Theragun Prime (6th Gen) Review
#4 of 9 · Premium Pick: Toughest Build✓ Product photos checked Oct 18, 2026Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.
Consider it if build and the triangle grip are worth $330 to you. Durable, easy to hold and well supported by an app.
$329.99 (Amazon US, Oct 18, 2026)One-time · 2-hour battery
Why It Scores 7.4 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number
Spec Honesty
20% of scoreSpeeds, battery, durability and app features are stated; amplitude, stall force, weight, noise level and warranty are not.
- Amplitude
- Not stated
- Stall force
- Not stated ('adaptive motor', no stalling)
Depth & Power
25% of scoreAdaptive motor 'without stalling' and five speeds; with no amplitude or stall force stated, we cannot score it at the top.
Ergonomics & Noise
15% of scorePatented triangle grip with a wider opening, live pressure display and 'quieter than ever' (no dB).
- Weight
- Not stated
- Noise
- 'Quieter than ever' (no dB figure)
Build, Battery & Warranty
20% of scoreTPU exterior, reinforced corners, drop-tested to 10 feet, 2-hour battery, FDA-registered device. Warranty term not stated.
- Battery
- Up to 2 hours
- Warranty
- Not stated in the listing
Value
20% of score$329.99 on Oct 18, 2026 for two attachments and no stated depth or force.
- Price
- $329.99 (Amazon US, Oct 18, 2026)
- More Specs
- Speeds
- 5
- Ergonomics
- Patented triangle grip
- Attachments
- 2 (dampener, standard ball)
Photos checked.This product has no Supplement Facts panel; the retailer's listing photos were reviewed Oct 18, 2026.
Marketing Claims Vs. Reality
Scientifically proven to relieve aches and increase flexibility.
Percussive massage raised range of motion and lowered stiffness for a short time in trials (Konrad 2020; Nakamura 2024). Those trials did not test this model.
FDA-registered medical device.
Registration lists a device with the FDA; it is not an FDA approval of its effects.
What Our Test Actually Found
Built to be dropped
TPU rubber and reinforced corners, tested for drops of 10 feet. No other listing here makes a durability claim this specific.
The missing numbers
Without amplitude and stall force you cannot compare it with the D6 Pro or the C2 on what it does.
Two attachments at $330
The D6 Pro comes with seven heads; the Prime with two.
Full analysis: all pros & cons (8), buy if / skip if
- Drop-tested TPU housing
- Triangle grip reaches your back
- Live pressure display
- App with guided routines
- Amplitude and stall force not stated
- $329.99
- Two attachments
- Warranty term not in the listing
- You want the toughest housing on the list
- You value guided routines in an app
- You like the triangle grip for your own back
- You want to compare specs: amplitude and stall force are not stated
- Price matters: the D6 Pro is $130 less
- You want more than two attachments
Durable, easy to hold and well supported by an app. But the listing withholds the depth and force numbers that let you compare it, and the D6 Pro prints better ones for $130 less.
The Prime's case rests on build and usability. The listing says the 6th generation has a rugged TPU rubber exterior with reinforced corners, tested for drops of up to 10 feet, an adaptive motor that holds speed under pressure, five speeds, LED indicators that show pressure in real time, Bluetooth app routines and a 2-hour battery. The triangle grip makes it easy to reach your own back. It comes with two attachments, the dampener and the standard ball. What the listing does not state is the amplitude or the stall force, the two numbers that describe how deep and how hard it works, nor the warranty term. Therabody calls it an FDA-registered medical device, which is a registration, not an approval of efficacy. At $329.99 on Amazon US on Oct 18, 2026 it is the second most expensive gun here.
Tough and pleasant, but you pay for the name
The Prime is the gun to drop in a gym bag for years. If you want the most massage for the money, the D6 Pro prints better specs for $130 less.
If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These
01Bob and Brad D6 Pro
The D6 Pro prints the best specs on the list and has a handle built for your own back, at $200.
02Bob and Brad C2
For most people the C2 is all the massage gun they need: standard stroke and force, every number printed and a 2-year warranty, at $70.
03RENPHO Active
Good specs, a metal body and a fair price.
Quick Answers
What is the Theragun Prime's amplitude?
The Amazon listing does not state it.
Is the Theragun Prime FDA approved?
It is FDA-registered, which is a listing of the device, not an approval of its effects.
Sources & Further Reading
2 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
- [1] Konrad A, et al. J Sports Sci Med. 2020;19(4):690-694. PMID 33239942 — The Acute Effects of a Percussive Massage Treatment with a Hypervolt Device on Plantar Flexor Muscles' Range of Motion and Performance. In 16 healthy men, 5 minutes of percussive massage of the calves with a Hypervolt raised maximum ankle dorsiflexion by 5.4 degrees (18.4%) with no change in maximum voluntary contraction torque; the control condition changed nothing.
- [2] Nakamura M, et al. J Sports Sci Med. 2024;23(1):73-78. PMID 38455448 — The Acute Effect of Percussive Massage Intervention with and without Heat Application on Plantar Flexor Muscles' Passive and Active Properties. In 15 young men, 120 seconds of percussive massage on the calf, with or without heat, increased dorsiflexion range of motion and decreased passive stiffness without changing maximal strength; heat made no difference.
Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.