FreshCap Cordyceps Review
#1 of 10 · Best overall✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Aug 27, 2026Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.
Buy it. The highest disclosed potency on the list — a 10:1 fruiting-body extract at 32% beta-glucans. A CCOF-organic, third-party-tested, 10:1 whole-fruiting-body extract standardised to 32% beta-glucans — the single highest disclosed active-content figure here, with no grain filler, at ~$0.50 per 1,000 mg serving.
$30 / 120 capsules (60 servings)$0.50 / 1,000 mg serving (2 capsules)
Why It Scores 9.4 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number
Species & extract quality
30% of scoreA concentrated 10:1 whole-fruiting-body water extract with no added grain, and the species is stated explicitly on the Supplement Facts panel: Cordyceps militaris. Correction (Sep 3, 2026): an earlier version of this review said the species was labelled only generically; it is not — militaris is printed on the panel. That removes the only deduction on this axis, so it now sits at the top of the list for species and extract disclosure.
- Species
- Cordyceps militaris (fruiting body) — named explicitly on the Supplement Facts panel
- Dose
- 1,000 mg (2 capsules)
- Certifications
- CCOF organic, third-party tested
Beta-glucan & active content
25% of scoreThe best on the list. Standardised to 32% beta-glucans — a fruiting-body-derived, specifically-stated figure, and the single highest disclosed active-content number across all nine products. This is the cleanest possible signal of concentrated active content and the product's defining strength.
- Beta-glucans
- 32% — standardised; highest disclosed figure on the list
Purity & third-party testing
20% of scoreCCOF organic and third-party tested for purity and potency, with no added grain. Strong transparency for a concentrated fungal extract — the standardised beta-glucan figure plus third-party testing is exactly the right combination. Credited on what the listing documents.
Value per day
15% of scoreAbout $0.50 per 1,000 mg serving (60 servings for ~$30). For a 10:1 standardised extract at 32% beta-glucans, that's strong value — you're getting the highest disclosed potency on the list at a per-serving cost very close to the overall winner. Premium versus mycelium, but well-priced within the fruiting-body tier.
- Count
- 120 capsules = 60 servings (~2 months)
- Price
- ~$30 / 120 caps = ~$0.50 per 1,000 mg serving
Real-world energy / endurance response
10% of scoreThe right form at the highest disclosed potency, so a strong way to test cordyceps if any version works for you. Scored high for plausibility but capped by the limited, mixed human evidence (Hirsch 2017 positive on a militaris blend after 3 weeks; Chen 2010 sub-maximal-only on CS-4). Effects build over weeks and aren't guaranteed.
- Form
- 10:1 concentrated whole-fruiting-body water extract — no added grain
- More Specs
- Cordycepin
- Not stated on the listing
- Best for
- Buyers who want maximum disclosed beta-glucan potency per capsule
Label verified. Every figure read from the Supplement Facts photo, Aug 27, 2026.
Marketing Claims Vs. Reality
Standardised to 32% beta-glucans.
The listing states a standardised 32% beta-glucan figure — the highest disclosed active-content number on this list, and a fruiting-body-derived spec rather than a vague total-polysaccharide claim. This is the product's headline strength and is exactly the kind of specific, meaningful potency statement a serious extract should make.
10:1 concentrated whole-fruiting-body extract, no added grain.
Supported by the listing: a 10:1 water extract of the whole fruiting body with no grain substrate. The right, concentrated form — the actual mushroom rather than mycelium-on-grain — which is a core reason it ranks near the top.
CCOF organic and third-party tested.
Stated on the listing. CCOF organic certification plus third-party testing for purity and potency is strong, appropriate transparency for a concentrated fungal extract.
Boosts energy and endurance, enhances performance, and supports recovery after exercise.
This is the label's own claim (back label: 'Boost your energy and endurance, enhance performance, and support recovery after exercise'). The right form at high potency makes this a reasonable way to test cordyceps, and the mechanism is coherent (cordycepin → cellular ATP; Tuli 2014, Hsu 2020) — but the human evidence is limited and mixed (Hirsch 2017 positive after 3 weeks in a blend; Chen 2010 sub-maximal thresholds but no VO2max change on CS-4). Honest as 'supports'; overstated as a guaranteed energy or performance boost.
What Our Test Actually Found
Correction: the label does name the species — Cordyceps militaris
An earlier version of this review said FreshCap's listing labels the species only generically as 'Cordyceps,' without naming militaris, and used that as the sole reason it ranked behind the #1 pick. The Supplement Facts panel reads 'Organic Cordyceps Extract (Cordyceps militaris) ... (Fruiting Body)' — militaris is printed on the label. We re-read the label on Sep 3, 2026 and revised the review: the Species & extract quality score moved 9.3 → 9.8, overallScore moved 9.2 → 9.4, and every place that cited the false species-labelling gap as the reason for the #2 ranking now cites the real difference — Real Mushrooms' (#2) beta-glucan figure is third-party-verified, while FreshCap's 32% is a label claim without a published independent assay behind that specific number.
