Double Wood Cordyceps Review

Updated Jun 5, 2026By Felix Hesse5 criteria scored3 peer-reviewed sourcesAffiliate links

Double Wood Supplements Cordyceps capsules, 210 count, 1,000 mg — entire fruiting body Cordyceps Mushroom Extract standardised to 7% polysaccharides#8 of 10 · Best budget✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Aug 27, 2026

Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.

Our Verdict

Consider it. The cheapest per capsule — and unlike most value bottles, it discloses a potency figure. About $20 for 210 capsules (~3.5-month supply), the cheapest cost-per-capsule on the list, with a disclosed 7% polysaccharide spec and third-party testing plus a money-back guarantee.

210 capsules for around $20Discloses a 7% polysaccharide specSpecies not printed on the label
7.3SAC Product Score™
StrongestValue per day9.02
WeakestSpecies & extract quality6.5
Where It Stands Among The 10 Ranked Cordyceps Supplements
#8 · 7.3

$20 / 210 capsules (105 servings)$0.19 / 1,000 mg serving (2 capsules)

Score × Label

Why It Scores 7.3 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number

Species & extract quality

30% of score
6.5

The label states 'Entire Fruiting body' — a genuine plus, since it's not a mycelium-on-grain filler, and it matches the extract form the top-ranked militaris picks use. But the Supplement Facts panel, back label, and side label never print a species name, so we can't confirm this is the cordycepin-richer militaris type the way #1-#3 explicitly are. Scored at the site's disclosure floor for an unstated species: credit for a clean fruiting-body extract, capped below the verified-militaris picks because the species itself is unverifiable.

Species
Not stated on the label (labelled only "Cordyceps Mushroom Extract")
Dose
1,000 mg (2 capsules)

Beta-glucan & active content

25% of score
6.8

Discloses 7% polysaccharides — a stated figure, which is genuinely more than the value picks that disclose nothing — but it's TOTAL polysaccharides (alpha + beta), not a clean beta-glucan number, so you can't tell how much is the active fraction. Credited for disclosing something meaningful, but a softer spec than a stated beta-glucan percentage.

Purity & third-party testing

20% of score
8.0

Emphasises third-party testing and backs the product with a money-back guarantee — a reasonable trust story for a budget brand, and more transparency than most value cordyceps. Solid for the price, held below the organic-certified and COA-publishing picks.

Testing
Third-party tested; money-back guarantee; label also shows GMP-certified facility, Made in USA, Non-GMO, and Gluten-Free

Value per day

15% of score
9.02

The cheapest cost-per-capsule on the list: ~$20 for 210 capsules, about $0.19 a serving and roughly a 3.5-month supply. Combined with a disclosed potency figure, that's standout value — the lowest cost-per-day with at least some transparency. The product's strongest axis.

Count
210 capsules = 105 servings (~3.5 months)
Price
~$20 / 210 caps = ~$0.19 per 1,000 mg serving

Real-world energy / endurance response

10% of score
7.0

Species isn't stated on the label, so the evidence here is general rather than trial-matched: Chen 2010 found a standardised sinensis extract (CS-4) improved sub-maximal thresholds but not VO2max over 12 weeks, while Hirsch 2017 found a stronger signal on a confirmed-militaris blend. A plausible modest support over weeks either way, capped by limited, mixed evidence and an unverified species. The cheap, long supply at least makes a consistent multi-week run easy.

Form
Entire fruiting body extract (per label); species not printed
More Specs
Polysaccharides
7% total (alpha + beta glucans) — disclosed, not a clean beta-glucan figure
Cordycepin
Not stated on the label
Best for
Budget buyers who want the lowest cost-per-capsule with some disclosed spec

Label verified. Every figure read from the Supplement Facts photo, Aug 27, 2026.

Truth Check

Marketing Claims Vs. Reality

Partial
Standardised to 7% polysaccharides.

The 7% figure is disclosed and is more than most value cordyceps offer — but it's TOTAL polysaccharides (alpha + beta glucans), not the clean beta-glucan number that actually indicates active content. Honest as a disclosed spec; partial because a total-polysaccharide figure overstates how much you know about the active beta-glucan fraction.

