NOW Foods Cordyceps 750 mg Review
#7 of 10 · Best mainstream value✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Aug 27, 2026Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.
Consider it. Reliable, organic-labeled sinensis mycelium from a trusted brand — not the cheapest per day, and not the cordycepin-rich militaris form. GMP-tested, organic-labeled Cordyceps sinensis mycelium from NOW.
$17 / 90 capsules$0.19 / 750 mg capsule
Why It Scores 7.3 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number
Species & extract quality
30% of scoreOrganic Cordyceps sinensis mycelium — not the cordycepin-bearing militaris fruiting body, and the label doesn't print a specific strain name (commercial sinensis mycelium is commonly marketed as 'CS-4', the type the older human trials used). It carries lower expected cordycepin and is mycelium rather than a fruiting-body extract. Respectable and organic-labeled, but a clear tier below the militaris picks on the axis that decides active content.
- Species
- Organic Cordyceps sinensis (strain not stated on label)
- Dose
- 1,500 mg (2-capsule serving); label directs 2 capsules 2-3× daily = 4-6 capsules (3,000-4,500 mg) per day
Beta-glucan & active content
25% of scoreNot disclosed on the label, and cultured sinensis mycelium carries lower expected active content than a militaris fruiting body. Scored honestly on 'not stated' plus the lineage — not assumed worthless (this sinensis-mycelium category has human exercise data), but clearly behind the picks that disclose beta-glucan figures.
- Beta-glucans
- Not stated on the label
Purity & third-party testing
20% of scoreNOW's manufacturing is GMP-audited both in-house and by the third-party auditor Intertek (shown in the product's gallery photos), and the Supplement Facts panel itself declares the cordyceps ingredient 'Organic' — though no USDA Organic seal is visible on the packaging and no COA is published. The product is vegan. Re-scored up from an earlier version of this review, which overlooked the organic ingredient line and the third-party Intertek audit and incorrectly implied NOW sat below the organic-certified picks: a trustworthy, organic-labeled manufacturing story just shy of full COA transparency.
- Testing
- NOW in-house and third-party (Intertek) GMP testing; vegan; Kosher (K); non-GMO is stated on the retail listing but not printed on the bottle label
Value per day
15% of scoreThe raw per-capsule price is low (~$0.19), but the label's actual serving is 2 capsules ($0.38) and the directions call for 2 capsules 2 to 3 times daily — 4–6 capsules, or $0.76–$1.13, per day. At that label-directed dose the 90-count bottle lasts only about 15–22 days, and Double Wood and Nutricost pack more servings per dollar for sustained daily use. Re-scored down from an earlier version of this review, which priced the product as if one capsule were a full day's serving. Still reasonably affordable and easy to find — just not the bargain the per-capsule number implies.
- Count
- 90 capsules (45 servings)
- Price
- ~$17 / 90 caps = ~$0.19 per capsule; per the label's 2-capsule serving, ~$0.38/serving across 45 servings (~$0.76-$1.13/day at label directions)
Real-world energy / endurance response
10% of scoreNotably, this is the cultured sinensis-mycelium category with actual human exercise data (Chen 2010 tested CS-4 sinensis mycelium — improved sub-maximal thresholds over 12 weeks at roughly 1,000 mg/day, though not VO2max), which is a point in its favour even though the cordycepin content is lower and NOW's labeled dose (3,000–4,500 mg/day) is well above what that trial used. Capped by the mixed evidence and the lower-active-content lineage. A plausible modest support over weeks.
- Form
- Cultured/fermented mycelium (strain not specified)
- More Specs
- Cordycepin
- Not stated on the label (low expected for this cultured sinensis-mycelium form)
- Best for
- Value buyers who want an affordable, trusted, organic-labeled sinensis product
Label verified. Every figure read from the Supplement Facts photo, Aug 27, 2026.
Marketing Claims Vs. Reality
Organic Cordyceps sinensis mycelium, 750 mg per capsule (1,500 mg per 2-capsule serving).
Confirmed on the Supplement Facts panel: 'Organic Cordyceps (Cordyceps sinensis) (Mycelium) 1.5 g' per 2-capsule serving, i.e. 750 mg per capsule. Accurate as stated. The label doesn't print a specific strain name like 'CS-4'; this cultured sinensis mycelium is in the same category as the form used in the older human exercise trials (Chen 2010).
GMP-tested for quality and consistency.
Consistent with NOW's well-documented in-house GMP testing and long quality-control track record; the product's gallery photos also show a third-party GMP audit by Intertek. The manufacturing reliability is a genuine strength and one of the reasons to choose NOW at this price point.
Vegan; non-GMO (per retail listing).
