Top 8 Best Pre-Workout for Endurance & Performance (2026)
01 · Best overall✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Sep 7, 2026Best overall: Transparent Labs BULK Pre-Workout, Peach Mango
The benchmark clinically-dosed, fully-transparent formula: 8 g citrulline malate, 4 g beta-alanine, 2.5 g betaine and 300 mg Alpha-GPC all disclosed to the milligram, with zero proprietary blends and no artificial additives.
$50$1.67 / serving
Why it wins: all five scores, pros & cons, full label
- Every active fully disclosed at clinical doses (8 g citrulline, 4 g beta-alanine, 2.5 g betaine, 300 mg Alpha-GPC)
- Naturally sweetened — no artificial sweeteners, dyes, or fillers
- Moderate 200 mg organic caffeine + L-theanine for smooth, focused energy
- Premium price per tub versus mainstream pre-workouts
- No creatine in the formula (Transparent Labs sells it separately)
- L-Citrulline
- 8 g citrulline malate
- Beta-Alanine
- 4 g (CarnoSyn)
- Caffeine
- 200 mg (organic caffeine + L-theanine)
- Other actives
- 2.5 g betaine, 300 mg Alpha-GPC
- Transparency
- Fully disclosed doses, no proprietary blends
Our take — If your complaint about pre-workouts is that you can never tell whether the pump ingredients are actually dosed, Transparent Labs BULK is the answer: 8 g citrulline malate, 4 g beta-alanine, 2.5 g betaine and 300 mg Alpha-GPC, every gram printed on the label, with no proprietary blends and no artificial additives. The moderate 200 mg of organic caffeine plus L-theanine keeps the energy smooth rather than jittery. You pay a premium and there's no creatine in the tub, but for a transparency-and-dose-first ranking, the most clinically-dosed, fully-disclosed formula in the category is the right #1.
02
03
04
05
06
07
08Who Wins Which Aspect
Sorted by overall SAC Product Score™ — the official ranking.
| # | Pick | Score | Clinically-dosed actives30% | Label transparency25% | Stimulant profile20% | Value per serving15% | Taste & mixability10% | Cost Per Dose | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 01 | ![]() | 9.2 | 9.62 | 10.01 | 9.01 | 7.0 | 9.22 | $1.67 / serving | Check price |
| Every active fully disclosed at clinical doses (8 g citrulline, 4 g beta-alanine, 2.5 g betaine, 300 mg Alpha-GPC)Premium price per tub versus mainstream pre-workouts | |||||||||
| 02 | ![]() | 8.8 | 9.43 | 9.82 | 8.52 | 6.5 | 9.03 | $2.14 / serving | Check price |
| Clinical doses fully disclosed (8 g citrulline, 3.6 g beta-alanine, 2.5 g betaine, 300 mg Alpha-GPC)21 servings per tub is fewer than most competitors at this price | |||||||||
| 03 | ![]() | 8.5 | 9.71 | 9.53 | 7.03 | 6.0 | 8.8 | $2.75 / serving | Check price |
| Comprehensive clinically-dosed label: 10 g citrulline, 5 g creatine, 3.2 g beta-alanine, all disclosedOnly 20 servings per tub at a premium price (high cost per serving) | |||||||||
| 04 | ![]() | 8.0 | 6.0 | 8.5 | 9.01 | 10.01 | 8.0 | $0.42 / serving | Check price |
| 60 servings per tub = lowest cost-per-serving in the lineupIndividual gram doses are modest versus the premium clinically-dosed tier | |||||||||
| 05 | ![]() | 7.9 | 6.0 | 8.0 | 9.01 | 9.02 | 9.03 | $0.83 / serving | Check price |
| Approachable 150 mg caffeine — good for beginners and the stim-sensitivePump ingredients (citrulline/arginine) hidden in a proprietary 'Explosive Energy' blend — doses not disclosed | |||||||||
| 06 | ![]() | 7.8 | 5.0 | 9.53 | 9.01 | 8.53 | 8.5 | $0.83 / serving | Check price |
| Transparent label with no proprietary blends; includes 3 g creatine monohydrateCitrulline (750 mg) and beta-alanine (1.5 g) are well below clinical pump doses | |||||||||
| 07 | ![]() | 7.7 | 7.0 | 9.53 | 6.5 | 7.5 | 7.5 | $1.13 / serving | Check price |
| Enormous disclosed pump stack (10 g citrulline + glycerol + nitrates + agmatine + VasoDrive-AP)No caffeine — provides no energy/alertness boost on its own | |||||||||
| 08 | ![]() | 7.5 | 6.5 | 9.53 | 6.5 | 6.5 | 9.51 | $1.33 / serving | Check price |
| 390 mg dual-release caffeine (anhydrous + ZumXR) for strong, smoother energy390 mg caffeine is near the FDA 400 mg daily ceiling — easy to over-caffeinate | |||||||||
The Other 7, Ranked
02Best all-natural: Legion Pulse Pre-Workout, Blue Raspberry (Caffeinated)
8.8SAC Score™The naturally-sweetened, fully-disclosed all-natural pick: 8 g citrulline, 3.6 g beta-alanine, 2.5 g betaine and 300 mg Alpha-GPC, paired with 350 mg caffeine plus 350 mg L-theanine for clean, jitter-balanced energy.
