Top 10 Best Horny Goat Weed Supplements (2026)
01 · Best overall✓ Label verified · Supplement Facts read Aug 27, 2026Best overall: Toniiq Super Strength Horny Goat Weed (40% Icariins)
The best-disclosed, clean single-herb extract on the list — 40% icariins (among the highest openly stated on Amazon) in a 60:1 concentrate, with third-party testing. The spec-sheet pick for buyers who care about the active flavonoid.
$20-26 / 60 capsules (estimated street price)~$0.38 / capsule (midpoint estimate; verify live)
Why it wins: all five scores, pros & cons, full label
- 40% icariin standardisation is among the highest openly stated on Amazon
- Single-herb, no filler blends — you know exactly what you're taking
- 60:1 concentrated extract from Epimedium sagittatum
- Listing states third-party testing for added trust
- Raw epimedium mg per serving is de-emphasised in favour of the icariin %
- 60 capsules is a shorter supply than the high-count value tubs
- Premium positioning costs more per capsule than a basic 10% extract
- Icariin standardisation
- 40% icariins (disclosed; among the highest stated)
- Extract
- 60:1 concentrated Epimedium sagittatum
- Testing
- Listing states third-party (3P) testing
- Form
- Single-herb — no blend, no fillers
- Count
- 60 capsules
Our take — Toniiq wins by doing the one thing that matters most in this category transparently: it tells you the icariin content (40%), keeps the formula to a single concentrated herb, and states third-party testing. For a buyer who has read past the marketing and understands that icariin is the active flavonoid, this is the cleanest, most evaluable bottle on the list. It costs more per capsule than a commodity 10% extract and the bottle is only 60 caps, but you're paying for disclosed potency and purity, not bulk. Just hold the expectation in the right place — this is a high-standardisation traditional tonic, not an ED medication.
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
09
10Who Wins Which Aspect
Sorted by overall SAC Product Score™ — the official ranking.
| # | Pick | Score | Icariin standardisation30% | Extract dose25% | Purity & third-party testing20% | Value per day15% | Real-world response10% | Cost Per Dose | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 01 | ![]() | 9.1 | 9.62 | 9.02 | 9.43 | 8.63 | 8.01 | ~$0.38 / capsule | Check price |
| 40% icariin standardisation is among the highest openly stated on AmazonRaw epimedium mg per serving is de-emphasised in favour of the icariin % | |||||||||
| 02 | ![]() | 9.0 | 8.83 | 9.61 | 9.62 | 8.4 | 8.01 | ~$0.44 / 1000 mg serving | Check price |
| Clear 20% icariin standardisation at a full 1000 mg serving (~200 mg icariins)Serving is 2 capsules, so 90 caps is a ~45-day supply | |||||||||
| 03 | ![]() | 8.8 | 10.01 | 7.6 | 9.81 | 7.4 | 8.01 | ~$0.31 / 200 mg capsule | Check price |
| Highest icariin standardisation in the lineup (min. 50%, HPLC-verified)Higher price per bottle than mass-market brands | |||||||||
| 04 | ![]() | 8.0 | 7.6 | 7.8 | 8.6 | 8.4 | 7.82 | ~$0.21 / 500 mg serving | Check price |
| Established, widely-stocked brand with consistent label standardisation (10% icariin)10% icariin is a moderate standardisation, not high-potency | |||||||||
| 05 | ![]() | 8.0 | 7.0 | 8.43 | 7.6 | 9.81 | 7.63 | ~$0.08 / 600 mg capsule | Check price |
