Greater Goods Digital Food Scale (22 lb) Review
#5 of 8 · Simple 22 lb kitchen scale✓ Product photos checked Sep 7, 2026Real retailer photo, cut out. Label unedited.
Consider it. A plain 22 lb stainless kitchen scale — headroom for batch cooking, no built-in nutrition data. A digital food scale for kitchen and baking with a 22 lb (10 kg) capacity and 1 g increments, a stainless-steel body, a HOLD button and a display that extends past the platform (all per the listing).
Check live price
Why It Scores 8.3 — And The Label Line Behind Each Number
Accuracy & resolution
35% of scoreThe listing states 1 g increments across the full 22 lb (10 kg) range. That clears our 1 g floor for calorie tracking and matches the other 22 lb scale on the list (Nicewell 8.4), but there is no 0.1 g mode, so on our heaviest-weighted axis it sits below the precision leaders (Etekcity 9.6, Ozeri 8.8). The figure is the manufacturer's; we did not bench-test it.
- Resolution
- 1 g increments, per the listing
Features (tare, units, extras)
25% of scoreZERO (tare), four units (g, oz, lb:oz, ml), a HOLD function that keeps the reading for up to 5 minutes, auto shut-off after 2 minutes and a display that extends beyond the platform, per the listing. The extended display and HOLD are real conveniences under a big bowl; there is no backlight claim, no bowl and no nutrition data. That puts it level with the Ozeri (8.4) and below the Etekcity (9.2) and OXO's pull-out display (9.0).
- Units
- Grams, ounces, lb:oz, milliliters
Build & material
25% of scoreThe listing describes stainless steel with touch-sensitive controls and a 5-year limited warranty. On our material principle (stainless above tempered glass above plastic) that places it above the Nicewell's stainless-and-glass platform (8.0) and below the Etekcity's 304 stainless (9.0) and the OXO (9.6); the steel grade is not stated.
- Build
- Stainless steel, touch-sensitive controls
Value (price)
15% of scoreWe could not verify a current price, so this line is directional. For a 22 lb-capacity kitchen scale the value case rests on whether you need the headroom; strictly as weighing hardware the Etekcity and Ozeri give finer resolution for similar money. Check the current listing price.
- More Specs
- Capacity
- 22 lb (10 kg), per the listing
- Functions
- ZERO (tare), HOLD (up to 5 minutes), auto shut-off after 2 minutes
- Display
- LCD that extends beyond the weighing platform
- Power & warranty
- 3 AAA batteries (included) · 5-year limited warranty
- Nutrition data
- None built in — log the weighed grams in your tracking app
Photos checked.This product has no Supplement Facts panel; the retailer's listing photos were reviewed Sep 7, 2026.
Marketing Claims Vs. Reality
22 lb (10 kg) capacity with 1 g increments.
Stated in the Amazon title ('22lb High Capacity') and the listing's feature bullets ('weighs up to 22 lb (10 kg) with 1 g precision'). These are manufacturer specs; we did not bench-test accuracy.
Stainless steel, with a display that stays visible under large bowls.
The listing describes stainless steel with touch-sensitive controls and an LCD that extends beyond the weighing platform. The product photo is consistent with that; the steel grade is not stated.
A food scale meaningfully helps weight loss.
The category's research-backed claim: obese adults underreported their actual calorie intake by ~47% in Lichtman 1992 (NEJM, PMID 1454084) and misjudged solid foods roughly ten times more than liquids in Lasschuijt 2019 (PMID 31255647). Any accurate scale does this work; the honest gram weight is what matters.
What Our Test Actually Found
The Nourish with the built-in database is gone — this is the plain scale
This slot was originally scored on the Greater Goods Nourish, a model that stored an onboard food database. The ASIN now resolves to the Greater Goods Digital Food Scale for Kitchen & Baking (22 lb high capacity), which carries no such data. We removed every claim about built-in nutrition, code lookup and recipe totaling and scored the plain scale fresh from its listing; the Features line fell from 9.4 to 8.4 and the overall score from 8.4 to 8.3.
22 lb of headroom in 1 g steps
The listing states a 22 lb (10 kg) capacity with 1 g increments. For everyday plates an 11 lb scale is plenty, so the headroom only matters if you batch-cook, weigh big cuts or use large bowls and Dutch ovens — the cases where the extended display and HOLD button also earn their place. One gram is the floor for honest calorie tracking; for oils and nut butters a 0.1 g scale reads finer.
Pair any plain scale with an app — the tracking happens there
Weigh the calorie-dense foods in grams, zero out the bowl, and log the number in Cronometer, MacroFactor or a similar tracker; the app converts grams into calories and macros. The scale's job is the honest number, which is exactly what defeats the estimation error documented in the research.