StrongestLabel transparency9.82WeakestValue per serving6.5- L-Citrulline
- 8 g L-citrulline dl-malate (2:1)
- Beta-Alanine
- 3.6 g (CarnoSyn)
- Caffeine
- 350 mg + 350 mg L-theanine (caffeine-free version also exists)
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- Clinical doses fully disclosed (8 g citrulline, 3.6 g beta-alanine, 2.5 g betaine, 300 mg Alpha-GPC)
- Naturally sweetened, no artificial dyes; manufactured in ISO 17025-accredited labs
- Caffeine + L-theanine pairing for smoother focus; caffeine-free version also available
What You Live With- 21 servings per tub is fewer than most competitors at this price
- No creatine (Legion positions creatine as a separate product)
- Other actives
- 2.5 g betaine, 300 mg Alpha-GPC
- Transparency
- Fully disclosed doses, no proprietary blends
Our take — Legion Pulse is the all-natural disclosed pick: 8 g citrulline, 3.6 g beta-alanine, 2.5 g betaine and 300 mg Alpha-GPC, all printed on the label, with natural sweetening and no artificial dyes — and it's made in ISO 17025-accredited labs. The 350 mg caffeine paired with an equal 350 mg of L-theanine smooths out the jitters, and a caffeine-free version exists for stim-free training. The catches are a smaller 21-serving tub and no creatine. For a lifter who wants clinically-dosed actives without artificial sweeteners or dyes, it's one of the strongest formulas here.
03Best premium (loaded): Kaged Pre-Workout Elite, Strawberry Lemonade
8.5SAC Score™A kitchen-sink premium formula with everything disclosed: 10 g citrulline, 5 g creatine, 3.2 g beta-alanine, 2.5 g tyrosine, 300 mg Alpha-GPC and 388 mg organic caffeine across 21 ingredients — a fully-loaded one-scoop dose.
StrongestClinically-dosed actives9.71WeakestValue per serving6.0- L-Citrulline
- 10 g pure L-citrulline
- Beta-Alanine
- 3.2 g (CarnoSyn)
- Caffeine
- 388 mg (organic PurCaf caffeine)
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- Comprehensive clinically-dosed label: 10 g citrulline, 5 g creatine, 3.2 g beta-alanine, all disclosed
- 388 mg caffeine from organic PurCaf for strong energy
- 21 ingredients including Alpha-GPC and tyrosine for focus
What You Live With- Only 20 servings per tub at a premium price (high cost per serving)
- 388 mg caffeine is very high for stim-sensitive users
- Other actives
- 5 g creatine monohydrate, 2.5 g tyrosine, 300 mg Alpha-GPC
- Transparency
- Fully disclosed doses, no proprietary blends (21 ingredients, 9 patented)
Our take — Kaged Pre-Workout Elite is the loaded premium pick: a genuinely comprehensive, fully-disclosed label — 10 g citrulline, 5 g creatine, 3.2 g beta-alanine at the textbook dose, plus tyrosine and Alpha-GPC for focus across 21 ingredients, with 388 mg of organic caffeine driving the energy. It hits nearly every active you'd want at real doses in a single scoop. The downsides are price-related: only 20 servings per tub makes it expensive per serving, and 388 mg of caffeine is steep for the stim-sensitive. If you want everything in one transparent scoop and don't mind paying for it, this is the kitchen-sink choice.
