Double Wood Organic Lion's Mane Mushroom Review

Updated Jun 8, 2026By Felix Hesse5 criteria scored4 peer-reviewed sourcesAffiliate links

Double Wood Organic Lion's Mane Mushroom bottle, 120 capsules — fruiting body + mycelium blend from the Amazon listing#9 of 10 · Bulk buy✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Aug 27, 2026

Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.

Our Verdict

Consider it. The bulk-buy budget bottle — clean and USA-made, but a mycelium blend with no verified beta-glucan number. Most capsules for the money (120 caps), third-party tested, USA-grown and made, at the lowest price-per-serving tier on the list.

120 capsules at the lowest price tierTested for heavy metals and microbesFruiting body and mycelium blend
5.6SAC Product Score™
StrongestThird-party testing + transparency7.0
WeakestForm honesty5.0
Where It Stands Among The 10 Ranked Lion's Mane Supplements
#9 · 5.6

$19.95$0.33 / 2-capsule serving

Score × Label

Why It Scores 5.6 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number

Form honesty (fruiting body vs mycelium-on-grain)

40% of score
5.0

A fruiting body + MYCELIUM blend — the load-bearing reason it ranks last. The fruiting-body portion is real mushroom, but mycelium is grown on a grain substrate and typically harvested with that starch attached, so the blend dilutes the per-mg bioactive density versus the 100% fruiting-body leaders (Real Mushrooms #1, FreshCap #2). On the criterion that actually determines whether you're buying mushroom or grain biomass, a blend sits below every pure-fruiting-body pick on the list — including the whole-powder value pick (NOW #5).

Active form
Organic Lion's Mane (Hericium erinaceus) — fruiting body + MYCELIUM blend (not 100% fruiting body)
Inactives
Hypromellose (vegetable capsule), microcrystalline cellulose, vegetable stearate

Verified beta-glucans (not 'polysaccharides')

25% of score
5.0

No beta-glucan percentage stated — the bioactive density is unverified, and that gap compounds the blend problem. Double Wood does third-party test for heavy metals and microbial contamination (real, and it clears the safety bar), but it skips the beta-glucan number the premium picks test and print. That omission is common in the budget tier precisely because a beta-glucan assay would expose how much of a fruiting-body-plus-mycelium blend is active mushroom versus substrate. Verified purity, unverified potency.

Beta-glucans
NOT stated — bioactive density unverified; mycelium-on-grain mass dilutes actives

Extraction + dose

15% of score
6.3

Not an extract — 500 mg caps of the fruiting body + mycelium blend served at 1000 mg (2 caps), below the gram-level trial doses by mass (Mori 2009 used 3 g/day; Saitsu 2019, 2.4 g/day) AND diluted by the blend form, so it maps poorly onto the fruiting-body trials. There's no concentration or dual-extraction step; the bulk quantity, not the dose design, is the draw.

Per cap
500 mg Lion's Mane blend
Per serving
1000 mg (2 caps) — about a third of the Mori 2009 3 g/day trial dose, and a blend
Trial-dose alignment
Below trial doses by mass AND a diluted blend form — maps poorly onto the fruiting-body trials

Third-party testing + transparency

12% of score
7.0

Grown and manufactured in the USA with third-party testing for heavy metals and microbial standards — genuinely above the no-COA Amazon floor and the strongest part of the case. Double Wood is an established budget brand with real QC on contaminants; the published COA does not include a potency assay. The honest asterisk: the transparency is on safety and provenance, not on the bioactive-density metric — no beta-glucan number, and the form is a blend, so the testing verifies what's clean rather than what's potent.

Certifications
Third-party tested (seal), made in a GMP-certified facility (seal), manufactured in the USA (seal); front label adds Grown in the United States. No non-GMO or gluten-free mark on the label.
Manufacturer
Double Wood Supplements (Philadelphia, PA · USA-grown + manufactured, GMP facility)
Lab transparency
Third-party tested for heavy metals + microbial; no beta-glucan number stated, form is a blend

Value / cost-per-serving

8% of score
7.0

~$19.95 for 120 caps = ~$0.33 per 1000 mg (2-cap) serving — the lowest price-per-serving tier on the list, and the most capsules per bottle. On headline price-per-serving it's a genuine bulk-budget win. The catch: because it's a mycelium blend with no verified beta-glucan number, the cost-per-mg-of-actual-mushroom-beta-glucan can't be calculated and is almost certainly worse than the price-per-serving implies — you're paying little, but for diluted, unverified actives.

