Nutricost Cordyceps 1,100 mg Review

Updated May 31, 2026By Felix Hesse5 criteria scored3 peer-reviewed sourcesAffiliate links

Nutricost Organic Cordyceps Mushroom, 1 g per serving, 180 capsules — USDA Organic / CCOF-certified Cordyceps sinensis (fruiting body)#6 of 10 · Best high-count value✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Aug 27, 2026

Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.

Our Verdict

Consider it. The most servings per dollar — but a 1 g unstandardised C. sinensis powder, not a militaris extract. 180 capsules / 90 servings, USDA Organic (certified by CCOF), non-GMO, gluten-free, from an established budget brand, at ~$0.24 a serving — the best supply-per-dollar on the list.

180 capsules, 90 servings a bottleUSDA Organic, certified by CCOFCordyceps sinensis powder, not militaris
7.7SAC Product Score™
StrongestValue per day9.31
WeakestBeta-glucan & active content6.5
Where It Stands Among The 10 Ranked Cordyceps Supplements
#6 · 7.7

$22 / 180 capsules (90 servings)$0.24 / 1,100 mg serving (2 capsules)

Score × Label

Why It Scores 7.7 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number

Species & extract quality

30% of score
7.0

The label declares Organic Cordyceps sinensis Mushroom Powder, fruiting body — not mycelium. C. sinensis still carries less cordycepin than the militaris species the top picks use, and this is a plain powder with no extract ratio or standardisation, so it stays behind the concentrated militaris extracts. One caution: a cultivated C. sinensis fruiting body is botanically unusual (true wild sinensis fruiting bodies are scarce and costly), and the label's claim can't be independently verified from the panel alone — but that is what the Supplement Facts state, and it is not mycelium.

Species
Cordyceps sinensis (labelled fruiting body)
Dose
1,000 mg / 1 g (2 capsules of 500 mg)
Certifications
USDA Organic (CCOF-certified), third-party tested (label claim), GMP facility, non-GMO, gluten-free, vegan

Beta-glucan & active content

25% of score
6.5

Not disclosed on the label: a plain C. sinensis powder with no beta-glucan, polysaccharide, or cordycepin figure anywhere on the panel. 'Not stated' is the honest record, and it caps this axis at the same disclosure floor as other undisclosed-content products. Notably it doesn't even disclose a total-polysaccharide figure the way Double Wood (#8) does, which is why it scores marginally lower here than that sibling value pick.

Beta-glucans
Not stated on the label

Purity & third-party testing

20% of score
9.02

Full USDA Organic certification (certified by CCOF), non-GMO, gluten-free, and vegan, with the back label also stating 'Third Party Tested' and 'GMP Compliant Facility.' This is the same USDA Organic tier as the list's full-organic picks, not a step below it — a real point in its favour for a budget product. The one caveat: 'third-party tested' is a label claim with no published Certificate of Analysis, so it can't be independently verified the way the COA-publishing picks can.

Value per day

15% of score
9.31

The best supply-per-dollar on the list: 180 capsules / 90 servings for ~$22, about $0.24 a serving and roughly a 3-month bottle. For a value-focused buyer who wants months of cordyceps cheaply, this is the standout axis and the whole reason to choose it.

Count
180 capsules = 90 servings (~3 months)
Price
~$22 / 180 caps = ~$0.24 per 1,000 mg serving

Real-world energy / endurance response

10% of score
7.5

C. sinensis species; the closest human trial (Chen 2010 — sub-maximal threshold gains over 12 weeks, no VO2max change) used the CS-4 mycelial preparation, not this fruiting-body powder, so the read-across is imperfect. A plausible modest support over weeks, capped by the lower-active-content species and the limited overall evidence. A militaris extract would deliver more cordycepin-relevant active content.

Form
Organic C. sinensis mushroom powder, declared fruiting body, no extract ratio; USDA Organic (certified by CCOF)
More Specs
Cordycepin
Not stated (low expected for C. sinensis)
Best for
Value buyers who want the most servings per dollar

Label verified. Every figure read from the Supplement Facts photo, Aug 27, 2026.