04Best value: Nutricost Pre-Workout Complex, Blue Raspberry (60 Servings)
8.0SAC Score™The value leader: 60 servings at a budget price with a transparent 15 g active blend (200 mg caffeine, beta-alanine, citrulline, taurine, Nitrosigine, tyrosine) and third-party ISO-lab testing — the lowest cost per serving here.
StrongestValue per serving10.01WeakestClinically-dosed actives6.0- L-Citrulline
- L-citrulline present (disclosed-dose label; ~15 g total actives per serving)
- Beta-Alanine
- Beta-alanine present (disclosed on label)
- Caffeine
- 200 mg (caffeine anhydrous)
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- 60 servings per tub = lowest cost-per-serving in the lineup
- Disclosed-dose label (beta-alanine, citrulline, taurine, Nitrosigine, tyrosine)
- Third-party tested by independent ISO-accredited labs; NSF GMP facility
What You Live With- Individual gram doses are modest versus the premium clinically-dosed tier
- No creatine in this SKU (a separate 'with Creatine' version exists)
- Other actives
- Taurine, N-acetyl L-tyrosine, Nitrosigine
- Transparency
- Disclosed-dose label (beta-alanine, taurine, L-citrulline, N-acetyl L-tyrosine, Nitrosigine listed)
Our take — If you want the cheapest legitimate way to fuel your training, Nutricost is it: 60 servings at about $0.42 each — far and away the lowest cost per serving here — with a disclosed-dose label (beta-alanine, citrulline, taurine, Nitrosigine, tyrosine), a sensible 200 mg of caffeine, and third-party ISO-lab testing behind it. The trade-off is that the individual gram doses are modest next to the premium clinically-dosed tier, and there's no creatine in this SKU. But for credible, transparent, tested pre-workout at the lowest price in the lineup, nothing else competes on value.
05Best for beginners: Cellucor C4 Original Pre-Workout, Grape
7.9SAC Score™The best-selling mainstream gateway pre-workout: a gentle 150 mg caffeine with 1.6 g beta-alanine for the signature tingle — easy to find and beginner-friendly, though several actives sit inside a proprietary blend.
StrongestStimulant profile9.01WeakestClinically-dosed actives6.0- L-Citrulline
- Present in proprietary 'Explosive Energy' blend (L-citrulline + L-arginine, amount not individually disclosed)
- Beta-Alanine
- 1.6 g (CarnoSyn)
- Caffeine
- 150 mg
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- Approachable 150 mg caffeine — good for beginners and the stim-sensitive
- Hugely popular, widely available, budget-friendly per serving
- Includes CarnoSyn beta-alanine and creatine nitrate
What You Live With- Pump ingredients (citrulline/arginine) hidden in a proprietary 'Explosive Energy' blend — doses not disclosed
- Under-dosed for experienced users (1.6 g beta-alanine, sub-clinical citrulline)
- Artificially flavored and colored
- Other actives
- 1 g creatine nitrate (NO3-T)
- Transparency
- Partial — beta-alanine & creatine nitrate disclosed; citrulline/arginine/caffeine bundled in a proprietary blend
Our take — C4 Original is the gateway pre-workout — the one most people try first, and for good reason: a gentle 150 mg of caffeine that won't overwhelm a beginner, wide availability, and a friendly per-serving price. But it's exactly the kind of label this ranking is built to flag: its citrulline and arginine sit inside a proprietary 'Explosive Energy' blend with no individual doses, and at 1.6 g the beta-alanine is half a clinical dose. It's a fine, approachable starting point; experienced lifters who want disclosed, clinical doses will quickly outgrow it and should look higher up the list.
06Best trusted moderate-stim: Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Pre-Workout, Fruit Punch
7.8SAC Score™The trusted big-brand, moderate-stim option: 175 mg natural caffeine, 3 g creatine and 1.5 g beta-alanine all transparently labeled — a recognizable, beginner-safe pick from the maker of Gold Standard Whey.