Verified
Third-party tested with a money-back guarantee.

Consistent with Double Wood's stated practice. Third-party testing plus a money-back guarantee is a reasonable trust story for a budget brand and more transparency than most value cordyceps provide.

Verified
210 capsules — best value cost-per-capsule.

Supported: 210 capsules for ~$20 is the cheapest cost-per-capsule on the list, about a 3.5-month supply at the two-capsule serving. The value claim is accurate and is the core reason to choose it.

Partial
Supports energy, endurance, and stamina (per the Amazon listing).

This wording comes from the product listing, not the printed label — the only structure/function claim actually on the bottle is 'Supports Cardiovascular Health.' Species isn't stated on the label, and the general human data on cordyceps and exercise is mixed (Chen 2010 — sub-maximal threshold gains on a sinensis extract, no VO2max change; mechanism coherent per Tuli 2014, Hsu 2020). Honest as a modest 'supports' over weeks, overstated as a guaranteed endurance effect.

Verified
Supports Cardiovascular Health.

This is the structure/function claim actually printed on the product's front and side panels — the one marketing claim we can confirm directly from the label itself.

The Deep Dive

What Our Test Actually Found

01

Correction: the label says "Entire Fruiting body," not a fruiting-body-and-mycelium blend

An earlier version of this review said Double Wood Cordyceps is 'a Cordyceps sinensis extract that blends fruiting body and mycelium' and scored Species & extract quality at 6.8/10 partly on that basis. The Supplement Facts panel and the physical back label both read 'Cordyceps Mushroom Extract 7% polysaccharides 1000mg — Entire Fruiting body,' with no mycelium listed as an ingredient and no species name printed anywhere on the label. We re-read the label on Sep 3, 2026 and revised every 'blends fruiting body and mycelium' and 'Cordyceps sinensis' reference to match: the product is an entire-fruiting-body extract, and its species is not stated on the label. Species & extract quality moved from 6.8 to 6.5 to reflect the disclosed fruiting-body form weighed against the undisclosed species; the overall score moved from 7.4 to 7.3.

02

Cheapest per capsule — and it actually discloses a potency figure

Double Wood's value case is genuinely strong: ~$20 for 210 capsules, about $0.19 a serving and a 3.5-month supply, is the cheapest cost-per-capsule on the list. What separates it from rock-bottom bottles that state nothing is that it discloses a 7% polysaccharide figure and emphasises third-party testing plus a money-back guarantee. For a value buyer, that combination of lowest price and some transparency is exactly the point.

03

But '7% polysaccharides' is a softer spec than a beta-glucan number

The honest caveat on the headline figure: 7% is TOTAL polysaccharides, alpha plus beta glucans, and only the beta-glucans are the active fraction — alpha-glucans are largely starch-like and can come from the substrate. So you can't tell how much of that 7% is actually doing anything, which makes it less informative than Real Mushrooms' clean >8% beta-glucans or FreshCap's 32%. It's more disclosure than nothing, but it's a soft number, which is why the claim is rated partial.

04

Entire fruiting body, but no species named — active content stays unverified

The label states 'Entire Fruiting body,' not a mycelium blend — a real point in its favour over raw mycelium-on-grain fillers. But it never names a species, so we can't confirm whether it's the cordycepin-richer militaris type or the more commonly used sinensis type; general Cordyceps research shows sinensis carries less cordycepin than militaris (Tuli 2014). Until Double Wood discloses a species, it stays in the value tier, below the explicitly-militaris extracts whose active content is verified.

05

Keep endurance expectations measured — but the supply makes consistency easy

Because the label doesn't state a species, the realistic expectation should be read as general cordyceps evidence rather than trial-matched: Chen 2010 found a sinensis extract (CS-4) improved sub-maximal exercise thresholds but not VO2max, and the overall human evidence is limited and mixed regardless of species. The upside is practical — the cheap, 3.5-month supply makes it genuinely easy and affordable to run cordyceps consistently for the weeks the evidence calls for. Take it daily, pair it with training, and treat any improvement as a welcome bonus.

