Hyperice Hypervolt Go 2 Review
#6 of 9 · Best for Travel✓ Product photos checked Oct 18, 2026Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.
Skip it unless you fly a lot and want the Hyperice name. Light, quiet and well made, but $139 for three speeds, two heads and no stated depth or force.
$139.00 (Amazon US, Oct 18, 2026)One-time · 3-hour battery
Why It Scores 7.2 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number
Spec Honesty
20% of scoreWeight, size, battery, speeds, motor and TSA approval are stated; amplitude, stall force and warranty are not.
- Amplitude
- Not stated
- Stall force
- Not stated
Depth & Power
25% of score40 W motor and three speeds; no amplitude or stall force stated.
Ergonomics & Noise
15% of score1.5 lb, compact, QuietGlide.
- Weight
- 1.5 lb
- Noise
- QuietGlide (no dB figure)
Build, Battery & Warranty
20% of scoreBrushless motor and 3-hour battery; USB-A to USB-C cable only, no brick included; warranty not stated.
- Battery
- 3 hours; USB-A to USB-C cable only, no brick included
- Warranty
- Not stated in the listing
Value
20% of score$139 on Oct 18, 2026 for three speeds and two heads.
- Price
- $139.00 (Amazon US, Oct 18, 2026)
- More Specs
- Speeds
- 3
- Attachments
- 2 heads
Photos checked.This product has no Supplement Facts panel; the retailer's listing photos were reviewed Oct 18, 2026.
Marketing Claims Vs. Reality
TSA approved for carry-on.
Stated by Hyperice in the listing; we did not check with TSA.
Feel it, don't hear it.
No decibel figure is given.
What Our Test Actually Found
The brand from an early trial
Konrad 2020, one of the first controlled studies of a massage gun, used a Hyperice Hypervolt on the calves: 5 minutes raised ankle range of motion by 18% and did not change strength.
Charging catch
The listing says it only charges with the supplied USB-A to USB-C cable and a 5 V brick you supply.
Full analysis: all pros & cons (8), buy if / skip if
- 1.5 lb, travel size
- 3-hour battery
- Quiet
- TSA-approved carry-on
- Amplitude and stall force not stated
- Three speeds, two heads
- No charging brick; USB-C-to-C not supported
- $139
- You travel often and want a TSA-approved gun
- You want a quiet gun from the brand used in an early trial
- Value matters: the C2 is $69.94 with full specs
- You charge everything with USB-C to USB-C cables
Light, quiet and well made, but $139 for three speeds, two heads and no stated depth or force. The C2 and the arboleaf mini do the same job for less.
The Go 2 is built for a carry-on. The listing states 1.5 lb, 5.5 by 5.5 by 2 inches, a 3-hour battery, three speeds, a 40 W brushless motor, QuietGlide noise reduction and TSA approval for carry-on, with two heads. It charges over a USB-A to USB-C cable only: the listing warns it does not work with USB-C to USB-C cables and that no charging brick is included. Amplitude and stall force are not stated. Hyperice's original Hypervolt was the device used in one of the first controlled trials of a massage gun (Konrad 2020). At $139 on Amazon US on Oct 18, 2026 it costs twice the C2.
A good travel gun at a brand price
Well made and easy to carry, but the price buys the name more than the specs.
If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These
01Bob and Brad D6 Pro
The D6 Pro prints the best specs on the list and has a handle built for your own back, at $200.
02Bob and Brad C2
For most people the C2 is all the massage gun they need: standard stroke and force, every number printed and a 2-year warranty, at $70.
03RENPHO Active
Good specs, a metal body and a fair price.
Quick Answers
Can I take the Hypervolt Go 2 on a plane?
Hyperice states it is TSA-approved for carry-on.
Why won't my Hypervolt Go 2 charge?
The listing says it does not support USB-C to USB-C cables; use the supplied USB-A to USB-C cable and a 5 V USB-A brick.
Sources & Further Reading
2 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
- [1] Konrad A, et al. J Sports Sci Med. 2020;19(4):690-694. PMID 33239942 — The Acute Effects of a Percussive Massage Treatment with a Hypervolt Device on Plantar Flexor Muscles' Range of Motion and Performance. In 16 healthy men, 5 minutes of percussive massage of the calves with a Hypervolt raised maximum ankle dorsiflexion by 5.4 degrees (18.4%) with no change in maximum voluntary contraction torque; the control condition changed nothing.
- [2] Ferreira RM, et al. J Funct Morphol Kinesiol. 2023;8(3):138. PMID 37754971 — The Effects of Massage Guns on Performance and Recovery: A Systematic Review. A systematic review of 11 studies found that massage guns can improve short-term flexibility and range of motion and reduce stiffness after fatigue, but did not improve, and sometimes reduced, strength, balance, acceleration, agility and explosive performance.
Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.