Truth Check

Marketing Claims Vs. Reality

Verified
180 capsules — 90 servings per bottle.

Supported by the live listing: this is the 180-capsule size (a spec we corrected against the page, since some sources list a 90-count). At a two-capsule serving that's 90 servings — the best supply-per-dollar on the list and the core of the value case.

Verified
USDA Organic (certified by CCOF), non-GMO, gluten-free.

Stated on the label. This is the full USDA Organic seal, with CCOF as the accredited certifier — a genuine point in Nutricost's favour at this price, and full USDA-organic, not a step below it.

Verified
Simple, transparent label.

Accurate — the label is clean and straightforward, characteristic of Nutricost's value positioning. Transparent about what it is, including being a sinensis product, even if it doesn't disclose a beta-glucan number.

Partial
Supports energy, endurance, and athletic performance.

There's mixed human data for C. sinensis (Chen 2010, on the CS-4 mycelial strain — sub-maximal threshold gains, no VO2max change), and the mechanism is coherent (Tuli 2014; Hsu 2020) — but it's a low-cordycepin species and the evidence is limited. Honest as a modest 'supports' over weeks, overstated as a guaranteed performance boost.

The Deep Dive

What Our Test Actually Found

01

Correction: the label states fruiting-body powder, 1 g per serving, and full USDA Organic — not CS-4 mycelium, 1,100 mg, or 'made-with-organic'

An earlier version of this review said Nutricost's cordyceps was '1,100 mg' of 'CS-4 Cordyceps sinensis mycelium' certified 'CCOF made-with-organic.' The Supplement Facts panel reads 'Organic Cordyceps Mushroom Powder (Cordyceps sinensis)(fruiting body) 1 g' per 2-capsule serving, and the front label carries the full USDA Organic seal alongside Certified CCOF Organic. We re-read the label on Sep 3, 2026 and revised the dose, species/form language, and certification wording throughout the review, and re-scored Species & extract quality (6.8 → 7.0) and Purity & third-party testing (8.3 → 9.0), moving the overall score from 7.5 to 7.7.

02

Best supply-per-dollar on the list — that's the entire case

Nutricost's reason to exist here is value: 180 capsules, 90 servings, around $22, roughly $0.24 a serving and about a 3-month bottle. Nothing else on the list gives you more cordyceps supply per dollar. For a buyer who wants to run cordyceps consistently for months without spending much — and consistency over weeks is exactly what the evidence calls for — that long, cheap runway is genuinely useful.

03

But it's an unstandardised C. sinensis powder, not a militaris extract

The reason it ranks #6: the label declares a plain 1 g Cordyceps sinensis fruiting-body powder with no extract ratio or standardisation, and C. sinensis carries little cordycepin (the marker compound militaris accumulates; Tuli 2014). The label discloses no beta-glucan number either. On the active-content axis that defines the top of the list, it's a clear tier below the militaris extracts — you're buying servings, not concentrated potency.

04

Legitimate certification, just no disclosed potency figure

Credit where due: full USDA Organic (certified by CCOF), non-GMO, gluten-free, and a clean transparent label is a real, verifiable quality story for a budget product. The honest gap is that it discloses no beta-glucan or polysaccharide number at all — even Double Wood (#8), its closest value rival, at least states 7% polysaccharides. So 'not stated' is the record, and the certification doesn't substitute for a disclosed active-content figure.

05

Keep endurance expectations measured

As a C. sinensis product, the realistic expectation is modest — the closest trial (Chen 2010) tested the CS-4 mycelial preparation, not this fruiting-body powder. That trial found CS-4 improved sub-maximal exercise thresholds over 12 weeks but not VO2max, and cordyceps' overall human evidence is limited and mixed. The good news is the bottle easily covers a 12-week run with supply to spare — so take it daily for several weeks alongside training, and treat any improvement in exercise economy as a welcome bonus rather than a guarantee.