Bottle size
120 capsules — 60-day supply at 2 caps/day (bulk quantity)
Price
~$19.95 / 120-cap bottle = ~$0.33 per 1000 mg serving

Label verified. Every figure read from the Supplement Facts photo, Aug 27, 2026.

Truth Check

Marketing Claims Vs. Reality

Verified
120 capsules — high-volume bulk supply.

The bulk quantity is real and the legitimate strength of this bottle — 120 capsules at the lowest price-per-serving tier on the list, a genuine value for a buyer who wants the most capsules for the money. This part holds up cleanly.

Verified
Grown and manufactured in the USA, third-party tested.

Both the USA-grown/manufactured provenance and the third-party testing (heavy metals, microbial) are real and verifiable — and they clear the contaminant bar that no-COA Amazon imports don't. The honest limit: this speaks to safety and provenance, not to bioactive potency, which is a separate and unverified question.

Partial
Organic Lion's Mane mushroom (implied pure).

It's genuine Lion's Mane, but it's a fruiting body + MYCELIUM blend, NOT the 100% fruiting body the human trials measured. Mycelium is grown on grain substrate and typically harvested with that starch attached, so the blend dilutes the per-mg actives. Real mushroom, but a diluted-form blend rather than the pure fruiting body the top picks confirm.

Partial
Supports cognitive function and nerve health.

Mori 2009 (PMID 18844328) supports the cognition claim at 3 g/day fruiting-body powder for 16 weeks, and Saitsu 2019 (PMID 31413233) adds a signal in healthy older adults — but those trials used confirmed fruiting body at gram-level doses, while Double Wood's 1000 mg/day blend is about a third the dose and a diluted form. The direction is trial-anchored; the dose and the mycelium blend are the honest asterisks, and the overall evidence is early (PMID 40959699).

Partial
Third-party tested for purity.

The 'purity' framing (heavy metals + microbial) is genuinely verified and a real point in Double Wood's favor. But 'purity' is not 'potency' — the testing does NOT include a beta-glucan number, so the bioactive density of the fruiting-body-plus-mycelium blend is unverified. Clean, yes; potent, unproven.

The Deep Dive

What Our Test Actually Found

01

Correction: the label lists hypromellose, cellulose and vegetable stearate — and no non-GMO or gluten-free mark

An earlier version of this review listed rice flour and magnesium stearate as inactives and credited non-GMO and gluten-free certifications. The label's Other Ingredients read hypromellose (capsule), microcrystalline cellulose and vegetable stearate, and the only seals printed are Third-Party Tested, GMP-certified facility and Made in the USA. The published COA covers microbial and heavy-metal panels, not a potency assay. We re-read the label on Sep 3, 2026 and revised the text; no score changed.

02

The bulk quantity and USA-made testing are the real strengths

Give Double Wood its due: 120 capsules at the lowest price-per-serving tier on the list is a genuine bulk-budget win, and the USA-grown, USA-manufactured, third-party-tested provenance is a real point in its favor over the no-COA Amazon imports that publish nothing. For a buyer who wants the most capsules for the money from a tested domestic brand, the value is honest. The problem isn't the quantity or the safety testing — it's the form and the missing potency number underneath them.

03

The fruiting body + mycelium blend is why it ranks last

This is the load-bearing issue. The studied compounds — beta-glucans and hericenones — concentrate in the fruiting body, the actual mushroom. Mycelium is the root-like network grown on a grain substrate (rice or oats), and 'mycelium' products are typically harvested with that grain still attached, so a meaningful fraction of the mass is leftover starch, not mushroom. Double Wood blends both, which dilutes the per-mg bioactive density versus a 100% fruiting-body pick. On the single criterion that determines whether you're buying mushroom or grain biomass, a blend sits below every pure-fruiting-body pick on the list — and even below the whole-powder value pick (NOW #5), which at least confirms fruiting body.