Full analysis: all pros & cons (7), buy if / skip if
Pros
  • Best value: 210 capsules (~3.5-month supply) for around $20 — cheapest cost-per-capsule on the list
  • Discloses a 7% polysaccharide spec — more transparency than value picks that state nothing
  • Emphasises third-party testing and a money-back guarantee
  • Cheap, long supply makes a consistent multi-week run easy and affordable
Cons
  • 7% is total polysaccharides (alpha + beta), not a clean beta-glucan number
  • Species not printed on the label — can't confirm it's the cordycepin-richer militaris type
  • Species unconfirmed, so cordycepin content can't be verified; the closest human exercise data (CS-4, a sinensis extract) showed sub-maximal gains but no VO2max change
Buy If
  • You want the lowest cost-per-capsule on the list with a ~3.5-month supply
  • You value at least a disclosed potency figure (7% polysaccharides) over a value bottle that states nothing
  • You want third-party testing and a money-back guarantee from a budget brand
  • You'll run it consistently for weeks and keep endurance expectations measured
Skip If
  • You want a clean beta-glucan number rather than a total-polysaccharide figure — buy Real Mushrooms (>8%, #1) or FreshCap (32%, #2)
  • You want a confirmed cordycepin-rich militaris fruiting body — Double Wood's label doesn't name a species
  • You expect a guaranteed endurance boost — the human evidence is promising and mixed, not proven

About $20 for 210 capsules (~3.5-month supply), the cheapest cost-per-capsule on the list, with a disclosed 7% polysaccharide spec and third-party testing plus a money-back guarantee. The honest catches: 7% is total polysaccharides (not a clean beta-glucan number), and while the label states an entire fruiting body extract, it never names a species, so you can't confirm it's the cordycepin-richer militaris type. Consider it for the lowest cost-per-day with some transparency; for verified, species-confirmed active content, a militaris fruiting-body extract (#1, #2, #3) is the stronger buy.

Double Wood Cordyceps is the budget champion. At roughly $20 for 210 capsules — about a 3.5-month supply at the two-capsule serving — nothing on the list is cheaper per capsule, and unlike most rock-bottom-priced bottles it does two things right: it discloses a potency figure (7% polysaccharides) and it emphasises third-party testing plus a money-back guarantee. The honest limits are why it sits at #8. That 7% is total polysaccharides — alpha plus beta glucans — not a clean beta-glucan number, so it's a softer spec than Real Mushrooms' >8% beta-glucans or FreshCap's 32%; you don't know how much of the 7% is the active beta-glucan fraction. And while the label states an entire fruiting body extract — a genuine plus, since it's not a mycelium-on-grain filler — it never prints a species name, so you can't confirm it's the cordycepin-richer militaris type the way the explicitly-militaris picks let you. For the lowest cost-per-day with at least some disclosed transparency, though, it's the clear value pick. Here's the breakdown.

The Bottom Line

The budget champion — consider it for the cheapest cost-per-day with some transparency.

Double Wood Cordyceps is the pick when your priority is the lowest cost-per-capsule, and it earns that title without being a black box. At roughly $20 for 210 capsules — about a 3.5-month supply — nothing here is cheaper per capsule, and unlike most value bottles it discloses a potency figure (7% polysaccharides) and emphasises third-party testing plus a money-back guarantee. That combination of price and transparency is the whole value case. It ranks #8 because of the softness of that spec and the unverified species. The 7% is total polysaccharides, not a clean beta-glucan number, so it's less informative than Real Mushrooms' >8% or FreshCap's 32%; and while the label states an entire fruiting body extract (a real plus over a mycelium filler), it never names a species, so we can't confirm cordycepin-relevant potency the way the explicitly-militaris picks let you. The general human exercise data on cordyceps is modest and mixed regardless of species (Chen 2010 — sub-maximal gains on a sinensis extract, no VO2max change). So consider Double Wood if you want the cheapest way to run cordyceps with at least some disclosed spec; choose a militaris fruiting-body extract (Real Mushrooms #2, FreshCap #1, Nootropics Depot #3) if you want verified, species-confirmed, cordycepin-relevant active content.

Check price on Amazon
Alternatives

If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These

Frequently Asked

Quick Answers

Why is the 7% a 'total polysaccharide' number and not beta-glucans?