Full analysis: all pros & cons (7), buy if / skip if
- 22 lb (10 kg) capacity — headroom for batch cooking, big cuts and large bowls
- 1 g increments, ZERO (tare) and four units, per the listing
- Display extends past the platform and HOLD keeps the reading — useful under a wide bowl
- Stainless-steel body with a 5-year limited warranty
- No built-in nutrition data — calories and macros come from your tracking app, not the scale
- No 0.1 g mode — the Etekcity (#1) and Ozeri (#4) read finer on oils and nut butters
- Specs are the manufacturer's listing figures; we did not bench-test the scale
- You batch-cook, weigh big cuts or use large mixing bowls and want 22 lb of capacity
- You log in a tracking app and just need an honest gram weight
- You want a stainless-steel scale whose display stays visible under a wide bowl
- You want calories and macros shown on the scale itself — this model has no built-in nutrition data
- You want a 0.1 g mode for small calorie-dense foods — go Etekcity (#1) or Ozeri (#4)
- You only weigh single plates — an 11 lb scale does that for less counter space
A digital food scale for kitchen and baking with a 22 lb (10 kg) capacity and 1 g increments, a stainless-steel body, a HOLD button and a display that extends past the platform (all per the listing). It shows weight; your tracking app turns the grams into calories and macros. If you want a 0.1 g mode for oils and nut butters, the Etekcity (#1) or Ozeri (#4) is the better scale.
The Greater Goods Digital Food Scale (22 lb) is a plain, high-capacity kitchen and baking scale, and that plainness is the honest headline. Per the listing it weighs up to 22 lb (10 kg) in 1 g increments, reads in grams, ounces, lb:oz and milliliters, and has a ZERO (tare) button, a HOLD function and a display that extends past the platform so a wide bowl does not hide the number. The body is stainless steel with touch controls, and it carries a 5-year limited warranty. There is no built-in nutrition data: you weigh in grams and log the number in your tracking app. Earlier this slot belonged to the Greater Goods Nourish, a model with an onboard food database; that product is gone, so we scored the plain scale fresh from its listing and it lands at 8.3. It suits a defined buyer, the batch cook who wants weight headroom, and is a solid ordinary scale for everyone else. Here's the full breakdown.
Consider it — a plain 22 lb stainless kitchen scale for batch cooks.
The Greater Goods Digital Food Scale (22 lb) is a plain, high-capacity kitchen and baking scale. It replaced the Nourish nutrition-database model this slot was originally scored on, so the linked product shows weight only — your tracking app does the calories and macros. Per the listing you get 22 lb (10 kg) of capacity in 1 g steps, a stainless body, a HOLD button and a display that stays visible under a wide bowl, backed by a 5-year limited warranty. That is a good fit for a batch cook who logs in an app, and it scores 8.3 on our gear criteria. If you want 0.1 g resolution for small calorie-dense foods, buy the Etekcity (#1) or the Ozeri (#4) instead. Either way, the honest gram weight is what makes your deficit real.
If This Doesn’t Fit — Try These
01Etekcity 0.1 g Food Scale
This is the food scale to buy if you want one and want it right.
02OXO Good Grips 11 lb Scale
If you want a food scale you'll still be using in ten years, this is it.
04Ozeri Pronto
The Ozeri Pronto is the value-precision champion: it delivers 0.1 g resolution — the fine reading that matters for oils, nut butters, and protein — at the lowest price here, with six units and thoughtfully separated buttons.
Quick Answers
Does this scale have a built-in nutrition database?
No. The linked listing is the plain Greater Goods Digital Food Scale for Kitchen & Baking (22 lb high capacity). The earlier Nourish model, which stored an onboard food database, is no longer what this link points to. You weigh in grams and log that number in a tracking app such as Cronometer or MacroFactor — the app, not the scale, turns grams into calories and macros.
What does the listing actually state about its specs?
A 22 lb (10 kg) capacity with 1 g increments; grams, ounces, lb:oz and milliliters; a ZERO (tare) function; an LCD display that extends beyond the weighing platform; a HOLD function that keeps the reading on screen for up to 5 minutes; auto shut-off after 2 minutes; stainless steel with touch-sensitive controls; 3 AAA batteries included; and a 5-year limited warranty. These are the manufacturer's listing specs — we did not bench-test the scale.
When does a 22 lb capacity matter?
For batch cooking, weighing whole roasts or poultry, or setting a large mixing bowl or Dutch oven on the platform. For everyday plates and portions an 11 lb (5 kg) scale is plenty, so capacity is only a reason to choose this model if you cook in volume. The other 22 lb option on our list is the Nicewell (#6), with 1 g / 0.1 oz resolution on a stainless-and-tempered-glass platform.
How does it compare with the Etekcity (#1) for weight-loss tracking?
The Etekcity 0.1g reads finer (0.1 g for small calorie-dense foods like oil and nut butter) on a 304 stainless platform with a bowl — so for most people tracking calories it is the better scale. The Greater Goods 22 lb model reads in 1 g steps, which is the floor for honest calorie tracking, and is the choice when headroom for big batches matters more than a 0.1 g mode.
Sources & Further Reading
2 peer-reviewed sources, each linked to PubMed
- [1] Lichtman 1992 PMID 1454084 — Discrepancy between self-reported and actual caloric intake and exercise in obese subjects. Doubly-labeled-water study: obese adults who reported diet resistance underreported their actual caloric intake by 47% on average and overreported activity by 51% — self-report fails exactly where weighing is exact. The case for weighing at all: the honest gram weight is what defeats the estimation error.
- [2] Lasschuijt 2019 PMID 31255647 — Unaware of the amount consumed: systematic error in estimating food- and drink intake. Estimation error was roughly ten times greater for solid foods than liquids — precisely the whole-food staples a scale handles best. Weighing in grams targets the foods the eye misjudges most.
Affiliate disclosure: every Amazon link uses our Associates tag (superachieverclub-20). We earn a small commission at no cost to you; it funds independent reviews. We never accept payment to change a ranking.