| 180 servings — by far the longest supply in this lineupLabel states 10% flavones rather than icariin specifically | |||||||||
| 06 | ![]() | 7.6 | 7.1 | 7.6 | 7.0 | 9.22 | 7.4 | ~$0.10 / 500 mg capsule | Check price |
| 120 capsules at a low price point — strong everyday value10% icariin standardisation is moderate | |||||||||
| 07 | ![]() | 7.5 | 6.2 | 8.43 | 7.6 | 8.63 | 7.63 | ~$0.15 / tablet | Check price |
| Well-known, widely-trusted supplement houseNot pure epimedium — includes 150 mg maca (a light blend, labelled honestly) | |||||||||
| 08 | ![]() | 7.4 | 7.2 | 7.4 | 7.0 | 8.63 | 7.0 | ~$0.17 / 2-capsule serving | Check price |
| 180 capsules / 90 servings — long supply at a low priceContains yohimbe, which can raise heart rate/blood pressure and is not for everyone — check with a clinician | |||||||||
| 09 | ![]() | 7.0 | 5.6 | 8.0 | 7.2 | 7.4 | 7.63 | ~$0.55 / 2-capsule serving | Check price |
| Multi-herb vitality blend (maca, saw palmetto, tongkat ali) around a 1000 mg epimedium baseOnly ~10 mg icariins disclosed — modest active flavonoid versus standardised extracts | |||||||||
| 10 | ![]() | 7.0 | 7.6 | 9.02 | 5.0 | 5.0 | 7.0 | $1.17 | Check price |
| 100 mg of icariins per serving, stated on the panelMost of the added ingredients are far below useful doses | |||||||||
The Other 9, Ranked
02Best tested value: Double Wood Horny Goat Weed (20% Icariins, 1000 mg)
9.0SAC Score™The best balance of dose, purity and trust — a transparent 20%-icariin single herb at a full 1000 mg serving, from a brand that publishes batch third-party testing for identity, potency and heavy metals.
StrongestExtract dose9.61WeakestReal-world response8.0- Icariin standardisation
- 20% icariins (~200 mg icariins per 1000 mg serving)
- Extract dose
- 1000 mg per serving (2 capsules)
- Testing
- cGMP + third-party potency + heavy-metal testing (lead, cadmium, arsenic, mercury)
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- Clear 20% icariin standardisation at a full 1000 mg serving (~200 mg icariins)
- Brand states cGMP manufacturing plus third-party testing for potency and heavy metals
- No-filler, single-herb formula in veggie capsules
- Among the most transparent testing disclosures in the category
What You Live With- Serving is 2 capsules, so 90 caps is a ~45-day supply
- Marketed heavily as 'male enhancing,' though it suits men and women
- 20% icariin is strong but below the most concentrated 40-50% extracts
- Form
- Single-herb epimedium, no fillers, veggie capsules
- Count
- 90 capsules (45 servings)
Our take — Double Wood is the pick for the buyer who wants real dose AND real testing without paying enthusiast prices. You get a disclosed 20% icariin standardisation at a full 1000 mg serving — roughly 200 mg of icariins — plus one of the most complete testing stories on the list: cGMP manufacturing and batch third-party verification for potency and the four heavy metals. It sits just behind Toniiq only because its icariin percentage is lower; on transparency and value it's arguably the most reassuring bottle here. A clean, well-dosed, well-tested single-herb extract for everyday tonic use.
03Best premium (highest icariin): Nootropics Depot Horny Goat Weed (Min. 50% Icariin)
8.8SAC Score™The most concentrated option here — a minimum 50% icariin extract verified by HPLC, with publicly posted certificates of analysis — for the buyer who optimises purely for the active flavonoid.