StrongestLabel transparency9.53WeakestClinically-dosed actives5.0- L-Citrulline
- 750 mg micronized L-citrulline
- Beta-Alanine
- 1.5 g (CarnoSyn)
- Caffeine
- 175 mg (natural caffeine from coffee bean + tea)
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- Transparent label with no proprietary blends; includes 3 g creatine monohydrate
- Moderate 175 mg natural caffeine — beginner-friendly energy
- Trusted mainstream brand, easy to find at a reasonable price
What You Live With- Citrulline (750 mg) and beta-alanine (1.5 g) are well below clinical pump doses
- Not aimed at experienced users wanting a big pump
- Other actives
- 3 g creatine monohydrate
- Transparency
- Fully disclosed doses, no proprietary blends (doses modest but transparent)
Our take — Gold Standard Pre-Workout is the safe, trusted moderate-stim pick from the maker of the best-selling whey: a transparent label with no proprietary blends, 3 g of creatine, and a beginner-friendly 175 mg of natural caffeine. The honesty of the label is a genuine plus. The catch is dosing — at 750 mg, the citrulline is a fraction of a pump dose, and the 1.5 g beta-alanine is under half the clinical 3.2 g. It's a solid, recognizable entry point for someone who wants a name they trust at a fair price, but it isn't built for an experienced lifter chasing a big pump.
07Best pump (non-stim): Gorilla Mode Nitric (Stimulant-Free), Cherry Blackout
7.7SAC Score™The best stim-free pump option: a 32 g disclosed nitric-oxide stack — 10 g citrulline, 5 g creatine, 4 g HydroPrime glycerol, 4 g betaine, 1.5 g agmatine, nitrates and VasoDrive-AP — for massive pumps with zero caffeine, ideal for evening training.
StrongestLabel transparency9.53WeakestStimulant profile6.5- L-Citrulline
- 10 g pure L-citrulline (2 scoops)
- Beta-Alanine
- None (pump-focused, not an endurance-buffer formula)
- Caffeine
- 0 mg (stimulant-free)
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- Enormous disclosed pump stack (10 g citrulline + glycerol + nitrates + agmatine + VasoDrive-AP)
- Completely stimulant-free — perfect for late-day workouts or stacking with a stim
- Includes 5 g creatine monohydrate for performance and fullness
What You Live With- No caffeine — provides no energy/alertness boost on its own
- Artificially flavored and colored
- No beta-alanine in the formula
- Other actives
- 5 g creatine, 4 g HydroPrime glycerol, 4 g betaine, 1.5 g agmatine, nitrates, VasoDrive-AP
- Transparency
- Fully disclosed doses, no proprietary blends (~32 g actives per serving)
Our take — Gorilla Mode Nitric is the stim-free pump specialist, and on its own terms it's excellent: a fully-disclosed 32 g nitric-oxide stack — 10 g citrulline, 5 g creatine, glycerol, betaine, agmatine, nitrates and VasoDrive-AP — engineered for blood flow and fullness with zero caffeine. That makes it ideal for evening training or for stacking on top of a separate stimulant. Judge it for what it is: it deliberately provides no energy or alertness on its own, the flavors are artificial, and there's no beta-alanine. For anyone who trains late, is cutting caffeine, or wants to build their own stim dose, it's the best pump pick here.
08Best flavor (high-stim): RYSE Loaded Pre-Workout, Bazooka Grape
7.5SAC Score™The flavor-forward high-stim pick: 390 mg dual-release caffeine (anhydrous + ZumXR) with 4.5 g citrulline, 3.5 g beta-alanine, choline and Thinkamine — all disclosed — wrapped in licensed Bazooka bubble-gum flavor for steady, crash-resistant energy.
