NOW Foods Lion's Mane 500 mg Review

NOW Foods Lion's Mane 500 mg bottle, 60 capsules — organic fruiting-body extract powder from the Amazon listingSAC Studio
Best ValueBUY
How the score breaks downHide breakdown
SAC Product Score™ — how it breaks down
  • Form honesty (fruiting body vs mycelium-on-grain)40%8.5
  • Verified beta-glucans (not 'polysaccharides')25%6.0
  • Extraction + dose15%6.0
  • Third-party testing + transparency12%8.0
  • Value / cost-per-serving8%7.5

The best value on the list — genuine organic fruiting body from a brand you can trust.

~$14$0.47/servingCheck on Amazon →
Buy if…
  • You want a genuine organic FRUITING-BODY bottle (not mycelium-on-grain) at the lowest honest price
  • You trust NOW's 30+ years of consistent in-house QC and want a no-drama value pick
Skip if…
  • You want a verified beta-glucan % printed on the label — go Real Mushrooms (#1) or FreshCap (#2)
  • You want a disclosed extraction ratio (like a printed 14:1 or 8:1), not an undisclosed one
Read the full analysis
Also buy if…
  • You're building an everyday Lion's Mane habit, not chasing the exact Mori 2009 trial dose
  • You'd rather pay for real mushroom than for marketing or a 'polysaccharide' number
Also skip if…
  • You're replicating the Mori 2009 3 g/day protocol efficiently — at this serving size you'd burn through bottles fast

NOW Foods Lion's Mane is the trusted value pick that does the most important thing right at a low price: it's organic FRUITING-BODY material, not mycelium-on-grain. At ~$14 for 60 capsules (1000 mg per 2-cap serving), you're getting the actual mushroom — the part the human trials measured — from a brand with 30+ years of among-the-most-consistent in-house QC in the industry, with naturally occurring beta-glucans. It clears the category's biggest quality hurdle (real mushroom, not grain biomass).

Two honest caveats keep it at #6 rather than higher: the label calls this an organic fruiting-body EXTRACT powder but doesn't print the extraction ratio, so how concentrated it actually is can't be verified — and, on top of that, NOW doesn't print a verified beta-glucan percentage on the label the way the top picks do. For a genuine, affordable, everyday fruiting-body bottle from a brand you can trust, though, it's still a strong value pick. We read the supplement-facts panel — which lists this as an Extract Powder, not a raw powder, with the ratio undisclosed — checked the fruiting-body and beta-glucan claims against the web-verified evidence, and here's the full breakdown.

▸ THE SCORE

How we built the SAC Product Score™7.4/10

Form honesty (fruiting body vs mycelium-on-grain)40%8.5/10

Organic Lion's Mane FRUITING BODY — the actual mushroom, not mycelium-on-grain. This is the load-bearing quality criterion in the category and NOW clears it cleanly: real fruiting body, not grain biomass diluted with rice/oat starch. Loses ground to the top picks because, although the label itself calls this an extract powder, it prints no extraction ratio or beta-glucan %, so the actual concentration can't be verified the way the top picks' disclosed 14:1/8:1 ratios can.

Verified beta-glucans (not 'polysaccharides')25%6/10

Naturally occurring beta-glucans, but no verified percentage declared on the label — the meaningful gap vs the premium tier. NOW's label calls this an extract powder and states only the 1000 mg total weight per serving, with no extraction ratio and no third-party-verified beta-glucan %. It honestly doesn't pad the label with a misleading 'total polysaccharides' number either, which is to its credit. But you're trusting brand-level QC, not a per-batch potency figure the way Real Mushrooms (#1) and FreshCap (#2) provide.

Extraction + dose15%6/10

NOW's own label calls this an 'Extract Powder,' but prints no extraction ratio and no beta-glucan % — so unlike the top picks' disclosed 14:1/8:1 ratios, there's no way to verify how concentrated the actives per capsule actually are. Separately, the 1000 mg 2-cap serving sits well below the gram-level trial doses (Mori 2009 used 3 g/day of fruiting-body powder; Saitsu 2019, 2.4 g/day); to approximate the trial protocol by weight you'd dose 4-6 caps/day. Undisclosed concentration plus a below-trial dose is why this scores at the value tier's floor rather than higher — the same disclosure floor that applies to any product that doesn't print its active-content numbers.

