven cure, and if you have a thyroid condition, take thyroid medication, or are pregnant or breastfeeding, talk to a clinician before starting any bladderwrack trio.
If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These
01Double Wood Irish Sea Moss
Double Wood wins this ranking by doing the thing the category avoids: telling you exactly what's in the capsule.
05American Standard Sea Moss Trio
American Standard is the trio done honestly: instead of hiding the stack in a proprietary blend, it discloses every milligram — 1,200mg sea moss, 1,200mg bladderwrack, 225mg burdock — alongside certified-organic, US hand-harvested sourcing.
02Nutricost Irish Sea Moss
Nutricost is the cheapest, easiest way into the trio: sea moss + bladderwrack + burdock in one capsule from an NSF-certified facility, at the lowest cost per serving of any trio here, and it does disclose its sea moss dose — 400mg of a 10:1 extract per serving, roughly 4,000mg raw-equivalent.
Quick Answers
How much sea moss is actually in a Nutricost serving?
The listing states it plainly: "Delivers 400mg of 10:1 Irish Sea Moss extract per serving" — that's 400mg of a concentrated extract, which at a 10:1 ratio is equivalent to roughly 4,000mg of raw sea moss. Two capsules make a serving, 60 servings a bottle. That is a real, checkable disclosure, and it's the number to compare against a raw-powder capsule like Double Wood's 1,200mg (you can't compare 400 to 1,200 directly — compare the 4,000mg raw-equivalent). The Supplement Facts panel also gives milligrams for the other two botanicals: 200mg of a 20:1 Bladderwrack Extract and 200mg of a 10:1 Burdock Root Extract — every ingredient in the trio carries a printed number. What the label still doesn't give you is a direct iodine figure in micrograms, which is the gap that actually matters, because bladderwrack is the higher-iodine ingredient of the three.
Is the sea moss wildcrafted or pool-grown?
The listing doesn't say, and we won't guess. Nutricost describes it as Irish sea moss extract but doesn't state whether the raw material is wildcrafted (harvested from the ocean) or pool-grown (farmed in tanks). If explicit wildcrafted sourcing matters to you, Double Wood (#1) and Peak Performance (#7) both state it outright. Nutricost's strength is its manufacturing claim — a GMP-compliant, NSF-certified facility — rather than a detailed sourcing story.
What does the bladderwrack in the trio mean for my thyroid?
It's the caveat that matters most here, and it's the one the label won't help you with. Measured side by side in the same analysis, bladderwrack ran about 120 µg of iodine per gram against Irish moss's 16 µg/g — roughly seven times more (Aakre 2021, PMID 33889064). So in a sea moss + bladderwrack trio, the bladderwrack is usually the dominant iodine source, not the sea moss. For scale: the adult RDA is 150 µg/day (NIH Office of Dietary Supplements) and the US tolerable upper limit is 1,100 µg/day (Institute of Medicine / NASEM, adults 19+) — note that Europe's EFSA sets its adult ceiling lower, at 600 µg/day, which is why any upper limit is worth naming its source. Nutricost discloses 400mg of 10:1 sea moss extract and 200mg of 20:1 bladderwrack extract, but no iodine figure — so even though the bladderwrack dose is now known, the actual iodine content it delivers is still unknown. Iodine's relationship with thyroid function is U-shaped — too much disrupts it just as too little does. If you have a thyroid condition, take thyroid medication, or are pregnant or breastfeeding, talk to a clinician before starting any bladderwrack trio, including this one. If you'd rather keep it simpler, choose a single-herb pick like Double Wood (#1).
What does the NSF-certified facility claim actually guarantee?
It's a manufacturing-quality signal, and a real one — Nutricost states the product is made in a GMP-compliant, NSF-certified facility and is vegan and GMO-free. That speaks to how the product is produced. It is not the same as a per-batch NSF Certified for Sport seal on this specific SKU, and it doesn't publish a heavy-metal or iodine certificate of analysis. So it's a genuine, above-average quality claim for this hype-driven category — just don't over-read it as independent batch verification of iodine content.
Who should buy Nutricost over the other sea moss picks?
The first-time buyer who wants the popular trio, a recognizable value brand, and the lowest reasonable cost per serving without overthinking it. At roughly $0.28 a serving from an NSF-certified facility, it's the easiest low-risk entry point. Choose differently if you specifically want pure single-herb sea moss with a stated testing claim (Double Wood, #1 — which also works out cheaper per serving), the traditional raw-gel form (EverSmith, #3), or a trio dosed higher across all three botanicals (American Standard, #5).
Sources & Further Reading
5 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
- [1] Smyth 2021 PMID 33981614 — Iodine, Seaweed, and the Thyroid. A review of seaweed's rising dietary profile and its thyroid implications: seaweeds can be both a useful iodine source and a source of excessive, highly variable iodine, and people with underlying thyroid disease are most susceptible. The core safety reason a bladderwrack trio like this warrants caution.
- [2] Katagiri 2017 PMID 28282437 — Effect of excess iodine intake on thyroid diseases in different populations: A systematic review and meta-analyses including observational studies. Across a 50-study review, the adult hypothyroidism signal comes from three cross-sectional studies, where excess iodine intake was associated with higher odds of overt and subclinical hypothyroidism versus adequate intake (odds ratios ~2.78 and ~2.03). Worth reading precisely: the excess-iodine exposure in those populations was mainly iodised salt or drinking water, not seaweed. It establishes that too much iodine is a real thyroid risk rather than a theoretical one — it does not measure sea moss.
- [3] Aakre 2021 PMID 33889064 — Commercially available kelp and seaweed products - valuable iodine source or risk of excess intake?. Measured iodine by ICP-MS in 96 commercial macroalgae products. Bladderwrack averaged 120 µg/g against Irish moss (Chondrus crispus) at 16 µg/g — roughly seven times more, which is why a bladderwrack trio's iodine load is driven by the bladderwrack rather than the sea moss. Irish moss was among the few species whose portion did NOT exceed the upper limit. Labelling was poor across the board: only 24 of the 96 products declared an iodine content at all, and for 18 of those 24 the measured value deviated from the declared one by more than 50%.
- [4] LactMed 2026 PMID 41730053 — Sea Moss. The sea-moss-specific lactation monograph, and the strongest safety statement on this page. It notes sea moss carries iodine plus heavy metals — arsenic, lead, cadmium and mercury — taken up from the water it grew in, and that maternal excess iodine from seaweed has caused thyroid suppression in breastfed infants. Its conclusion is direct: sea moss should be avoided during breastfeeding unless iodine and heavy-metal levels have been shown to be low enough to be safe. This is the citation behind our breastfeeding caution, which previously carried none.
- [5] Park 2024 PMID 38248672 — An Update on the Chemical Constituents and Biological Properties of Selected Species of an Underpinned Genus of Red Algae: Chondrus. A review cataloguing Chondrus (Irish sea moss) constituents and a range of biological activities reported largely in vitro and in animal models. Establishes that sea moss contains genuinely bioactive compounds — while being explicit that this is bench and compositional science, not human efficacy proof.
Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.