32% beta-glucans is the headline — and it's the highest disclosed figure here
Beta-glucans are the active polysaccharides that come from the fruiting body, not from grain starch, and FreshCap's standardised 32% is the single highest beta-glucan number any product on this list discloses (versus >8% for #1 and 7% total polysaccharides for #8). A high, specifically-stated beta-glucan percentage is the cleanest evidence of concentrated active content, and on that axis FreshCap leads outright.
The verification gap — not species naming — is what separates it from #1
FreshCap's label names the species explicitly as Cordyceps militaris, the same as Real Mushrooms (#2). The real difference is verification: Real Mushrooms publishes a third-party-verified beta-glucan figure, while FreshCap's 32% is stated on its own listing without a published independent assay tied to that number. It's a close call: on extract concentration and disclosed potency, FreshCap is the strongest here.
Strong value for the highest potency on the list
At ~$0.50 per 1,000 mg serving, FreshCap delivers the highest disclosed beta-glucan figure on the list at a per-serving price essentially tied with the overall winner. For a 10:1 standardised, CCOF-organic, third-party-tested extract, that's genuinely good value within the fruiting-body tier — you're not paying a premium over #1 for the extra disclosed potency.
Keep endurance expectations measured — it's still cordyceps
Even the highest-potency bottle on the list is bound by cordyceps' limited human evidence. A militaris blend improved VO2max and time-to-exhaustion after 3 weeks in one small trial (Hirsch 2017); CS-4 improved sub-maximal thresholds but not VO2max in another (Chen 2010); the mechanism is coherent but largely preclinical (Hsu 2020). Run it daily for several weeks alongside real training, and treat any aerobic gain as a welcome bonus rather than a promise.
Full analysis: all pros & cons (8), buy if / skip if
- Standardised to 32% beta-glucans — the single highest disclosed active-content figure on the list
- 10:1 concentrated whole-fruiting-body extract with no added grain
- CCOF organic and third-party tested for purity and potency
- Excellent value — highest disclosed potency at a per-serving cost near the overall winner
- 60 servings per bottle
- The 32% beta-glucan figure is a label claim, not backed by a published third-party assay (unlike the #1 pick's verified figure)
- Cordycepin content is not stated on the listing (so no cordycepin claim is made)
- Human endurance evidence for cordyceps generally is promising but limited and mixed
- You want the highest disclosed beta-glucan figure on the list (32%) per capsule
- You want a concentrated 10:1 whole-fruiting-body extract, not mycelium-on-grain
- You value CCOF-organic certification and third-party purity/potency testing
- You'll run it consistently for weeks and treat any energy/endurance gain as a bonus
- You want a beta-glucan figure backed by a published third-party assay rather than a label claim — buy Real Mushrooms (#2) instead
- You want the lowest cost-per-day — a CS-4 mycelium value pick (Double Wood #8) is cheaper
- You expect a guaranteed, dramatic endurance effect — the human evidence is promising, not proven
A CCOF-organic, third-party-tested, 10:1 whole-fruiting-body extract standardised to 32% beta-glucans — the single highest disclosed active-content figure here, with no grain filler, at ~$0.50 per 1,000 mg serving. The label names the species explicitly as Cordyceps militaris; what separates it from the #1 pick is that Real Mushrooms' beta-glucan figure carries independent third-party verification while FreshCap's is a label claim. Buy it if maximum stated potency per capsule is your priority; judge it over weeks and keep endurance expectations measured.
FreshCap Cordyceps is the potency play. It's a 10:1 concentrated whole-fruiting-body extract standardised to 32% beta-glucans — the single highest disclosed active-content figure on this entire list — with no added grain substrate and CCOF-organic, third-party-tested sourcing behind it. On the axis of 'how much verified active content is in each capsule', nothing here beats it. The label does name the species explicitly — Cordyceps militaris is printed on the Supplement Facts panel, same as the #1 pick. What keeps it a hair behind is verification, not disclosure: Real Mushrooms' beta-glucan figure is confirmed by an independent third-party assay, while FreshCap's 32% is a label claim without a published outside test behind that specific number. It's genuinely close, and FreshCap is barely a step behind. The usual honest caveat applies: a cordycepin percentage isn't published (so we don't claim one), and cordyceps' human endurance evidence is promising but limited. For the buyer who wants the biggest verified beta-glucan figure per capsule, this is the bottle. Here's the breakdown.
The potency pick — buy it for the highest disclosed beta-glucans, judge it over weeks.