StrongestIcariin standardisation10.01WeakestValue per day7.4- Icariin standardisation
- Minimum 50% icariin, HPLC-verified (highest in this set)
- Extract dose
- 200 mg per capsule (~100 mg icariin)
- Source
- Single-herb Epimedium brevicornum
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- Highest icariin standardisation in the lineup (min. 50%, HPLC-verified)
- Certificates of analysis published per batch; ISO-accredited, cGMP, FDA-registered facilities
- Small 200 mg capsule still delivers high icariin thanks to the concentration (~100 mg icariin)
- Enthusiast-grade transparency — the most-documented active content here
What You Live With- Higher price per bottle than mass-market brands
- Lower total epimedium mg per cap may confuse buyers comparing raw mg
- More of an enthusiast/nootropics brand than a household name
- Testing
- Per-batch certificates of analysis (COAs); ISO-accredited, cGMP, FDA-registered facilities
- Count
- 90 capsules
Our take — On pure active-flavonoid content, Nootropics Depot is the strongest bottle on the list: a minimum 50% icariin extract verified by HPLC, with per-batch COAs you can actually read and ISO/cGMP/FDA-registered manufacturing. A 200 mg capsule delivers roughly 100 mg of icariin — more than products with five times the raw epimedium weight. It lands at #5 only because it costs more than the mainstream tubs and its small-milligram cap confuses shoppers who compare raw mg instead of standardisation. For the buyer optimising specifically for the most lab-verified icariin per capsule, this is the premium pick — held, as always, to a traditional-tonic expectation rather than an ED-treatment one.
04Best mainstream brand: Nature's Way Premium Extract Horny Goat Weed (10% Icariin)
8.0SAC Score™A long-trusted national herb brand offering a properly standardised 10%-icariin single-herb extract that's non-GMO and vegan — the safe mainstream choice.
StrongestPurity & third-party testing8.6WeakestIcariin standardisation7.6- Icariin standardisation
- 10% icariin (~50 mg icariin per 500 mg serving)
- Extract dose
- 500 mg per serving (adults take 1 capsule twice daily)
- Brand
- Established national herb brand, consistent label standardisation
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- Established, widely-stocked brand with consistent label standardisation (10% icariin)
- Single-herb, non-GMO, gluten-free, vegan capsules
- Affordable and easy to find at most retailers
- Clean aerial-parts extract with a short ingredient list
What You Live With- 10% icariin is a moderate standardisation, not high-potency
- 60 capsules at 2/day is roughly a one-month supply
- Lower total epimedium per serving than the 1000 mg options
- Form
- Single-herb epimedium aerial parts · non-GMO · vegan
- Count
- 60 vegan capsules
Our take — Nature's Way is the dependable mainstream answer: a real, consistently standardised 10%-icariin extract from a brand that has been on pharmacy shelves for decades, in non-GMO vegan capsules at a friendly price. The 10% standardisation is moderate rather than high — you get roughly 50 mg of icariin per 500 mg serving — and at two capsules a day a 60-count bottle lasts about a month. But if you want a trustworthy, easy-to-find single-herb horny goat weed without chasing the highest possible potency, this is the safe default. A solid everyday tonic pick.
05Best cost-per-serving: Nutricost Horny Goat Weed Extract (600 mg, 180 caps)
8.0SAC Score™180 single-capsule servings of 10%-flavone epimedium — the clear cost-per-serving value pick for daily, long-run use.
StrongestValue per day9.81WeakestIcariin standardisation7.0- Standardisation
- 10% flavones (label states flavones, not icariin specifically)
- Extract dose
- 600 mg per capsule (1-capsule serving)
- Value
- 180 servings — the longest supply in the lineup
Check price on AmazonRead the full review$13-17 / 180 capsules (180 servings, estimated street price)All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- 180 servings — by far the longest supply in this lineup
- One-capsule 600 mg serving is simple to dose
- Standardised to 10% flavones with a short, clean ingredient list
- Lowest cost-per-serving on the list
What You Live With- Label states 10% flavones rather than icariin specifically
- Uses a gelatin capsule (not vegetarian)
- No prominent third-party-testing claim on the listing
- Form
- Single-herb Epimedium sagittatum (leaf & stem), gelatin capsule
- Count
- 180 capsules (180 servings)
Our take — Nutricost is the value workhorse: 180 single-capsule servings of 600 mg epimedium at the lowest cost-per-serving on the list, which makes it the obvious choice for anyone planning to take horny goat weed daily over the long run. Two honest caveats keep it at #4 rather than higher: the label discloses '10% flavones' rather than icariin specifically (a slightly looser spec than the icariin-standardised extracts above it), and the listing makes no prominent third-party-testing claim. If you want maximum days-per-dollar from a clean single-herb extract and don't need the highest disclosed icariin, it's hard to beat.