Vegan is confirmed on the label — the front panel reads 'Vegetarian/Vegan,' and the capsule and stearic acid are plant-derived. 'Non-GMO' is not printed on the front, side, or back label itself; it appears only as a retail-listing attribute, so we can't verify it against the physical label and don't mark it label-verified.
Healthy Immune Support, Free Radical Scavenger, Healthy Vascular Function (label structure/function claims).
These three claims are printed on the front label, each carrying the required FDA disclaimer asterisk — standard structure/function claims not evaluated by the FDA. Separately, the older human exercise research on this cultured sinensis-mycelium category (Chen 2010) found improved sub-maximal exercise thresholds but no VO2max change — a modest, indirect line of evidence for stamina/endurance that isn't itself printed on NOW's label.
What Our Test Actually Found
Correction: label serving size is 2 capsules, not 1
An earlier version of this review said the product had 'flexible single-capsule 750 mg dosing' and priced it at ~$0.19/day, and never mentioned that the label declares the cordyceps ingredient organic. The Supplement Facts panel reads: 'Serving Size 2 Veg Capsules ... Organic Cordyceps (Cordyceps sinensis) (Mycelium) 1.5 g (1,500 mg) ... Servings Per Container 45,' and the back label directs 'Take 2 capsules 2 to 3 times daily' (4-6 capsules, 3,000-4,500 mg/day; roughly $0.76-$1.13/day; the bottle lasts 15-22 days at that dose). We re-read the label on Sep 3, 2026 and revised the Dose spec, the dosing FAQ, the price/value math, the Value per day score (9.0 -> 6.5), and the Purity & third-party testing score (8.5 -> 8.8, crediting the organic ingredient line and the third-party Intertek GMP audit shown in the product photos). Overall score: 7.6 -> 7.3. We also softened unverified 'CS-4' strain and 'non-GMO' references throughout, since neither is printed on the physical label.
It's cultured sinensis mycelium, the same category the older human exercise trials used
An honest point in NOW's favour: the original human cordyceps exercise research was done on cultured sinensis mycelium (commercially marketed as CS-4), not militaris. Chen 2010 gave older adults CS-4 sinensis mycelium for 12 weeks and measured improved sub-maximal metabolic and ventilatory thresholds (though not VO2max). So while this sinensis-mycelium category carries less cordycepin than militaris, it isn't an unstudied form — it has real, if modest and mixed, human data behind it, which is more than can be said for many supplements.
But it's lower-cordycepin mycelium, not a militaris fruiting body
The reason it ranks #7: this is cultured mycelium of Cordyceps sinensis (commercial sinensis mycelium is often marketed under strain names such as CS-4), grown in culture, and it carries little cordycepin — the marker compound that militaris accumulates (Tuli 2014). It's also mycelium rather than a concentrated fruiting-body extract, and the label discloses no beta-glucan number. On the active-content axis that defines the top of the list, it's a clear tier below the militaris fruiting-body picks.
Reliable and organic-labeled — but check the real per-day cost
Where NOW delivers is dependability and manufacturing trust: in-house and third-party (Intertek) GMP testing, a 30-plus-year quality-control reputation, an organic-labeled cordyceps ingredient, vegan formulation, and availability at nearly every retailer. But the value case needs the real numbers: the label serving is 2 capsules (not 1), directions call for 2 capsules 2 to 3 times daily, and at that dose a 90-count bottle runs about $0.76-$1.13 a day and lasts only 15-22 days. For a value buyer who understands they're getting cultured sinensis mycelium rather than a concentrated militaris extract — and who budgets for the real label-directed cost — it's a reasonable, low-risk purchase.
Keep endurance expectations measured
Even with this cultured sinensis-mycelium category's human data, the realistic expectation is modest. Chen 2010 found sub-maximal threshold improvements, not a VO2max boost, at a lower dose than NOW's own label directs, and the broader human evidence for cordyceps is limited and mixed. Take it daily for several weeks (the trial ran 12), pair it with actual training, and treat any improvement in exercise economy as a welcome bonus rather than a guaranteed performance jump.