Third-party testing + transparency12%8/10

NOW's manufacturing is Intertek GMP-certified, with identity testing and 30+ years of household-brand trust — genuinely strong for the price, well above the no-COA Amazon floor. But the organic certification was oversold in an earlier version of this review: NOW's label reads 'Made with Organic Lion's Mane Mushrooms,' certified by QAI — the 'made-with-organic' tier, not a USDA Organic seal. That's still a real organic certification, just one notch below the disclosure clarity of a full USDA Organic seal. Below the premium tier on bioactive-specific disclosure (no published per-batch beta-glucan number or extraction ratio) and on certification precision.

Value / cost-per-serving8%7.5/10

~$14 for 60 caps = ~$0.47 per 1000 mg (2-cap) serving, using the label's own 30 servings per container. Genuinely cheap for organic fruiting body, and the best value on the list when you weight for it being real mushroom rather than mycelium-on-grain. The asterisk: because the extraction ratio isn't disclosed, you can't verify a true per-mg-of-beta-glucan value against the extract picks — but on honest fruiting-body-dollars, at a real price advantage, NOW wins.

▸ SPECS

The product at a glance

Active form
Organic Lion's Mane (Hericium erinaceus) fruiting-body EXTRACT powder — not mycelium-on-grain; extraction ratio not stated on the label
Per cap
500 mg organic fruiting-body extract powder (ratio not stated)
Per serving
1000 mg (2 caps) — about a third of the Mori 2009 3 g/day trial dose by declared weight
Bottle size
60 capsules — 30-day supply at 2 caps/day
Beta-glucans
Naturally occurring; percentage NOT declared on label (label calls this an extract powder but does not print the extraction ratio)
Trial-dose alignment
Below trial doses at 2 caps/day; 4-6 caps approximates Mori 2009 / Saitsu 2019
Inactives
Vegetable polysaccharide capsule; organic inulin powder (filler)
Certifications
Made with Organic Lion's Mane (QAI-certified), Non-GMO Project Verified, vegan, kosher, Intertek GMP-certified facility
Manufacturer
NOW Foods (Bloomingdale, IL · family-owned since 1968, in-house QC labs)
Lab transparency
Intertek GMP-certified facility + identity testing; no published per-batch beta-glucan number or extraction ratio
Price
~$14 / 60-cap bottle = ~$0.47 per 1000 mg serving (30 servings per container per the label)
▸ TRUTH CHECK

Marketing claims vs. reality

Verified

Made from organic Lion's Mane fruiting bodies.

The fruiting-body sourcing is the meaningful claim and it holds up — NOW uses organic Hericium erinaceus fruiting body, not mycelium grown on grain. This clears the category's single biggest quality hurdle (real mushroom, not grain biomass) and is the foundation of the value-tier case.

Partial

Contains naturally occurring beta-glucans.

True that this fruiting-body extract carries naturally occurring beta-glucans — but the claim is unverified in the sense that no extraction ratio or third-party percentage is printed on the label. To NOW's credit it doesn't inflate a misleading 'total polysaccharides' number either. You're trusting brand QC for potency, not a per-batch figure like Real Mushrooms (#1) publishes.

Partial

Supports cognitive function and nerve health.

Mori 2009 (PMID 18844328) supports the cognition claim at 3 g/day fruiting-body powder for 16 weeks in mild cognitive impairment, and Saitsu 2019 (PMID 31413233) adds a signal in healthy older adults — but NOW's 1000 mg/day serving is about a third of those doses, and the overall evidence base is early (PMID 40959699). The direction is real and trial-anchored; the everyday dose and preliminary evidence are the honest asterisks.

Verified

GMP-certified facility (Intertek) with identity testing.

NOW's facility carries Intertek GMP certification, plus identity testing and NOW's own 30+ years of household-brand trust. Verifiable and a real reason to trust the value price even without a published beta-glucan number.

Verified

Made with Organic Lion's Mane (QAI-certified), non-GMO, vegan.

The label reads 'Made with Organic Lion's Mane Mushrooms,' certified organic by QAI — the 'made-with-organic' tier, not a full USDA Organic seal (none appears on the panel). Non-GMO Project Verified and 'Vegetarian/Vegan' are both printed on the front label. The organic tier still matters for substrate purity even though it's one notch below the USDA Organic seal.