06Best budget: Swanson Horny Goat Weed Extract 500 mg (120 caps)
7.6SAC Score™A budget-friendly, GMP-certified single-herb extract from a long-standing value brand — 120 capsules of standardised 10%-icariin epimedium at a low cost per cap.
StrongestValue per day9.22WeakestPurity & third-party testing7.0- Icariin standardisation
- 10% flavones as icariins (label wording; Swanson Superior Herbs line)
- Extract dose
- 500 mg per capsule (suggested 1 capsule twice daily)
- Testing
- GMP-certified facilities + independent purity/potency testing (per Swanson)
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- 120 capsules at a low price point — strong everyday value
- Standardised to 10% total icariins from an established brand
- Swanson states GMP-certified facilities and independent purity/potency testing
- Single-herb formula with a clean panel
What You Live With- 10% icariin standardisation is moderate
- 2-capsules-daily suggestion makes 120 caps a ~2-month supply
- Plain single-herb formula with no added vitality co-ingredients
- Form
- Single-herb epimedium extract
- Count
- 120 capsules
Our take — Swanson is the budget single-herb pick: 120 capsules of a standardised 10%-icariin extract at one of the lowest cost-per-cap figures on the list, from a value brand that has been around for decades and states GMP manufacturing plus independent purity and potency testing. The 10% standardisation is moderate and there are no added vitality co-ingredients, so it's a plain, honest, inexpensive epimedium extract — which is exactly what a cost-conscious buyer wants. If you want a tested single-herb horny goat weed and price is the deciding factor, Swanson is the value answer just below Nutricost on cost-per-serving but with a testing claim Nutricost's listing lacks.
07Best with maca: NOW Foods Horny Goat Weed Extract 750 mg + Maca
7.5SAC Score™A trusted, GMP-conscious mainstream brand pairing a generous 750 mg extract (label guarantees min. 3% icariin) with a touch of maca — convenient one-tablet daily dosing from a name buyers recognise.
StrongestValue per day8.63WeakestIcariin standardisation6.2- Icariin standardisation
- Min. 3% icariin on label (~22.5 mg per 750 mg tablet)
- Blend
- LIGHT BLEND — also contains 150 mg maca root (not pure single-herb)
- Extract dose
- 750 mg HGW + 150 mg maca (1 tablet daily)
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- Well-known, widely-trusted supplement house
- Dose and min. 3% icariin guarantee stated plainly on the label, with maca added for traditional vitality support
- Simple one-tablet-per-day serving, 90-day supply
- Higher raw HGW dose (750 mg) than several single-herb picks
What You Live With- Not pure epimedium — includes 150 mg maca (a light blend, labelled honestly)
- Tablet form with binders/coating rather than a clean capsule
- Label guarantees only min. 3% icariin (~22.5 mg/tablet) — the lowest disclosed standardisation among the standardised picks
- Form
- Tablet (binders/coating)
- Count
- 90 tablets
Our take — NOW Foods is the recognisable-name option for buyers who like the idea of a little maca alongside their horny goat weed. The label guarantees a minimum 3% icariin on a generous 750 mg extract (~22.5 mg icariin per tablet — we originally repeated the listing's 10% figure; the Supplement Facts panel says min. 3%, corrected 27 Aug 2026), and the 150 mg of maca is disclosed honestly as a light blend rather than buried in a proprietary mix. One convenient tablet a day for 90 days from a trusted house. It ranks behind the pure single-herb extracts because the guaranteed standardisation is the lowest among the standardised picks, the maca makes it slightly less of an epimedium-specific product, and tablets carry binders a clean capsule avoids — but as an accessible, honestly-labelled mainstream pick, it's a sound choice.