Full analysis: all pros & cons (8), buy if / skip if
- Trusted high-volume brand with in-house and third-party (Intertek) GMP testing
- Organic-labeled Cordyceps sinensis ingredient, vegan, and Kosher (K)
- Low per-capsule price and widely stocked
- Same cultured sinensis-mycelium category the older human exercise trials used (Chen 2010)
- Cultured Cordyceps sinensis mycelium, not militaris fruiting body — lower expected cordycepin
- No beta-glucan standardisation disclosed
- Label serving is 2 capsules (not 1); at the labeled 2-3x/day dose, a 90-count bottle lasts only 15-22 days and costs ~$0.76-$1.13/day
- Human exercise data for this sinensis-mycelium category showed sub-maximal threshold gains but no VO2max change, at a lower dose (~1,000 mg/day) than NOW's own label directs (3,000-4,500 mg/day)
- You want an affordable, dependable cordyceps from a trusted, GMP-audited brand
- You're fine with the label's 2-capsule serving (4–6 capsules/day) dosing, and want a vegan, organic-labeled product
- You specifically want cultured sinensis mycelium, the same category the older human exercise trials used
- You'll run it consistently for weeks and keep endurance expectations measured
- You want the cordycepin-rich militaris fruiting body with a disclosed beta-glucan number — buy #1, #2, or #3
- You want the lowest possible cost-per-day across many servings — Double Wood (#8) or Nutricost (#6) give more servings per dollar
- You expect a guaranteed endurance boost — the human evidence is promising and mixed, not proven
GMP-tested, organic-labeled Cordyceps sinensis mycelium from NOW. The per-capsule price is low (~$0.19), but the label serving is 2 capsules (1,500 mg) and directions call for 2 capsules 2 to 3 times daily — that's $0.76–$1.13 a day and a 90-count bottle lasting 15–22 days, not single-capsule pricing. It's in the same cultured sinensis-mycelium category the older human exercise trials used (Chen 2010 — improved sub-maximal thresholds but not VO2max, at a lower dose than NOW's own label directs). The honest catch: sinensis mycelium carries lower expected cordycepin than a militaris fruiting body, and no beta-glucan number is disclosed. Consider it for trusted, organic-labeled value at label directions; for verified active content, a militaris fruiting-body extract (#1, #2, #3) is the stronger buy.
NOW Foods Cordyceps is the reliable mainstream value entry, and it comes with an interesting wrinkle: it's organic, cultured Cordyceps sinensis mycelium in the same category the older human exercise trials actually used. NOW is a high-volume brand with in-house and third-party (Intertek) GMP-audited manufacturing and a long record of consistent quality control. The per-capsule price is low (~$0.19), but the label serving is 2 capsules and the directions call for 2 capsules 2 to 3 times daily — so the real cost runs about $0.76–$1.13 a day, and the 90-count bottle lasts roughly 15–22 days at full dosing, not the bargain a single-capsule read suggests. On this list's terms, though, it sits at #7. It's cultured mycelium of Cordyceps sinensis, grown in culture because real wild sinensis costs more than gold — and it carries lower expected cordycepin than the militaris fruiting body the top picks use, with no beta-glucan number disclosed. That's not a knock on the manufacturing, which is trustworthy and organic-labeled; it's a statement about the lineage and form. A dependable, well-made bottle for a value buyer who budgets for the real label-directed cost — just not the cordycepin-rich extract that defines the top of the list. Here's the breakdown.
Reliable, organic-labeled sinensis mycelium — consider it for trusted value at the real label dose, not for cordycepin-rich potency.
NOW Foods Cordyceps is the dependable mainstream pick, and it carries a genuine point of interest: it's cultured Cordyceps sinensis mycelium, organic-labeled, in the same category the older human exercise trials used. NOW's in-house and third-party (Intertek) GMP testing is reliable, and the per-capsule price is low (~$0.19) — but the label serving is 2 capsules (1,500 mg) and directions call for 2 capsules 2 to 3 times daily, so the real cost runs about $0.76-$1.13 a day and a 90-count bottle lasts roughly 15-22 days at full dosing. For value buyers who budget for that real cost, the manufacturing trust and the organic ingredient line are genuine strengths. It ranks #6 because of lineage and form, not quality of manufacture: it's lower-cordycepin sinensis mycelium, not the militaris fruiting body the top picks use, and no beta-glucan number is disclosed. The honest evidence read is measured too — Chen 2010 found this sinensis-mycelium category improved sub-maximal exercise thresholds over 12 weeks at roughly 1,000 mg/day (lower than NOW's own labeled dose) but not VO2max. So consider NOW if you want an organic-labeled, trusted cordyceps at its real label-directed cost and are fine with the sinensis-mycelium trade; choose a militaris fruiting-body extract (Real Mushrooms #2, FreshCap #1, Nootropics Depot #3) if you want verified, cordycepin-relevant active content. Either way, run it for weeks alongside training and keep expectations realistic.
If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These
02Real Mushrooms Cordyceps-M
If you understand the category, this is the bottle you buy.
08Double Wood Cordyceps
Double Wood is the budget champion.
06Nutricost Cordyceps
Nutricost is the high-count value play: 180 capsules, 90 servings, CCOF made-with-organic, from an established budget brand with a clean, transparent label — at a price that makes a multi-month run trivially affordable.
Quick Answers
Is cultured sinensis mycelium worse than Cordyceps militaris?