Because Double Wood discloses 7% polysaccharides, which lumps together alpha-glucans and beta-glucans — and only the beta-glucans are the well-characterised active fraction in medicinal mushrooms. Alpha-glucans are largely starch-like and can come from the growing substrate. So a '7% polysaccharide' figure is less informative than a clean beta-glucan number like Real Mushrooms' >8% or FreshCap's 32%, because you don't know how much of the 7% is actually beta-glucan. It's still more disclosure than the value picks that state nothing — which is genuinely to Double Wood's credit — but it's a softer spec.

What makes it the budget champion?

Pure cost-per-capsule. At roughly $20 for 210 capsules — about a 3.5-month supply at the two-capsule serving — nothing on the list is cheaper per capsule. And unlike most rock-bottom-priced bottles, Double Wood does two things right: it discloses a potency figure (7% polysaccharides) and it emphasises third-party testing plus a money-back guarantee. So you're getting the lowest cost-per-day with at least some transparency, which is why it's the value pick despite the label not naming a species.

Is the species militaris or sinensis?

Not stated on the label. The Supplement Facts panel and both physical label photos say only 'Cordyceps Mushroom Extract ... Entire Fruiting body' — no species name, and no mycelium is listed as an ingredient. Because the species isn't printed, we can't confirm whether this is the cordycepin-richer militaris type or the more commonly used sinensis type; general Cordyceps research shows sinensis carries less cordycepin than militaris (Tuli 2014), and the older human exercise trials (Chen 2010) used a standardised sinensis extract (CS-4). Until Double Wood specifies a species, treat any cordycepin-specific comparison to the explicitly-militaris picks as unverified rather than a documented weakness.

Is it third-party tested?

Yes — Double Wood emphasises third-party testing and backs the product with a money-back guarantee, which is a reasonable trust story for a budget brand. Combined with the disclosed 7% polysaccharide spec, that's more transparency than most value cordyceps offer. We state only what the listing supports: it discloses total polysaccharides, not a clean beta-glucan figure, and no cordycepin number.

Will it help my energy or endurance?

Modestly at best, over weeks. The label doesn't print a species name, so we can't confirm this is the higher-cordycepin militaris type — and the general human data is mixed either way: Chen 2010 found a standardised sinensis extract (CS-4) improved sub-maximal exercise thresholds over 12 weeks but not VO2max, while Hirsch 2017 found a stronger endurance signal on a confirmed Cordyceps militaris blend. Without a confirmed species, treat that evidence as general reference rather than trial-matched to this exact product. So keep expectations measured — take it consistently for several weeks, pair it with training, and treat any improvement as a bonus. The cheap, long-lasting supply at least makes a consistent multi-week run easy and affordable.

Research

Sources & Further Reading

3 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
  1. [1] Chen 2010 PMID 20804368 — Effect of Cs-4 (Cordyceps sinensis) on exercise performance in healthy older subjects: a double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. 20 healthy older adults, 12 weeks: CS-4 (Cordyceps sinensis) improved metabolic and ventilatory thresholds versus no change on placebo — but VO2max did NOT change. Cited as general reference evidence for sinensis-type extracts; Double Wood's own label does not state a species, so this trial cannot be confirmed as directly matching this product. Evidence is for sub-maximal exercise economy, not peak aerobic power.
  2. [2] Hirsch 2017 PMID 27408987 — Cordyceps militaris Improves Tolerance to High-Intensity Exercise After Acute and Chronic Supplementation. Cited as the contrast: a Cordyceps militaris blend improved VO2max and time-to-exhaustion after 3 weeks. The stronger endurance signal is documented for confirmed-militaris extracts; Double Wood's label does not state which species it uses.
  3. [3] Tuli 2014 PMID 28324458 — Pharmacological and therapeutic potential of Cordyceps with special reference to Cordycepin. Review of cordycepin, the principal bioactive of Cordyceps militaris. Explains why sinensis (which carries little cordycepin) ranks below a militaris fruiting body on active content, and why beta-glucans — not total polysaccharides — are the meaningful active fraction.

Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.

#8 of 10 · Best budgetDouble Wood Cordyceps7.3Check price