08Biggest blend (contains yohimbe): Horbäach Horny Goat Weed Complex (180 caps)
7.4SAC Score™A high-count, value-priced complex whose panel states a 10%-standardised 500 mg epimedium component alongside tribulus, maca, yohimbe and L-arginine — the big-tub blend option, with the important caveat that it contains yohimbe.
StrongestValue per day8.63WeakestPurity & third-party testing7.0- Icariin disclosure
- 10% icariins on a 500 mg epimedium component (~50 mg per 2-cap serving, per label)
- Blend
- VITALITY BLEND — HGW + tribulus terrestris + maca + yohimbe + L-arginine
- Extract dose
- 2 capsules daily — 500 mg HGW 15:1 extract + 150 mg maca 4:1 + 40 mg tribulus 20:1 + 40 mg yohimbe + 40 mg L-arginine (per label)
Check price on AmazonRead the full review$13-18 / 180 capsules (90 servings, estimated street price)All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- 180 capsules / 90 servings — long supply at a low price
- Broad vitality blend (tribulus, maca, yohimbe, L-arginine) with every component individually quantified on the panel
- Vegetarian, non-GMO, gluten-free formula per the listing
What You Live With- Contains yohimbe, which can raise heart rate/blood pressure and is not for everyone — check with a clinician
- Epimedium component is 500 mg at 10% icariins (~50 mg/serving) — below the potency of the standardised single-herb leaders
- Heavy reliance on ratio-extract equivalence claims (15:1, 20:1) on the small co-herb doses
- Caution
- Contains yohimbe — can raise heart rate/blood pressure; not for everyone
- Count
- 180 capsules (90 servings)
Our take — Horbäach is the everything-in-one-capsule big tub: 180 capsules bundling epimedium with tribulus, maca, yohimbe and L-arginine at a low price. Label truth (corrected 27 Aug 2026): we originally called this an undisclosed proprietary complex — the Supplement Facts panel in fact quantifies every component, including a 500 mg epimedium extract standardised to 10% icariins (~50 mg per two-cap serving), and its score and rank rose accordingly. What keeps it below every single-herb pick is the yohimbe: a stimulant that can raise heart rate and blood pressure and genuinely isn't for everyone, so check with a clinician before taking it, especially if you have cardiovascular concerns or take other medications. Choose it only if you specifically want this broad a stack and are comfortable with the yohimbe.
09Best vitality blend: Zhou Horny Goat Weed Sexual Energy Complex
7.0SAC Score™A popular men's and women's 'sexual energy' stack that layers maca, saw palmetto and tongkat ali on top of 1000 mg epimedium — for buyers who want a multi-herb vitality blend rather than a pure extract.
StrongestExtract dose8.0WeakestIcariin standardisation5.6- Icariin disclosure
- ~10 mg icariins disclosed (modest active flavonoid vs standardised extracts)
- Blend
- VITALITY BLEND — ~1000 mg HGW + maca root + saw palmetto berry + tongkat ali root
- Extract dose
- 2 capsules (blend totalling ~1000 mg horny goat weed plus co-herbs)
Check price on AmazonRead the full review$14-19 / 60 veggie capsules (30 servings, estimated street price)All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- Multi-herb vitality blend (maca, saw palmetto, tongkat ali) around a 1000 mg epimedium base
- Vegetarian capsules; made in a GMP-certified USA facility
- Well-reviewed, recognisable Amazon brand for this category
- One product for buyers who want a tonic stack rather than a single herb
What You Live With- Only ~10 mg icariins disclosed — modest active flavonoid versus standardised extracts
- Blend means less epimedium-specific transparency
- 2-cap serving makes 60 caps a 30-day supply
- Form
- Vegetarian capsules · GMP-certified USA facility
- Count
- 60 veggie capsules (30 servings)
Our take — Zhou is the yohimbe-free of the two multi-herb blends, and the right pick if you want a vitality stack without a stimulant: around its 1000 mg epimedium base it layers maca, saw palmetto and tongkat ali, in vegetarian capsules from a GMP-certified facility. The honest trade-off — and the reason it sits below every single-herb extract — is transparency: it discloses only about 10 mg of icariins, a modest amount next to a 20-50% standardised extract, and a blend inherently tells you less about how much epimedium you're really getting. Buy it for the stack concept with clear eyes about the low disclosed icariin, not as a high-potency horny goat weed.