StrongestLabel transparency9.53WeakestClinically-dosed actives6.5- L-Citrulline
- 4.5 g pure L-citrulline
- Beta-Alanine
- 3.5 g
- Caffeine
- 390 mg (270+ mg anhydrous + 120 mg ZumXR extended-release)
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- 390 mg dual-release caffeine (anhydrous + ZumXR) for strong, smoother energy
- Fully disclosed doses: 4.5 g citrulline, 3.5 g beta-alanine, plus choline and L-theanine
- Highly rated, authentic licensed candy flavors
What You Live With- 390 mg caffeine is near the FDA 400 mg daily ceiling — easy to over-caffeinate
- Citrulline (4.5 g) is moderate versus the 8-10 g clinical-pump tier; no creatine
- Other actives
- Choline, Thinkamine, L-theanine
- Transparency
- Fully disclosed doses, no proprietary blends
Our take — RYSE Loaded is the flavor-forward high-stim pick, and it earns that on two fronts: a genuinely disclosed label — 4.5 g citrulline, 3.5 g beta-alanine, choline and Thinkamine — and a 390 mg dual-release caffeine system (anhydrous plus extended-release ZumXR) that delivers strong, crash-resistant energy, all wrapped in authentic licensed Bazooka candy flavor. The honest caveats: 390 mg sits right against the FDA's 400 mg daily ceiling, so it's easy to over-caffeinate, and at 4.5 g the citrulline is moderate next to the 8-10 g pump tier, with no creatine. For a taste-first lifter who can handle big caffeine, it earns its place as the flavor pick.
The Guide In Four Short Lessons
Refuse proprietary blends.
A mediocre pre-workout hides its doses behind stimulant energy. Full disclosure of every active is the whole test.
Check the doses against the research.
Look for L-citrulline at about 6-8 g, beta-alanine at 3.2 g and betaine at about 2.5 g. Those are the amounts with evidence.
Look at the stimulant profile.
Caffeine gives real focus and a bump in power output, but it is not the whole product. Stimulant profile carries a fifth of our score.
Clinical-dose literature (citrulline, beta-alanine, betaine) — full scoring below.
Pre-workouts are deceptively hard to compare because the front of the tub is engineered to sell a feeling, not a formula. A big caffeine number and a long ingredient list can mask a label that under-doses every ingredient that actually drives a pump or buffers fatigue. So we weighted clinically-dosed actives the heaviest at 30%: we credit L-citrulline at 6-8 g, beta-alanine at 3.2 g, betaine at ~2.5 g and creatine at research levels — and only when the dose is actually at those levels, not merely present. Label transparency is next at 25%, because it's the single strongest honesty signal in a category plagued by proprietary blends: a formula that discloses every dose earns the points, and one that buries its pump ingredients inside a combined "energy matrix" number does not. Stimulant profile is worth 20% — we check that caffeine is dosed appropriately (roughly 3-6 mg/kg, neither pointless nor reckless near the 400 mg daily ceiling) and we explicitly credit a genuine non-stim/pump option on its own merits rather than penalizing it for omitting caffeine. Value per serving at 15% is the tiebreaker, judged on real cost per scoop across tubs that range from about $0.40 to nearly $3.00 a serving. Taste and mixability round it out at 10%, because the best pre-workout is the one you'll actually reach for before training. Every product was assessed on its real Amazon listing; we did not invent a single dose, caffeine figure or certification, and where an active is genuinely absent — Gorilla Mode Nitric carries no beta-alanine — we recorded it as absent rather than rounding up.
Clinically-dosed actives · 30%
The substance behind the scoop: L-citrulline at 6-8 g for the pump, beta-alanine at 3.2 g for the endurance buffer and tingle, betaine at ~2.5 g, and creatine at ~3-5 g where included. We credit doses only when they actually hit research levels — a sprinkle of citrulline behind a big caffeine number scores poorly. The single most important axis, because this is what genuinely supports performance.
Label transparency · 25%
Does the listing disclose every ingredient's dose, or hide actives inside a proprietary blend? This is the category's defining honesty test: a fully-disclosed label with no proprietary blends tells you exactly what you're paying for, while a combined "energy matrix" number lets a brand under-dose the expensive pump ingredients behind cheap caffeine. Full disclosure scores high; proprietary blends score low.
Stimulant profile · 20%
Is the caffeine dose appropriate — meaningful for focus and output (roughly 3-6 mg/kg) without being recklessly close to the 400 mg daily ceiling? We reward a sensible, clearly-stated caffeine figure, flag very high doses for stim-sensitive users, and explicitly credit a genuine stim-free / pump option on its own terms rather than docking it for containing no caffeine.