04

The missing beta-glucan number is the verification gap that compounds the blend

Real Mushrooms (#1) and FreshCap (#2) test each batch for beta-glucans — the legitimate bioactive-density metric — and print the percentage. Double Wood doesn't state one. The omission isn't unique to Double Wood; it's standard in the budget tier precisely because a beta-glucan assay would expose how much of a fruiting-body-plus-mycelium blend is active mushroom versus substrate. The practical consequence: as a buyer you have no way to know whether YOUR bottle is bioactive-dense or substrate-heavy. The blend dilutes the actives, and the missing number means you can't see by how much. Two gaps that compound each other.

05

'Purity' tested is not 'potency' verified — don't let one cover for the other

It's easy to read 'third-party tested' and assume it means the actives are verified. It doesn't. Double Wood's testing covers heavy metals and microbial contamination — that's purity, and it's real. But potency (the beta-glucan content, the bioactive density) is a separate test that Double Wood doesn't publish. So you get a clean bottle whose actual mushroom-active content is unknown. Clean and potent are different axes; a well-tested mycelium blend is still a diluted form. Know which one the testing actually verifies before you read it as a potency guarantee.

06

Buy it as the deliberate bulk-budget play — and stay honest about the evidence

Double Wood is a defensible pick IF you go in clear-eyed: the most capsules for the money from a USA-made, third-party-tested brand, bought with full knowledge that it's a fruiting body + mycelium blend with unverified beta-glucan content. Keep the broader evidence in frame too: the human data is real but early — a handful of small RCTs, mostly in older adults, with benefits that fade on stopping. The 2025 systematic review (PMID 40959699) calls it consistent but preliminary. Double Wood gives you quantity at a low price; it doesn't give you the confirmed form, the verified potency, or the certainty the premium tier does. If those matter, the upgrade is worth it.

Full analysis: all pros & cons (8), buy if / skip if
Pros
  • Most capsules for the money — 120 caps at the lowest price-per-serving tier on the list
  • Grown and manufactured in the USA — real domestic provenance, not an untested import
  • Third-party tested for heavy metals + microbial — clears the safety bar no-COA brands don't
  • A legitimate bulk-budget bottle for a low-cost daily habit, if you accept the form trade
Cons
  • Fruiting body + MYCELIUM blend — NOT the 100% fruiting body the human trials measured
  • No beta-glucan percentage stated — bioactive density unverified; mycelium-on-grain mass dilutes actives
  • Can't calculate cost-per-beta-glucan — the potency that actually matters is unknown
  • Ranks last on form quality — even NOW Foods (#5) confirms fruiting body at a similar value price
Buy If
  • You want the most capsules for the money (120 caps) from a USA-made, third-party-tested brand
  • Budget and bulk quantity are genuinely the constraint, and you're building a low-cost daily habit
  • You understand it's a fruiting body + mycelium blend with unverified beta-glucan content, and accept that trade
  • You're treating Lion's Mane as an early-evidence bet, not a verified-potency purchase
Skip If
  • You want a verified beta-glucan % printed on the label — go Real Mushrooms (#1) or FreshCap (#2)
  • The fruiting-body-vs-mycelium question matters to you — this is a blend, not 100% fruiting body
  • You want confirmed fruiting body at a value price without an extract — NOW Foods (#5) does that
  • You're committing to replicate the Mori 2009 3 g/day fruiting-body protocol — a diluted blend is the wrong tool

Most capsules for the money (120 caps), third-party tested, USA-grown and made, at the lowest price-per-serving tier on the list. The trade-off is potency: it's a fruiting body + MYCELIUM blend (not the 100% fruiting body the trials measured), and it states no beta-glucan %, so the bioactive density is unverified and the mycelium-on-grain mass dilutes the actives. Buy it as the deliberate bulk-budget play if you understand you're trading verified potency for quantity. For confirmed beta-glucans or confirmed fruiting body, the premium picks (#1, #2) — or even NOW Foods (#5) — earn the upgrade.