10Our own brand: Super Achiever Horny Goat Weed Blend
7.0SAC Score™Our own horny goat weed: 1,000 mg of extract with 100 mg of icariins printed on the panel. It ranks here because it is an untested nine-ingredient blend at $1.17 a day.
StrongestExtract dose9.02WeakestPurity & third-party testing5.0- Per serving
- 1,000 mg horny goat weed extract + 8 supporting ingredients, 2 capsules
- Standardisation
- 100 mg icariins per serving (10%)
- Cost per serving
- $1.17
All five scores, pros & cons, full label
What We Like- 100 mg of icariins per serving, stated on the panel
- A full 1,000 mg of epimedium extract
- Every ingredient amount is printed, no proprietary blend
What You Live With- Most of the added ingredients are far below useful doses
- No third-party certificate or published lab report
- Bottle
- 60 capsules · 30 servings
- Certifications
- None on the label
Our take — The epimedium dose and the icariin figure are solid. The blend around it adds cost without adding much.
Horny Goat Weed In Four Short Lessons
Look for the icariin percentage.
Everything rests on icariin. Two products here disclose high, lab-verified standardisation at 40-50%, mainstream extracts 10-20%, and the vitality blends a token amount or nothing.
Do not buy it as an ED treatment.
There is no good randomized trial of standalone horny goat weed for erectile function or libido. The PDE5 finding is a test-tube result (Xin 2003).
Know where the human evidence is.
The strongest trial is skeletal: 60 mg a day of icariin preserved bone mineral density in late-postmenopausal women over 24 months (Zhang 2007).
Two human-relevant studies anchor this ranking: Xin 2003 (PMID 12646997, in-vitro PDE5 inhibition) and Zhang 2007 (PMID 17419678, 24-month bone RCT). Products ranked on icariin standardisation (30%), extract dose (25%), purity & third-party testing (20%), value per day (15%), and real-world response (10%) — full scoring in the methodology below.
Horny goat weed lives or dies on one disclosed number — icariin standardisation — so that carries the most weight. Icariin is the flavonoid behind the herb's in-vitro PDE5 activity (Xin 2003) and its human bone data (Zhang 2007, 60 mg/day), and the gap between a 50%-icariin extract and an undisclosed blend is the single biggest real difference between these products. Extract dose comes next: how much standardised epimedium you actually swallow per serving. Purity and third-party testing act as the trust filter — and we credit only what each listing actually states, never an assumed certificate. Value per day divides the bottle's servings into an honest estimated street-price range. Real-world response is weighted lightest and kept deliberately measured: this is a traditional tonic with individual, non-dramatic effects and thin human efficacy data, so we refuse to score it as if it were a proven ED drug. Blends and undisclosed specs are flagged, not hidden — an honest 'icariin not disclosed' beats an invented percentage every time.
Icariin standardisation · 30%
Is the active flavonoid (icariin / total icariins) disclosed, and how high? A lab-verified min. 50% (Nootropics Depot, HPLC) or 40% (Toniiq) tops the axis; a clear 20% (Double Wood) is strong; 10% (Nature's Way, Swanson, Horbäach's blend component) or '10% flavones' (Nutricost) is moderate; NOW's label guarantees only min. 3%; a blend stating just ~10 mg icariins (Zhou) scores lowest. We score the label's guaranteed number, never listing copy.
Extract dose · 25%
How much standardised epimedium extract per serving. A full 1000 mg (Double Wood) or 750 mg (NOW) leads on raw mg; high-concentration 200 mg caps (Nootropics Depot) deliver their punch via standardisation rather than bulk; 500-600 mg (Nature's Way, Nutricost, Swanson) is mid-pack. We read dose alongside standardisation — 200 mg at 50% can out-deliver 1000 mg at 10% on actual icariin.