Not 'worse', but different — and lower on the spec a knowledgeable buyer prioritises. NOW's Supplement Facts panel declares 'Organic Cordyceps (Cordyceps sinensis) (Mycelium)'; it doesn't print a specific strain name like 'CS-4.' Commercial sinensis mycelium (often marketed under strain names such as CS-4) is grown in liquid culture because real wild sinensis is astronomically expensive, and it carries little to no cordycepin, the marker compound that Cordyceps militaris accumulates (Tuli 2014). So on active content, a militaris fruiting body ranks higher. The interesting wrinkle: the older human exercise trials used this same category of cultured sinensis mycelium — Chen 2010 tested CS-4 sinensis and found improved sub-maximal exercise thresholds (though not VO2max), and NOW's product sits in that same lineage. So it isn't inert; it's just the lower-cordycepin category.
Why buy NOW over a fancier brand?
Price, reliability, and trust. NOW is a high-volume brand with in-house and third-party (Intertek) GMP-audited manufacturing and a long track record of consistent quality control, and the raw unit price is low at around $0.19 a capsule. Just note the label serving is 2 capsules (1,500 mg), and the directions call for 2 capsules 2 to 3 times daily — so the real cost runs about $0.76–$1.13 a day, and a 90-count bottle lasts roughly 15–22 days at full label dosing, not the bargain a single-capsule read implies. It's organic-labeled Cordyceps sinensis mycelium, it's vegan, and it's stocked everywhere. You're buying a dependable, reasonably priced sinensis-mycelium product from a trusted name — not a concentrated, disclosed-potency militaris extract. For a value-focused buyer who's fine with that trade, it's a sensible choice.
Does it disclose beta-glucans or cordycepin?
No — neither the label nor the listing publishes a beta-glucan or cordycepin number, so we record 'not stated on the label' rather than estimating one. And because it's cultured sinensis mycelium rather than the militaris fruiting body, the expected cordycepin content is low regardless. If a disclosed active-content figure matters to you, the fruiting-body extracts disclose them: Real Mushrooms (>8% beta-glucans), FreshCap (32%), Double Wood (7% total polysaccharides).
How should I dose it?
Follow the label exactly: 'Take 2 capsules 2 to 3 times daily.' That's 4–6 capsules — 3,000–4,500 mg — a day, not a single flexible capsule. A 90-count bottle holds 45 of the label's 2-capsule servings, so at full label dosing it lasts roughly 15–22 days. Because any cordyceps effect builds over weeks rather than acting acutely, consistency matters more than timing — take it daily and give it several weeks. Note that the older sinensis-mycelium exercise trial (Chen 2010) used roughly 1,000 mg/day for 12 weeks before measuring changes — a lower dose than NOW's own label directs — so patience is appropriate.
Will it help my energy or endurance?
Possibly modestly, over weeks — and notably this is cultured sinensis mycelium, the same category with actual (if mixed) human exercise data behind it. Chen 2010 found CS-4 sinensis mycelium improved sub-maximal metabolic and ventilatory thresholds in older adults over 12 weeks at roughly 1,000 mg/day, though it did NOT change VO2max — a lower dose than NOW's own labeled 3,000–4,500 mg/day. The militaris evidence (Hirsch 2017) is on a different, higher-cordycepin form. So expectations should be measured: take it consistently, pair it with training, and treat any improvement in exercise economy as a bonus rather than a guarantee.
Sources & Further Reading
3 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
- [1] Chen 2010 PMID 20804368 — Effect of Cs-4 (Cordyceps sinensis) on exercise performance in healthy older subjects: a double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. 20 healthy older adults, 12 weeks: CS-4 (Cordyceps sinensis) at 333 mg ×3/day raised the metabolic threshold by 10.5% and ventilatory threshold by 8.5% versus no change on placebo — but VO2max did NOT change. This is the same cultured sinensis-mycelium category as NOW's product, though NOW's label doesn't state the specific strain and directs a higher daily dose (3,000-4,500 mg vs. this trial's ~1,000 mg/day); the evidence is for improved sub-maximal exercise economy, not peak aerobic power.
- [2] Hirsch 2017 PMID 27408987 — Cordyceps militaris Improves Tolerance to High-Intensity Exercise After Acute and Chronic Supplementation. Cited as the contrast: a Cordyceps militaris blend improved VO2max and time-to-exhaustion after 3 weeks. The stronger endurance signal is on the militaris form, not the sinensis mycelium form NOW uses — the reason militaris fruiting-body extracts rank above sinensis mycelium on this axis.
- [3] Tuli 2014 PMID 28324458 — Pharmacological and therapeutic potential of Cordyceps with special reference to Cordycepin. Review of cordycepin, the principal bioactive of Cordyceps militaris. Explains why sinensis mycelium (which carries little cordycepin) ranks below a militaris fruiting body on active content.
Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.