Double Wood Lion's Mane is the bulk-buy budget bottle, and it does one thing well: it gives you the most capsules for the money — 120 caps, third-party tested, grown and manufactured in the USA — at the lowest price-per-serving tier on the list (~$0.33 for a 1000 mg, 2-cap serving). For a buyer who wants a high-volume bottle from a tested, domestic brand without paying a premium, the value is genuine, and the USA-made + third-party-tested provenance is a real point in its favor over no-COA Amazon imports. But two caveats put it at #10, and you need both before you buy. First, it's a fruiting body + MYCELIUM blend — not the 100% fruiting body the human trials measured. Mycelium is grown on a grain substrate and typically harvested with that starch attached, so the blend dilutes the per-mg bioactive density versus a pure-fruiting-body pick. Second, Double Wood does NOT state a beta-glucan percentage, so the actual bioactive content is unverified — you're trusting that the blend is potent without the number that would prove it. We read the supplement-facts panel, checked the form and testing claims against the web-verified evidence, and here's the full breakdown.

The Bottom Line

The bulk-buy budget bottle — clean and USA-made, but a diluted blend with no verified potency.

Double Wood Lion's Mane earns a 'consider' verdict honestly: it gives you the most capsules for the money (120 caps) at the lowest price-per-serving tier on the list, third-party tested, grown and manufactured in the USA. The bulk value is real, and the USA-made + tested provenance is a genuine point in its favor over the no-COA Amazon imports. If all you want is a high-volume bottle from a tested domestic brand for a low-cost daily habit, Double Wood delivers it. But the two caveats are the whole reason it sits at #9, and they're not nitpicks. It's a fruiting body + MYCELIUM blend — not the 100% fruiting body the human trials measured — and mycelium is grown on a grain substrate that dilutes the per-mg bioactive density. And Double Wood does NOT state a beta-glucan percentage, so the actual mushroom-active content is unverified — the testing covers purity (heavy metals, microbial) but not potency. Those two gaps compound: the blend dilutes the actives, and the missing number means you can't see by how much. If you want a verified beta-glucan % or confirmed fruiting body, Real Mushrooms (#1) or FreshCap (#2) test and print both; if you just want confirmed fruiting body at a value price without an extract, NOW Foods (#5) does that and ranks higher for it. Buy Double Wood as the deliberate bulk-budget play, eyes open to the trade — not as a potency equal to anything above it. Keep the evidence honest — early, mostly older-adult, fades on stopping — and treat it for exactly what it is: quantity you can verify, potency you can't.

Check price on Amazon
Alternatives

If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These

Frequently Asked

Quick Answers

Is Double Wood's 'fruiting body + mycelium' blend a problem?

It's the reason it ranks last, and you should understand the trade honestly. The fruiting body is the actual mushroom — the white pom-pom the human trials measured, where the studied beta-glucans and hericenones concentrate. Mycelium is the root-like network grown on a grain substrate (rice or oats), and 'mycelium' products are typically harvested with that grain still attached, so a meaningful fraction of the mass is leftover starch, not mushroom. Double Wood blends both, which dilutes the per-mg bioactive density versus a 100% fruiting-body pick (Real Mushrooms #1, FreshCap #2). It's not worthless — there's real fruiting body in the blend — but on the criterion that actually determines whether you're buying mushroom or grain biomass, a blend sits below the pure-fruiting-body leaders. Defensible at the bulk-budget tier; not equivalent to the top picks.

Why doesn't Double Wood state a beta-glucan percentage?

This is the meaningful verification gap, and it's connected to the blend. Beta-glucans are the specific bioactive fraction the premium picks test for (via an enzymatic assay) and print on the bottle — actual mushroom potency, not grain-starch padding. Double Wood doesn't declare one. The brand does third-party test (heavy metals and microbial panels — the published COA shows no potency assay), which clears the safety bar, but it skips the bioactive-density number. That omission is common in the budget tier precisely because a beta-glucan test would expose how much of a fruiting-body-plus-mycelium blend is actual mushroom versus substrate. So you get verified purity (it's clean) but unverified potency (you don't know the beta-glucan content) — which is the price of the lower-cost bulk bottle.

Is the USA-made, third-party-tested angle worth anything?