Purity & third-party testing · 20%
Single-herb purity plus whatever testing the listing genuinely states. Double Wood (cGMP + third-party potency + heavy-metal testing) and Nootropics Depot (published per-batch COAs, ISO/cGMP/FDA-registered facilities) lead; Toniiq (states third-party testing) and Swanson (GMP + independent purity/potency testing) follow. Multi-herb blends lose points for diluting epimedium-specific transparency. No QC claim is asserted beyond the listing.
Value per day · 15%
Capsule/serving count divided into an honest estimated street-price range (prices are JS-rendered on Amazon and not reliably scrapeable, so these are ranges, not scraped figures). High-count single-herb tubs (Nutricost 180, Swanson 120) win on cost-per-day; premium standardised extracts cost more per cap but can be cheaper per mg of icariin. Verify the live price before buying.
Real-world response · 10%
Kept measured and non-medical. Horny goat weed is a traditional tonic herb with individual, gradual, non-dramatic effects, and the human efficacy evidence for Epimedium alone (libido / erectile function) is weak — the bench PDE5 mechanism (Xin 2003) has not translated into a standalone human RCT. We reward clean single-herb formulations a buyer can actually evaluate over proprietary blends, and we never frame any product as an ED treatment.

How horny goat weed works
- 1
Icariin is the active
Horny goat weed (Epimedium) owes its reputation to icariin, a compound with weak PDE5-inhibiting activity — the same enzyme family that prescription ED drugs target, but far gentler. Icariin standardization is our heaviest axis for exactly this reason.
- 2
Blood-flow angle
By modestly inhibiting PDE5, icariin supports the nitric-oxide/blood-flow pathway behind erectile and circulatory effects. 'Modestly' is the honest word — this is a mild botanical, not a pharmaceutical.
- 3
Percentage over raw weight
A '1,000 mg' capsule standardized to 10% icariin delivers less active than a 600 mg one at 40%. The icariin percentage is the number that matters, and extract dose is scored second — raw milligrams mislead.
- 4
Traditional vitality use
Beyond circulation, it is used traditionally for energy and bone/hormonal support, with thinner evidence. We keep those claims honest and focus the ranking on verified icariin content and clean testing.
What to expect from horny goat weed
Subtle
Effects build gradually with consistent dosing of a high-icariin extract; this is not an on-demand pill. Some feel a mild circulatory/energy lift, many feel little early.
The reported window
Any circulatory or libido benefit tends to emerge over a few weeks. Effect size is modest — if you need reliable ED treatment, that is a doctor and a prescription, not a botanical.
Consistency and standardization
Benefit depends on continued use of a properly standardized extract. A low-icariin product delivering nothing is common — verify the percentage before judging.
Talk to a doctor
Because it touches the PDE5/blood-pressure pathway, avoid combining with ED drugs or nitrates and check with a doctor if you take heart or blood-pressure medication.
The bottom line
Best overall is Toniiq Super Strength (#1) — the cleanest, most evaluable bottle.
It wins on the best overall combination of high disclosed icariin (40%), a single concentrated herb, and stated third-party testing. For a buyer who understands icariin is the active flavonoid, it is the most transparent pick — held to a traditional-tonic expectation, not an ED-treatment one.
Pick by need: Nootropics Depot (#5), Double Wood (#2), Nature's Way (#3)/NOW (#6), then the value tubs.
For the most lab-verified active flavonoid, Nootropics Depot (#5) is min. 50% icariin by HPLC with published COAs. For real dose plus testing at a fair price, Double Wood (#2) gives 20% icariins at 1000 mg with batch heavy-metal testing. Nature's Way (#3, vegan) or NOW (#6, with maca) are the moderate 10% mainstream names. Cheapest days-per-dollar: Nutricost (#4); cheapest tested single-herb cap: Swanson (#7).