FreshCap Cordyceps is the bottle to buy when your priority is verified active content per capsule. A 10:1 concentrated whole-fruiting-body extract standardised to 32% beta-glucans is the single highest disclosed potency figure on this list, it uses no grain filler, and it's backed by CCOF-organic certification and third-party testing — all at a per-serving price essentially tied with the overall winner. The label does name the species explicitly — Cordyceps militaris is printed on the Supplement Facts panel. What keeps it a step behind #1 is verification: Real Mushrooms' beta-glucan figure is confirmed by an independent third-party assay, while FreshCap states its 32% on its own listing without a published outside test behind that specific number. If a third-party-verified potency figure matters most to you, buy Real Mushrooms (#2); if you want the single highest disclosed beta-glucan number per capsule, FreshCap is the pick and is barely a step behind. As always, no cordycepin figure is published so we don't claim one, and cordyceps' human endurance evidence is promising but limited — so run it consistently for several weeks with real training and treat any gain as a bonus. For potency-focused buyers, it's an easy recommendation.
If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These
01FreshCap Cordyceps
FreshCap is the potency pick.
03Nootropics Depot Cordyceps Militaris
Nootropics Depot is the pick for buyers who trust the paperwork over the marketing.
04Om Cordyceps
Om is a solid middle-of-the-list full-spectrum option.
Quick Answers
Is 32% beta-glucans really the highest potency here?
Yes — it's the highest beta-glucan figure any product on this list discloses. For context, Real Mushrooms (#2) states >8% and Double Wood (#8) states 7% total polysaccharides; FreshCap's 32% is a standardised beta-glucan number from a 10:1 concentrated whole-fruiting-body extract. Beta-glucans are the well-characterised active polysaccharides in medicinal mushrooms, and they come from the fruiting body rather than grain starch — so a high, specifically-stated beta-glucan percentage is the cleanest signal of concentrated active content. On that single axis, FreshCap leads the list.
Why is it ranked #2 instead of #1 if it has higher beta-glucans?
It isn't a species-naming issue — FreshCap's label does name the species explicitly. 'Organic Cordyceps Extract (Cordyceps militaris)' is printed right on the Supplement Facts panel, same as Real Mushrooms (#2). The real difference is verification: Real Mushrooms publishes a third-party-verified beta-glucan figure for its extract, while FreshCap's 32% is a label claim without a published independent assay behind that specific number. On a spec where you're trusting a printed percentage, that outside confirmation is what keeps Real Mushrooms a hair ahead. It's genuinely close: FreshCap is a CCOF-organic, third-party-tested (for purity and potency generally), 10:1 fruiting-body extract with the highest disclosed beta-glucan number here, and it sits barely a step behind the winner.
What does '10:1 extract' mean?
It means roughly 10 kg of raw cordyceps fruiting body is concentrated into 1 kg of finished extract — a concentration ratio. Combined with water extraction and a standardised 32% beta-glucan spec, it indicates a genuinely concentrated product rather than ground mushroom or mycelium-on-grain. The ratio on its own isn't a potency guarantee, which is why the standardised 32% beta-glucan figure matters more — but together they describe a serious, concentrated fruiting-body extract.
Will it boost my endurance or energy?
It's the right form at the highest disclosed potency, so if cordyceps helps you, this is a strong way to test it — but keep expectations honest. The human evidence is limited and mixed: a militaris blend improved VO2max and time-to-exhaustion after 3 weeks in one small trial (Hirsch 2017, PMID 27408987), while CS-4 sinensis improved sub-maximal thresholds but not VO2max in another (Chen 2010). The cordycepin-to-cellular-ATP mechanism is coherent (Tuli 2014; Hsu 2020) but the large replicated human RCT doesn't exist yet. Take it daily for several weeks, pair it with training, and treat any gain as a bonus.
Is it organic and tested?
Yes, to what the listing documents: it's CCOF organic and third-party tested for purity and potency, with no added grain. For a concentrated fungal extract, third-party testing of purity and the standardised beta-glucan figure is exactly the right transparency. We state only what the listing supports — a cordycepin percentage is not published, so we don't quote one.
Sources & Further Reading
3 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
- [1] Hirsch 2017 PMID 27408987 — Cordyceps militaris Improves Tolerance to High-Intensity Exercise After Acute and Chronic Supplementation. 28 healthy adults, randomized double-blind placebo-controlled: a Cordyceps militaris–containing blend (4 g/day) improved VO2max and time-to-exhaustion after 3 weeks (no effect at 1 week). The strongest human signal for militaris and endurance — small and in a blend, supporting chronic dosing and measured expectations.
- [2] Tuli 2014 PMID 28324458 — Pharmacological and therapeutic potential of Cordyceps with special reference to Cordycepin. Review of cordycepin, the principal bioactive of Cordyceps militaris, and the beta-glucan/polysaccharide active fraction of medicinal mushrooms. The basis for valuing a high, disclosed beta-glucan figure from a fruiting-body extract.
- [3] Choi 2020 PMID 33312018 — Beneficial Effect of Cordyceps militaris on Exercise Performance via Promoting Cellular Energy Production. Animal model: Cordyceps militaris extract improved exercise performance via increased cellular ATP production (AMPK pathway). Supports the coherent energy mechanism — preclinical, so endurance benefit is framed as promising, not proven.
Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.