Yes — it's the genuine strength here and the main reason it's a 'consider' rather than a 'skip.' Double Wood grows and manufactures in the USA and publishes third-party testing for heavy metals and microbial contamination, which clears the contaminant bar that no-COA Amazon brands don't. For a bulk budget bottle, that's a real point in its favor — you're not gambling on an untested import. The honest limit: USA-made and third-party-tested speak to safety and provenance, not to bioactive potency. A clean, well-made fruiting-body-plus-mycelium blend is still a blend, and clean testing doesn't add beta-glucans that the mycelium mass dilutes. Trust the safety; don't read it as potency.

Is 1000 mg/day (2 caps) enough to do anything?

It's a reasonable everyday dose by mass, but it's below the gram-level amounts the human trials used, and the blend makes the comparison softer still. Mori 2009 (PMID 18844328) used 3 g/day of fruiting-body powder for 16 weeks for the cognition signal; Saitsu 2019 (PMID 31413233) used 2.4 g/day — both with confirmed fruiting body. Double Wood's 2-cap serving is 1000 mg of a fruiting-body-plus-mycelium blend, about a third of the Mori dose by mass, and an unknown fraction of that is mycelium-on-grain rather than active mushroom. So the dose is defensible for a daily habit but maps poorly onto the trial protocol, both on quantity and on form. Judge it over 8-12 weeks and keep the evidence base's early stage in mind (2025 systematic review, PMID 40959699, calls it preliminary).

Who is Double Wood Lion's Mane right for?

The bulk-quantity buyer who wants the most capsules for the money from a USA-made, third-party-tested brand and accepts that it's a value play, not a potency leader. At 120 caps and the lowest price-per-serving tier on the list, it's a legitimate budget bottle IF you understand the trade: it's a fruiting body + mycelium blend (not the 100% fruiting body the trials measured), and the beta-glucan content is unverified. It's NOT the pick if you want confirmed bioactive density (go Real Mushrooms #1 or FreshCap #2, which test and print beta-glucans), or if the fruiting-body-vs-mycelium issue matters to you (Double Wood's blend sits below the pure picks), or even if you want a confirmed-fruiting-body bottle at a value price without an extract (NOW Foods #5 does that). Buy it as the deliberate bulk-budget play.

Research

Sources & Further Reading

4 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
  1. [1] Mori 2009 PMID 18844328 — Improving effects of the mushroom Yamabushitake (Hericium erinaceus) on mild cognitive impairment: a double-blind placebo-controlled clinical trial. Double-blind, placebo-controlled trial in 30 adults aged 50-80 with mild cognitive impairment: 3 g/day of fruiting-body powder for 16 weeks significantly improved cognitive-scale scores vs placebo, with gains fading after stopping. The cornerstone cognition trial — and it used confirmed fruiting-body material at 3× Double Wood's dose, the pure form a mycelium blend can't match.
  2. [2] Saitsu 2019 PMID 31413233 — Improvement of cognitive functions by oral intake of Hericium erinaceus. Trial in 31 healthy older adults: 2.4 g/day of Hericium erinaceus for 12 weeks significantly improved scores on a standardized Japanese cognitive test. A supporting cognition signal that again used confirmed fruiting-body material at gram-level doses — context for Double Wood's lower 1 g/day blend serving, whose beta-glucan content is unverified.
  3. [3] Nagano 2010 PMID 20834180 — Reduction of depression and anxiety by 4 weeks Hericium erinaceus intake. Placebo-controlled study in 30 women eating Hericium erinaceus for 4 weeks: depression and anxiety measures were significantly lower than placebo. The primary human mood signal — a secondary reason a Lion's Mane bottle is worth a daily run, on a shorter ~4-week timeline than the cognition endpoint.
  4. [4] Menon 2025 PMID 40959699 — Benefits, side effects, and uses of Hericium erinaceus as a supplement: a systematic review. Systematic review of the Hericium erinaceus supplement literature: reports consistent neuroprotective and NGF/BDNF-stimulating signals and cognitive/mood benefits, while concluding the human evidence remains preliminary and calls for larger, longer trials. The honest 'early evidence' frame for any Lion's Mane bottle — and a reminder that a bulk-budget blend doesn't make the underlying case any more certain.

Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.

#9 of 10 · Bulk buyDouble Wood Organic Lion's Mane Mushroom5.6Check price