▸ THE DEEP DIVE

What our test actually found

01Correction: the label calls this an Extract Powder, not raw whole-mushroom powder

An earlier version of this review said NOW's Lion's Mane is 'whole fruiting-body powder, NOT a concentrated extract,' listed the capsule filler as hypromellose, and credited it with a USDA Organic certification. The Supplement Facts panel actually reads 'Organic Lion's Mane Mushroom Extract Powder (Hericium erinaceus) (Fruiting Body) 1,000 mg' — no extraction ratio or beta-glucan % is printed — with 'Other ingredients: Vegetable Polysaccharide (capsule) and Organic Inulin Powder,' and the front panel reads 'Made with Organic Lion's Mane Mushrooms' / 'Certified Organic by QAI' rather than carrying a USDA Organic seal. We re-read the label on Sep 3, 2026 and revised the extract/dose framing throughout, corrected the inactives and organic-certification claims, and re-scored Extraction + dose (6.5 → 6.0) and Third-party testing + transparency (8.5 → 8.0), moving the overall score from 7.5 to 7.4.

02It gets the one thing that matters most right: real fruiting body, not grain

The single biggest quality issue in Lion's Mane is fruiting-body-vs-mycelium-on-grain — and NOW clears it at the lowest price on the list. This is organic fruiting-body extract powder, made from the actual mushroom the human trials measured, not mycelium grown on rice or oats and ground up with the leftover starch. That puts NOW ahead of every mycelium-based pick on the list (Host Defense #8, Om #9) on the criterion that actually determines whether you're buying mushroom or grain biomass. For a value buyer, that's the whole game: real mushroom, trusted brand, honest price.

03The missing beta-glucan % is the honest gap — but NOW doesn't fake it either

The premium picks (Real Mushrooms #1, FreshCap #2) print a standardized extraction ratio and test each batch for beta-glucans, then print the percentage (often >30%). NOW's label calls this an extract powder too, but prints neither the ratio nor a verified beta-glucan % — just the 1000 mg total weight per serving. That's a real transparency gap — you don't get a per-batch potency number or a way to gauge how concentrated the extract is. But NOW also doesn't pad the label with a misleading 'total polysaccharides' figure the way grain-blend products do to look potent. It's an honest omission at the value tier, not a quality dodge. If you want the verified ratio and % printed on the bottle, you pay the extract premium.

04An undisclosed extraction ratio is the real reason it's not a top pick

NOW's own label calls this an 'Organic Lion's Mane Mushroom Extract Powder' — so it is, technically, an extract, not raw milled mushroom. But unlike the top picks, which print a standardized ratio (14:1, 8:1) and a tested beta-glucan %, NOW prints neither. That means there's no way to know how concentrated NOW's extract actually is relative to the raw fruiting body, or how it compares gram-for-gram to a disclosed 14:1 extract. The top picks give you a verifiable, concentrated potency number; NOW gives you a genuine fruiting-body extract at an undisclosed strength. Both use fruiting body — the real difference is disclosure, not necessarily concentration.

05At 2 caps/day you're under the trial dose — scale up if you're running the protocol

Mori 2009 used 3 g/day of fruiting-body powder for 16 weeks; Saitsu 2019 used 2.4 g/day. NOW's 2-cap serving is 1000 mg — about a third of the Mori dose. As an affordable everyday maintenance habit that's perfectly defensible. But if you want to actually approximate the trial protocol, you'd run 4-6 caps/day (2-3 g), which empties the 60-cap bottle in 10-15 days and erodes the value advantage. Decide which job you're hiring it for: cheap daily habit (2 caps) or trial-dose replication (4-6 caps), and price it accordingly.

06Use NOW as the trustworthy default value bottle — and stay honest about the evidence

NOW is the bottle to reach for when you want genuine fruiting body from a brand you can trust without overpaying — the no-drama value default. Just keep the evidence in frame: the human data is real but early — a handful of small RCTs, mostly in older adults, with benefits that fade on stopping. The 2025 systematic review (PMID 40959699) calls it consistent but preliminary. NOW gives you the studied form (fruiting body) at the studied direction (cognition, mood) for the lowest honest price; it doesn't make the underlying evidence any more certain than it is.

