Lindberg Saw Palmetto Extract 320 mg Review
#2 of 9 · Best Value✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Aug 27, 2026Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.
Buy it. Trial-grade standardization at a bulk-bottle price. Explicit 85-95% fatty-acid/sterol standardization and the 320 mg clinical dose, with a 180-count bottle that crushes cost per day.
approx $18-24approx $0.12/serving
Why It Scores 8.0 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number
Standardization & Form
30% of scoreExplicitly standardized to 85-95% fatty acids and sterols - the liposterolic fraction used in the clinical literature. Softgel form protects the oily actives. Slightly behind Life Extension's CO2 process only on extraction method disclosure.
- Form
- Softgel (once daily)
- Standardization
- 85-95% fatty acids and sterols (liposterolic)
Dose vs Clinical Range
25% of score320 mg per softgel matches the daily dose across the major BPH trials, delivered once daily.
- Dose
- 320 mg extract
Third-Party Testing & Purity
20% of scoreNon-GMO and made to standard GMP, but Lindberg does not prominently publish an independent third-party COA, so testing transparency trails the top picks.
- Testing
- Non-GMO; standard GMP (no published independent COA)
Tolerability & Safety
15% of scoreStandard saw palmetto tolerability; occasional mild GI upset. No unusual additives flagged.
Value / Cost per Dose
10% of score180 softgels for roughly $18-24 is about $0.10-0.13/day - the best cost-per-clinical-dose on this list by a wide margin.
- Count
- 180 softgels (~6-month supply)
- Cost per dose
- ~$0.10-0.13/day
Label verified. Every figure read from the Supplement Facts photo, Aug 27, 2026.
Marketing Claims Vs. Reality
Standardized to 85-95% fatty acids and sterols - the studied liposterolic fraction
The label specifies 85-95% fatty acid and sterol standardization, matching the extract characterization used in the clinical BPH trials.
A six-month supply makes it the best value for a real trial
180 softgels at one per day is roughly six months; at ~$18-24 the cost per clinical dose is the lowest among the nine products reviewed.
Standardization means it will work where cheaper berry powders fail
Standardization matches the trials, but the trials themselves are mixed - Bent 2006 and Barry 2011 were null. Correct dosing improves the odds the study is fair, not that the outcome is positive.
What Our Test Actually Found
Cost per clinical dose is the whole story
Saw palmetto trials run for months. A 30-count bottle turns a fair trial into an expensive one. Lindberg's 180-count at the correct standardization lets you run a full multi-month course for under $25, which is why it earns Best Value over the identically dosed but smaller Source Naturals and Life Extension bottles.
You give up testing transparency, not potency
The gap to #1 is documentation, not the softgel. Lindberg does not publish an independent COA and does not specify CO2 versus solvent extraction. If you value paperwork you pay more elsewhere; if you value the actual dose, this is equivalent.
Full analysis: all pros & cons (6), buy if / skip if
- Explicit 85-95% fatty-acid/sterol liposterolic standardization
- Exact 320 mg clinical dose, once daily
- 180-count bottle is the lowest cost per clinical dose here
- No hair-loss hype on the label - just the studied material
- No published independent third-party COA
- Extraction method (CO2 vs solvent) not disclosed
- Explicit 85-95% fatty-acid/sterol liposterolic standardization
- Exact 320 mg clinical dose, once daily
- 180-count bottle is the lowest cost per clinical dose here
- No published independent third-party COA
- Extraction method (CO2 vs solvent) not disclosed
Explicit 85-95% fatty-acid/sterol standardization and the 320 mg clinical dose, with a 180-count bottle that crushes cost per day. Buy it if you want the studied material without paying a premium. The only thing missing versus #1 is a published third-party COA and CO2 extraction.
Lindberg does the two things that matter and skips the marketing. It states the exact liposterolic standardization the trials used (85-95% fatty acids and sterols) and delivers the 320 mg clinical dose - then packs 180 softgels into one bottle, which makes it roughly a six-month supply and the cheapest legitimate way to run a saw palmetto trial. It loses to Life Extension only on extraction pedigree and published testing depth, not on what is in the softgel. For most people who have decided to try standardized saw palmetto, this is the rational buy.
The value pick that gives up almost nothing
For anyone who has decided to trial standardized saw palmetto and does not need a published COA, Lindberg is the smart money. You get the exact standardization and dose of the literature in a bottle that lasts half a year for the price of a single month elsewhere. The evidence caveats are identical to every product here - the compound's BPH benefit is contested and hair data are weak - but if you are running the experiment anyway, run it cheaply and correctly.
If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These
01Life Extension PalmettoGuard
If you want the extract that most closely resembles what researchers actually studied, this is it: CO2-extracted liposterolic saw palmetto at the full clinical dose with a phytosterol that reinforces the DHT-blocking rationale.
04Source Naturals 320 mg
A dependable liposterolic extract at the right dose, with a hexane-free process that appeals to the solvent-conscious.
Quick Answers
Is the 180-count bottle too much if it might not work?
Saw palmetto needs months to fairly evaluate, so a six-month supply is the right amount for one honest trial. The low per-dose cost is exactly what makes running that trial affordable.
How is this different from the #1 pick?
The softgel dose and standardization are effectively equivalent. Life Extension adds CO2 extraction, beta-sitosterol, and published COAs; Lindberg gives you the studied material for a fraction of the per-day cost.
Sources & Further Reading
2 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
- [1] Tacklind J, MacDonald R, Rutks I, Stanke JU, Wilt TJ. Serenoa repens for benign prostatic hyperplasia. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2012;12:CD001423. PMID 23235581 — Serenoa repens for benign prostatic hyperplasia. This updated Cochrane review of 32 trials concluded saw palmetto, even at double the standard dose, did not improve urinary symptoms or flow compared with placebo.
- [2] Wilt TJ, Ishani A, Stark G, MacDonald R, Lau J, Mulrow C. Saw palmetto extracts for treatment of benign prostatic hyperplasia: a systematic review. JAMA. 1998;280(18):1604-1609. PMID 9820264 — Saw palmetto extracts for treatment of benign prostatic hyperplasia: a systematic review. An earlier systematic review found saw palmetto improved urinary symptoms and flow versus placebo, illustrating the positive early data that later large trials failed to confirm.
Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.