Full analysis: all pros & cons (7), buy if / skip if
Pros
  • Excellent value: 180 capsules / 90 servings per bottle — the most supply per dollar on the list
  • USDA Organic (certified by CCOF), non-GMO, gluten-free, vegetarian
  • Simple, transparent label from an established budget brand
  • Long ~3-month runway easily covers a consistent multi-week run
Cons
  • Cordyceps sinensis powder (labelled fruiting body, no extract ratio), not C. militaris — lower expected cordycepin
  • No beta-glucan or cordycepin standardisation stated (not even a total-polysaccharide figure)
  • The closest human exercise data (Chen 2010, CS-4 mycelial prep) showed sub-maximal gains but no VO2max change
Buy If
  • You want the most servings per dollar and a months-long supply per bottle
  • You value full USDA Organic certification (by CCOF) on a budget product
  • You want a simple, transparent label from an established value brand
  • You'll run it consistently for weeks and keep endurance expectations measured
Skip If
  • You want the cordycepin-rich militaris fruiting body with a disclosed beta-glucan number — buy #1, #2, or #3
  • You want a stated potency figure at all — Double Wood (#8) at least discloses 7% polysaccharides
  • You expect a guaranteed endurance boost — the human evidence is promising and mixed, not proven

180 capsules / 90 servings, USDA Organic (certified by CCOF), non-GMO, gluten-free, from an established budget brand, at ~$0.24 a serving — the best supply-per-dollar on the list. The honest catch: the label declares a plain 1 g Cordyceps sinensis fruiting-body powder, not the cordycepin-rich militaris fruiting body, with no extract ratio or beta-glucan number disclosed. Consider it for the cheapest months-long supply; for verified active content, a militaris fruiting-body extract (#1, #2, #3) is the stronger buy.

Nutricost Cordyceps is the high-count value play: 180 capsules, 90 servings, USDA Organic (certified by CCOF), from an established budget brand with a clean, transparent label — at a price that makes a multi-month run trivially affordable. If your priority is the most supply per dollar, this is the rational bulk buy. It lands at #7 for the same reason as the other value picks: the label declares a plain 1 g C. sinensis fruiting-body powder, not the cordycepin-rich militaris fruiting-body extracts at the top of the list, and no beta-glucan or cordycepin figure is disclosed (so 'not stated' is the honest record). C. sinensis isn't unstudied — the closest human exercise trial (Chen 2010) used a related CS-4 mycelial preparation — but this species carries lower active content than a militaris extract. For a value-focused buyer who understands that trade and wants three months of cordyceps for around $22, it's a sensible choice. Here's the breakdown.

The Bottom Line

The cheapest months-long supply — consider it for value, not for cordycepin-rich potency.

Nutricost Cordyceps is the rational pick when your single priority is the most cordyceps supply per dollar. At 180 capsules, 90 servings, USDA Organic (certified by CCOF), and around $22, it gives you roughly three months of cordyceps cheaply, with a clean transparent label from an established value brand. That long, inexpensive runway is genuinely useful given that cordyceps calls for consistent dosing over weeks. It ranks #7 because of what's inside, not the value: the label declares a plain 1 g Cordyceps sinensis fruiting-body powder, not the cordycepin-rich militaris fruiting body, and it discloses no beta-glucan or polysaccharide figure at all. The closest human exercise data (Chen 2010) tested a different, CS-4 mycelial preparation of C. sinensis — sub-maximal threshold gains, no VO2max change — so expectations should be measured. Consider Nutricost if you want the cheapest way to run cordyceps for months; choose a militaris fruiting-body extract (Real Mushrooms #2, FreshCap #1, Nootropics Depot #3) if you want verified, cordycepin-relevant active content, or Double Wood (#8) if you want a value sinensis product that at least discloses a potency figure.

Check price on Amazon
Alternatives

If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These

Frequently Asked

Quick Answers

Why is Nutricost the 'high-count value' pick?