▸ THE TRADE-OFFS

Pros & cons, no sugar-coating

Pros
  • Genuine organic FRUITING-BODY extract (not mycelium-on-grain) — clears the category's biggest quality hurdle
  • Best value on the list — ~$0.47 per 1000 mg serving from a brand you can trust
  • NOW's in-house QC is among the most consistent in the industry, with 30+ years of household-brand trust
  • Made with Organic Lion's Mane (QAI-certified), non-GMO, vegan — and no misleading 'total polysaccharides' padding on the label
Cons
  • The label doesn't print the extraction ratio, so how concentrated this fruiting-body extract actually is can't be verified
  • No verified beta-glucan % printed on the label — you trust brand QC, not a per-batch number
  • 1000 mg/day serving sits well below the gram-level doses the human trials used
▸ THE BOTTOM LINE

The best value on the list — genuine fruiting body from a brand you can trust.

NOW Foods Lion's Mane is the trusted value pick, and it earns the 'buy' verdict honestly because it gets the one thing that matters most right at the lowest price on the list: it's organic FRUITING-BODY material, not mycelium-on-grain. You're getting the actual mushroom the human trials measured — with naturally occurring beta-glucans, from a brand with 30+ years of among-the-most-consistent in-house QC — at a fraction of the premium-tier price. That clears the category's biggest quality hurdle, and NOW doesn't pad the label with a misleading 'total polysaccharides' number to look stronger than it is. Two honest caveats keep it at #6: the label calls this an extract powder but prints no extraction ratio, so how concentrated it actually is can't be verified — and NOW doesn't print a verified beta-glucan percentage the way the premium picks do either. If you want a disclosed extraction ratio and a per-batch beta-glucan number on the bottle, or you want to replicate the Mori 2009 3 g/day protocol efficiently rather than churning through bottles at this dose, Real Mushrooms (#1) or FreshCap (#2) earn the upgrade. For a genuine, affordable, everyday fruiting-body bottle from a brand you can trust, though, it's still hard to beat on value. Keep the evidence honest — early, mostly older-adult, fades on stopping — match it to a real maintenance habit, and it's one of the most cost-effective real Lion's Mane options on the list.

Check price on Amazon

Affiliate link — Super Achiever Club earns a small commission at no extra cost to you.

▸ ALTERNATIVES

If this doesn’t fit — try these

▸ RESEARCH

Sources & further reading

  1. Mori 2009Mori K, Inatomi S, Ouchi K, Azumi Y, Tuchida T · 2009 · Phytotherapy Research · PMID 18844328

    Improving effects of the mushroom Yamabushitake (Hericium erinaceus) on mild cognitive impairment: a double-blind placebo-controlled clinical trial

    Double-blind, placebo-controlled trial in 30 adults aged 50-80 with mild cognitive impairment: 3 g/day of fruiting-body powder for 16 weeks significantly improved cognitive-scale scores vs placebo, with gains fading after stopping. The cornerstone cognition trial — and it used fruiting-body material, like NOW's extract powder, just at ~3× NOW's everyday serving by declared weight.

  2. Saitsu 2019Saitsu Y, Nishide A, Kikushima K, Shimizu K, Ohnuki K · 2019 · Biomedical Research · PMID 31413233

    Improvement of cognitive functions by oral intake of Hericium erinaceus

    Trial in 31 healthy older adults: 2.4 g/day of Hericium erinaceus for 12 weeks significantly improved scores on a standardized Japanese cognitive test. A supporting cognition signal in a non-impaired population that again used gram-level fruiting-body material — context for NOW's lower 1 g/day everyday serving.

  3. Nagano 2010Nagano M, Shimizu K, Kondo R, Hayashi C, Sato D, Kitagawa K, Ohnuki K · 2010 · Biomedical Research · PMID 20834180

    Reduction of depression and anxiety by 4 weeks Hericium erinaceus intake

    Placebo-controlled study in 30 women eating Hericium erinaceus for 4 weeks: depression and anxiety measures were significantly lower than placebo. The primary human mood signal — the secondary reason a fruiting-body bottle like NOW is worth a daily run, on a shorter ~4-week timeline than the cognition endpoint.

  4. Menon 2025Menon A, Jalal A, Arshad Z, Nawaz FA, Kashyap R · 2025 · Frontiers in Nutrition · PMID 40959699

    Benefits, side effects, and uses of Hericium erinaceus as a supplement: a systematic review

    Systematic review of the Hericium erinaceus supplement literature: reports consistent neuroprotective and NGF/BDNF-stimulating signals and cognitive/mood benefits, while concluding the human evidence remains preliminary and calls for larger, longer trials. The honest 'early evidence' frame for any Lion's Mane bottle, value or premium.