Havasu Nutrition Saw Palmetto for Men (DHT Blocker) Review

Havasu Nutrition Saw Palmetto for Men (DHT Blocker) — productSAC Studio
Most Marketing, Least StandardizationSKIP
How the score breaks downHide breakdown
SAC Product Score™ — how it breaks down
  • Standardization & Form30%5.0
  • Dose vs Clinical Range25%6.0
  • Third-Party Testing & Purity20%6.5
  • Tolerability & Safety15%8.0
  • Value / Cost per Dose10%6.0

The pitch is loud; the standardization and evidence are not

Buy if…
  • Non-GMO and vegan capsule
  • Reasonable 500 mg per-serving amount for a berry product
Skip if…
  • Blend ratio of raw fruit vs. the 45%-fatty-acid extract is not disclosed, despite prominent DHT-blocker marketing
  • Hair-growth claims rest on weak preliminary evidence; no published COA
Read the full analysis
Also buy if…
  • Widely available and familiar in the hair-loss niche

Havasu leans into the hair-loss niche: the label sells a DHT blocker for men, hair and prostate support, the whole pitch. Under the marketing is a 500 mg Saw Palmetto Blend of raw fruit and an extract standardized to 45% fatty acids per serving - the label does not say how much of the 500 mg is the standardized extract, and 45% is well below the roughly 85-95% fatty-acid standard used in most trial extracts, plus there is no published COA - and hair-growth claims that ride on a handful of small, preliminary studies. Saw palmetto does act on the 5-alpha-reductase/DHT pathway, but far more weakly than finasteride, and the human hair evidence is thin. This is the clearest example on the list of claims outrunning substantiation.

▸ THE SCORE

How we built the SAC Product Score™6.1/10

Standardization & Form30%5/10

The label lists a blend of raw fruit and an extract standardized to 45% fatty acids, but does not disclose how much of the 500 mg is the standardized portion, and 45% sits well below the roughly 85-95% fatty-acid standard used in most clinical liposterolic extracts. Partial disclosure, still the weakest link here.

Dose vs Clinical Range25%6/10

500 mg per serving of an undisclosed-ratio blend of raw fruit and a 45%-fatty-acid extract cannot be equated to the 320 mg, ~85-95%-fatty-acid liposterolic extract dose used in trials.

Third-Party Testing & Purity20%6.5/10

Non-GMO and vegan, but no prominently published independent COA to back the hair/DHT positioning.

Tolerability & Safety15%8/10

Generally well tolerated as a berry capsule; the main risk is disappointment against overstated hair claims, not physical harm.

Value / Cost per Dose10%6/10

100 capsules for ~$14-18 is average; you are partly paying for the DHT-blocker branding rather than a superior extract.

▸ SPECS

The product at a glance

Form
Capsule (whole-berry)
Dose
500 mg per serving
Count
100 capsules
Standardization
Blend of raw fruit + extract standardized to 45% Fatty Acids (split not disclosed)
Testing
Non-GMO, vegan (no published independent COA)
Cost per dose
~$0.14-0.18/day
▸ TRUTH CHECK

Marketing claims vs. reality

Not verified

Blocks DHT to stop hair loss

Saw palmetto weakly inhibits 5-alpha-reductase, but human hair-loss evidence is limited to small preliminary studies (Prager 2002; Rossi 2012). It is not an established DHT blocker for hair on par with finasteride.

Partial

Provides prostate and urinary support

Saw palmetto is traditionally used for BPH, but the largest rigorous trials (Bent 2006, Barry 2011) found no benefit over placebo, so support claims are contested.

False

500 mg delivers a clinically meaningful saw palmetto dose

The label lists a 500 mg blend of raw fruit and an extract standardized to only 45% fatty acids (split undisclosed), not the ~85-95% fatty-acid, 320 mg liposterolic extract used in the trials, so the dose is not clinically equivalent.

▸ THE DEEP DIVE

What our test actually found

01Correction: the label does print a fatty-acid standardization figure

An earlier version of this review called the saw palmetto "unstandardized" with "no fatty-acid specification." The Supplement Facts panel reads: Saw Palmetto Blend 500 mg (Saw Palmetto Fruit + Saw Palmetto Extract 45% Fatty Acids). The label does not disclose how much of the 500 mg is the standardized extract versus raw fruit, and 45% is well below the roughly 85-95% fatty-acid standard used in most clinical liposterolic extracts - but it is not undisclosed. We re-read the label on Sep 7, 2026 and corrected the standardization language and the Standardization & Form score throughout this review.

02Marketing is doing the heavy lifting

The DHT-blocker, hair-vitamin framing is the product's main feature. The actual contents - a 500 mg blend of raw fruit and an extract standardized to only 45% fatty acids, with the split undisclosed and no published COA - are less impressive than the label implies. When the claim is louder than the substantiation, that is the tell.

03The hair-loss evidence does not support the promise

The few human trials of saw palmetto for androgenetic alopecia (Prager 2002; Rossi 2012) are small and preliminary and show far weaker effects than finasteride. Buying this expecting reliable regrowth is buying the marketing, not the data.

▸ THE TRADE-OFFS

Pros & cons, no sugar-coating

Pros
  • Non-GMO and vegan capsule
  • Reasonable 500 mg per-serving amount for a berry product
  • Widely available and familiar in the hair-loss niche
  • Simple once-daily capsule
Cons
  • Blend ratio of raw fruit vs. the 45%-fatty-acid extract is not disclosed, despite prominent DHT-blocker marketing
  • Hair-growth claims rest on weak preliminary evidence; no published COA
▸ THE BOTTOM LINE

Skip the pitch, keep your money

Havasu is the product where marketing most outruns substance. It is sold as a DHT-blocking hair vitamin, but inside is a 500 mg blend of raw fruit and an extract standardized to only 45% fatty acids - the label doesn't say how much of each - with no published testing and hair claims built on a few small, preliminary studies. Saw palmetto's DHT effect is real but weak, and there is no reason to pay for the branding. If you want to trial saw palmetto honestly, a standardized 320 mg extract is the better buy.

Check price on Amazon

Affiliate link — Super Achiever Club earns a small commission at no extra cost to you.

▸ ALTERNATIVES

If this doesn’t fit — try these

▸ RESEARCH

Sources & further reading

  1. Prager N, Bickett K, French N, Marcovici G. A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial to determine the effectiveness of botanically derived inhibitors of 5-alpha-reductase in the treatment of androgenetic alopecia. J Altern Complement Med. 2002;8(2):143-152.Prager N, Bickett K, French N, Marcovici G. · 2002 · Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine · PMID 12006122

    A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial to determine the effectiveness of botanically derived inhibitors of 5-alpha-reductase in the treatment of androgenetic alopecia

    A small pilot trial reported modest hair improvement with a saw palmetto-based formula, but the sample was tiny and preliminary - not proof of reliable regrowth.

  2. Rossi A, Mari E, Scarno M, et al. Comparative effectiveness of finasteride vs Serenoa repens in male androgenetic alopecia. Int J Immunopathol Pharmacol. 2012;25(4):1167-1173.Rossi A, Mari E, Scarno M, et al. · 2012 · International Journal of Immunopathology and Pharmacology · PMID 23298508

    Comparative effectiveness of finasteride vs Serenoa repens in male androgenetic alopecia

    Saw palmetto produced far smaller hair improvements than finasteride, confirming its DHT effect is weak relative to the pharmaceutical standard.