The rule: buy the best-disclosed extract in budget, hold a measured expectation.
Buy the cleanest, best-disclosed extract that fits your budget, hold a measured expectation. Treat every product as a supportive vitality tonic, never a substitute for a proven ED treatment — if ED is the actual concern, that is a clinician conversation. Approach Horbäach (#9) with the most caution: it discloses no icariin and contains yohimbe, which can raise heart rate and blood pressure.
Quick Answers
What is the best horny goat weed pick overall?
Toniiq Super Strength Horny Goat Weed (40% Icariins) by Toniiq is our #1 pick (SAC score 9.1/10). Toniiq wins by doing the one thing that matters most in this category transparently: it tells you the icariin content (40%), keeps the formula to a single concentrated herb, and states third-party testing. For a buyer who has read past the marketing and understands that icariin is the active flavonoid, this is the cleanest, most evaluable bottle on the list. It costs more per capsule than a commodity 10% extract and the bottle is only 60 caps, but you're paying for disclosed potency and purity, not bulk. Just hold the expectation in the right place — this is a high-standardisation traditional tonic, not an ED medication.
What is the best budget option?
Swanson Horny Goat Weed Extract 500 mg at $10-14 / 120 capsules (estimated street price). Swanson is the budget single-herb pick: 120 capsules of a standardised 10%-icariin extract at one of the lowest cost-per-cap figures on the list, from a value brand that has been around for decades and states GMP manufacturing plus independent purity and potency testing. The 10% standardisation is moderate and there are no added vitality co-ingredients, so it's a plain, honest, inexpensive epimedium extract — which is exactly what a cost-conscious buyer wants. If you want a tested single-herb horny goat weed and price is the deciding factor, Swanson is the value answer just below Nutricost on cost-per-serving but with a testing claim Nutricost's listing lacks.
How much do these picks cost?
Across our ranked picks, prices run from about $10 to $35 — exact price and cost per serving are listed on every pick card above.
How were these picks ranked?
Horny goat weed lives or dies on one disclosed number — icariin standardisation — so that carries the most weight. Icariin is the flavonoid behind the herb's in-vitro PDE5 activity (Xin 2003) and its human bone data (Zhang 2007, 60 mg/day), and the gap between a 50%-icariin extract and an undisclosed blend is the single biggest real difference between these products. Extract dose comes next: how much standardised epimedium you actually swallow per serving. Purity and third-party testing act as the trust filter — and we credit only what each listing actually states, never an assumed certificate. Value per day divides the bottle's servings into an honest estimated street-price range. Real-world response is weighted lightest and kept deliberately measured: this is a traditional tonic with individual, non-dramatic effects and thin human efficacy data, so we refuse to score it as if it were a proven ED drug. Blends and undisclosed specs are flagged, not hidden — an honest 'icariin not disclosed' beats an invented percentage every time.
Every Claim Ranked Above Traces Back To One Of These
2 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
- [1] Xin 2003 PMID 12646997 — Effects of icariin on cGMP-specific PDE5 and cAMP-specific PDE4 activities. In vitro, icariin (the principal flavonoid of Epimedium) dose-dependently inhibited cGMP-specific PDE5 with an IC50 of 0.432 µmol/L — the same enzyme prescription ED drugs target. This is the mechanistic basis for horny goat weed's traditional sexual-tonic reputation, but it is a bench/enzyme finding, NOT evidence of an erectile-function benefit in humans.
- [2] Zhang 2007 PMID 17419678 — Epimedium-derived phytoestrogen flavonoids exert beneficial effect on preventing bone loss in late postmenopausal women: a 24-month randomized, double-blind and placebo-controlled trial. In a 24-month randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of 100 late-postmenopausal women, Epimedium-derived flavonoids supplying 60 mg/day icariin preserved bone mineral density at the lumbar spine and femoral neck versus placebo, without endometrial hyperplasia. The strongest human RCT evidence for Epimedium — and notably it is a BONE outcome, not a sexual-function one.
Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.