Value per serving · 15%
Real cost efficiency, measured on price per scoop rather than sticker price — these range from roughly $0.40 (Nutricost, 60 servings) to nearly $3.00 a serving across the lineup. A large-count tub of disclosed actives can deliver far cheaper performance support than a small premium one. The tiebreaker between picks of similar quality.
Taste & mixability · 10%
How it tastes and how cleanly it mixes without grit or clumping — the daily-compliance factor, since the best pre-workout is the one you'll actually take before training. Lowest weight because it's the most personal axis, and because a great-tasting tub of under-dosed actives still loses on the criteria that matter more.

How pre-workout works
- 1
Caffeine drives the session
The core effect is 150-300 mg of caffeine: lower perceived effort, sharper focus, more output. Everything else on the tub is supporting cast — which is why stimulant profile is a scored axis, not a footnote.
- 2
Citrulline feeds the pump
L-citrulline (6-8 g) raises nitric-oxide precursors, dilating vessels for blood flow and the training pump. Under ~4 g it is decoration — check the number, not the ingredient's presence.
- 3
Beta-alanine buffers the burn
The 3.2 g doses buffer acid in the 1-4-minute burn zone (and cause the harmless tingle). It only works with daily use — a training-day-only scoop never saturates stores.
- 4
Transparent label or no deal
Proprietary blends exist to hide underdosing. Fully disclosed, clinically dosed formulas cost more per serving because the actives are actually in there — that is the ranking's heaviest axis.
What to expect from a pre-workout
The acute kick
Within 20-40 minutes: alertness, drive, tingles (beta-alanine), and a stronger pump on volume work. Start at a half dose to test tolerance — 300 mg caffeine on a sensitive system ruins a day.
Finding the floor
Dial timing (30-45 min pre-lift, never within ~8 hours of bed) and dose. Sleep loss from late caffeine erases every benefit the scoop bought — the most common pre-workout mistake by far.
Tolerance creeps in
The caffeine buzz fades as receptors adapt; the citrulline and beta-alanine effects persist. Resist the double-scoop reflex — cycle down or take stim-free days instead.
Tool, not dependency
Save the full dose for the hardest sessions, run stim-free or plain coffee otherwise, and deload caffeine every couple of months. A pre-workout amplifies a good program; it cannot replace sleep, food or effort.
The bottom line
The default: Transparent Labs BULK (#1).
Fully disclosed, clinically-dosed actives, no proprietary blend — the transparency benchmark of the category.
Match the pick to your stimulant tolerance and goal.
Pump vs focus vs endurance — and a stim-free option if you train at night or are caffeine-sensitive.
Read the panel first.
Clinical doses, fully disclosed. If it hides the actives behind a blend, skip it — no matter how big the tub looks.
Quick Answers
Which pick is the best overall?
BULK Pre-Workout, Peach Mango by Transparent Labs is our #1 pick (SAC score 9.2/10). If your complaint about pre-workouts is that you can never tell whether the pump ingredients are actually dosed, Transparent Labs BULK is the answer: 8 g citrulline malate, 4 g beta-alanine, 2.5 g betaine and 300 mg Alpha-GPC, every gram printed on the label, with no proprietary blends and no artificial additives. The moderate 200 mg of organic caffeine plus L-theanine keeps the energy smooth rather than jittery. You pay a premium and there's no creatine in the tub, but for a transparency-and-dose-first ranking, the most clinically-dosed, fully-disclosed formula in the category is the right #1.
What is the best budget option?
Nutricost Pre-Workout Complex — see its pick card above for price and details.
How much do these picks cost?
Across our ranked picks, prices run from about $25 to $55 — exact price and cost per serving are listed on every pick card above.
How were these picks ranked?