Because it gives you the most supply per dollar on the list: 180 capsules, 90 servings per bottle, at around $22 — roughly $0.24 a serving. Combined with USDA Organic certification (certified by CCOF), non-GMO, gluten-free, vegetarian, and a simple transparent label from an established budget brand, it's the rational choice if your priority is months of supply at the lowest cost. The trade-off is what's inside: it's a 1 g plain powder labelled C. sinensis fruiting body — not a concentrated militaris extract.

Is Cordyceps sinensis a problem, and what about CS-4?

It's a limitation, not a dealbreaker. The label declares a plain Cordyceps sinensis fruiting-body powder (1 g per serving, no extract ratio or standardisation). C. sinensis carries little cordycepin — the marker compound that Cordyceps militaris accumulates (Tuli 2014) — so on active content it ranks below a militaris fruiting-body extract. The closest human exercise trial (Chen 2010) used CS-4, a different, fermented-mycelium preparation of C. sinensis — not what this label states — so treat that evidence as a same-species comparator, not a direct match. With Nutricost you're trading concentrated, cordycepin-relevant potency for the most servings per dollar.

What do the USDA Organic and CCOF seals mean?

CCOF (California Certified Organic Farmers) is a USDA-accredited certifier, not a lesser certification tier. The front label carries the full USDA Organic seal alongside 'Certified CCOF Organic,' meaning CCOF verified the product meets the 95%+ organic threshold required for that seal — the same certification tier as Om (#5), not a step below it. It's a legitimate, verifiable certification and a real point in Nutricost's favour for a budget product. It does not, by itself, tell you the beta-glucan content, which the label doesn't disclose.

How do I dose it, and how long does a bottle last?

The serving is 1 g (1,000 mg) — two capsules — and the 180-capsule bottle gives 90 servings, so about three months at one serving a day. That long runway is the whole point of this pick. Because cordyceps effects build over weeks, take it consistently; the closest exercise trial (Chen 2010, on the CS-4 mycelial preparation of C. sinensis) ran 12 weeks before measuring changes, and a Nutricost bottle comfortably covers that with supply to spare.

Will it boost my energy or endurance?

Modestly at best, over weeks. It's a C. sinensis product (labelled fruiting-body powder); the closest human trial (Chen 2010) used the CS-4 mycelial strain, so read across with caution: Chen 2010 found CS-4 improved sub-maximal metabolic and ventilatory thresholds over 12 weeks but did NOT change VO2max. The stronger endurance signal (Hirsch 2017) is on the militaris form, which carries more cordycepin. So keep expectations measured: take it consistently, pair it with training, and treat any improvement in exercise economy as a bonus rather than a guarantee.

Research

Sources & Further Reading

3 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
  1. [1] Chen 2010 PMID 20804368 — Effect of Cs-4 (Cordyceps sinensis) on exercise performance in healthy older subjects: a double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. 20 healthy older adults, 12 weeks: CS-4 (Cordyceps sinensis) raised the metabolic threshold by 10.5% and ventilatory threshold by 8.5% versus no change on placebo — but VO2max did NOT change. Same species (C. sinensis) but a different preparation: CS-4 is a mycelial fermentation product, while Nutricost's label declares fruiting-body powder; evidence is for sub-maximal exercise economy, not peak aerobic power.
  2. [2] Hirsch 2017 PMID 27408987 — Cordyceps militaris Improves Tolerance to High-Intensity Exercise After Acute and Chronic Supplementation. Cited as the contrast: a Cordyceps militaris blend improved VO2max and time-to-exhaustion after 3 weeks. The stronger endurance signal is on the militaris form, not the C. sinensis powder Nutricost uses.
  3. [3] Tuli 2014 PMID 28324458 — Pharmacological and therapeutic potential of Cordyceps with special reference to Cordycepin. Review of cordycepin, the principal bioactive of Cordyceps militaris. Explains why C. sinensis (little cordycepin) ranks below C. militaris on active content.

Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.

#6 of 10 · Best high-count valueNutricost Organic Cordyceps Mushroom 1,000 mg7.7Check price