Pre-workouts are deceptively hard to compare because the front of the tub is engineered to sell a feeling, not a formula. A big caffeine number and a long ingredient list can mask a label that under-doses every ingredient that actually drives a pump or buffers fatigue. So we weighted clinically-dosed actives the heaviest at 30%: we credit L-citrulline at 6-8 g, beta-alanine at 3.2 g, betaine at ~2.5 g and creatine at research levels — and only when the dose is actually at those levels, not merely present. Label transparency is next at 25%, because it's the single strongest honesty signal in a category plagued by proprietary blends: a formula that discloses every dose earns the points, and one that buries its pump ingredients inside a combined "energy matrix" number does not. Stimulant profile is worth 20% — we check that caffeine is dosed appropriately (roughly 3-6 mg/kg, neither pointless nor reckless near the 400 mg daily ceiling) and we explicitly credit a genuine non-stim/pump option on its own merits rather than penalizing it for omitting caffeine. Value per serving at 15% is the tiebreaker, judged on real cost per scoop across tubs that range from about $0.40 to nearly $3.00 a serving. Taste and mixability round it out at 10%, because the best pre-workout is the one you'll actually reach for before training. Every product was assessed on its real Amazon listing; we did not invent a single dose, caffeine figure or certification, and where an active is genuinely absent — Gorilla Mode Nitric carries no beta-alanine — we recorded it as absent rather than rounding up.
Every Claim Ranked Above Traces Back To One Of These
6 sources — studies link to PubMed, product specs to the manufacturer
- [1] Pérez-Guisado 2010 PMID 20386132 — Citrulline malate enhances athletic anaerobic performance and relieves muscle soreness. In a randomized, double-blind crossover trial, a single 8 g dose of citrulline malate significantly increased the number of repetitions performed across a barbell bench-press session (by up to ~52% in later sets) and reduced muscle soreness at 24 and 48 hours versus placebo. The foundational human trial behind the 6-8 g citrulline dose this page credits for the pump and performance — and the reason an under-dosed proprietary-blend citrulline scores poorly here.
- [2] Hobson 2012 PMID 22270875 — Effects of β-alanine supplementation on exercise performance: a meta-analysis. Pooling 15 studies (360 participants), beta-alanine improved exercise outcomes versus placebo, with the benefit concentrated in efforts lasting 60-240 seconds — the classic 'muscular endurance' window. The core meta-analytic support for beta-alanine, dosed in trials around 3.2-6.4 g/day to saturate muscle carnosine, which is why this page credits 3.2 g and notes the effect builds over weeks rather than from a single pre-workout scoop.
- [3] Saunders 2017 PMID 27797728 — β-alanine supplementation to improve exercise capacity and performance: a systematic review and meta-analysis. An updated systematic review and meta-analysis of 40 studies (1,461 participants) found a small but significant ergogenic effect of beta-alanine, again greatest in capacity-based exercise lasting roughly 30 seconds to 10 minutes. A more conservative, larger-sample confirmation of Hobson 2012 — honest about the effect size being modest, and the basis for treating beta-alanine as a real but non-magical endurance buffer.
- [4] Grgic 2018 PMID 29527137 — Effects of caffeine intake on muscle strength and power: a systematic review and meta-analysis. A meta-analysis concluding that acute caffeine ingestion significantly improves muscle strength (SMD 0.20) and muscle power (SMD 0.17), with the strength effect clearest for the upper body. Direct evidence that caffeine's role in a pre-workout is real and specific — acute output and power, not a substitute for the dosed pump and endurance ingredients.
- [5] Guest 2021 PMID 33388079 — International society of sports nutrition position stand: caffeine and exercise performance. The ISSN position stand concludes caffeine is reliably ergogenic for muscular endurance, strength, sprinting and aerobic performance and improves alertness and focus, with the effective range commonly 3-6 mg/kg of body mass taken ~60 minutes pre-exercise. The evidence basis for judging a pre-workout's caffeine dose as appropriate (roughly 3-6 mg/kg) rather than simply 'more is better' — and a reminder that tolerance and individual response vary.
- [6] SAC News — Rapture Pre-Workout Recalled for DMAA: The 8 Pre-Workouts We Rank, All Without It. FDA testing found DMAA, an amphetamine-like stimulant that has been illegal in supplements for years, in Rapture Pre-workout, sold nationwide from January 2025 to May 2026. The company recalled one lot in three flavors on October 6, 2026. We read the labels of the 8 pre-workouts we rank: none lists DMAA under any of its 11 names. Here is the ranking, the recall, and how to check your own tub.
Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.